We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #152 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Just back from 4 nights at this hotel, staying with my mum. We found all hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. The breakfast spread was good, but very geared to continental (but it's hard to get decent sausage and bacon outside of the UK anyway!). The pan au chocolat were so delicious I actually contemplated smuggling some out and bringing them home! The hotel is close to Atocha station, so great for days out to Toledo (warning - book tickets in advance). Also Reina Sofia and Prado very close. Our room was a bit odd - small bed area, large wardrobe area and huge bathroom. There are a few restaurants/bars/cafeterias close by so you can always get something to eat. I recommend the Equador restaurant on the neighbouring road, Paseo de la Cabeza. We got 2 courses and a bottle of wine for EUR 22.00 in total. Bargain!
As much as I liked this hotel, I don't think the official 4 stars is correct. More like 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raquelrattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    624
    207
    39
    23
See reviews for
214
568
79
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

I spent a long weekend in Madrid with seven others, it was initially a football tour: however, this city has much more to offer. We stayed in the Carlton Hotel, although not quite central suited our purpose. It was only 5 Euros in a taxi to the city centre (Wait thats 5 quid now) lol, The hotel was clean and the service was superb, everywhere we went the people were really friendly and welcoming. We toured Real Madrid's stadium and at 15 Euros it was well worth it. I would return for a holiday just for the Tapas bars alone (superb)
Hildo.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed in this hotel during a 4 day stay in Madrid. The hotel was spotless, well stocked, and within close proximity to the train station. Our standard room was spacious and the bathroom was sizeable. The room had extensive storage space. Noise was not a problem, neither from the street or other rooms.
The staff was courteous, prompt, and attentive. The front desk staff always helped with directions with a smile.

Breakfast was good. It had a lot of variety including fresh fruit. The bar had a nice menu. The bar had GREAT Sangria!

All and all we were thrilled and would stay again. It is a good location, nice staff, and good food service. We were able to walk to various points of interest from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkennedy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Stayed at the Carlton for 2 nites in November 08. Took train from Valencia, the Carlton is 2 blocks from the Atocha train station, so it was a short walk(one of the reasons i booked it).

We had about two hours before the Reina Sofia(Guernica) closed, so we checked in, which was hassle-free, and ran over there, which was only about a 5-10 min. walk.

The room and bathroom were immaculate, great, great room, and the hotel desk were very friendly.

Also within walking distance was the Prado and the Botannical Gardens. Note that there is only 1 entrance to the Botannical gardens(we thought we could cut-through on the way back to the hotel).

Take a cab to the Royal Palace. We walked from the Royal Palace to the Prado back to the hotel, and that was fine.

There's a lot of great, low-cost food options right around the hotel. Of the 4 hotels we stayed in Spain this was by far my favorite.

  • Liked — Everything - location, staff, room
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigperm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Carlton in Madrid for a birthday treat for my husbands birthday to see a Real Madrid football game from 23rd January until 26th January 2009.

The hotel is very centrally located to subway / Atocha station, the sub way is one of best I have ever used, very easy to get around the city this way. Rooms in the Carlton were really good size and bathroom was very nice (recently refurbished).

The hotel itself sits on a busy road and the traffic does not stop all night long, but this is a city and most citys have noise all night. There was metal shutters on outisde of your room window which you could release down, this seemed to shut out some of the noise. The reception staff and bar man were all very nice and friendly. This hotel is perfect for a short weekend trip to Madrid and would recommend to anyone heading to Madrid.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — The heat in the hotel. It was too hot.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bidele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khabarovsk, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

the hotel is really good because of location and quality of service.
we stayed at Carlton Madrid for a few times in Jan 2009 and tried to use many rooms. Every room had a good atmosphere . To be honest all rooms were not brand new but very clean and cosy.
Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was absolutely amazing to compare with other hotels in Europe.
Laundry service is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Carlton for a mini break to Madrid. It was a great location near the Atoca train station. There is a 24 supermarket nearby. The room was spacious with a big bathroom. The staff were friendly and spoke good English.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenDavis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#191 of 435 in Madrid
773 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#124 of 435 in Madrid
1,914 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#62 of 435 in Madrid
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#138 of 435 in Madrid
321 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#198 of 435 in Madrid
885 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 435 in Madrid
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Property: AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing