We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Avenida America
Ranked #175 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Nispen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Convenient hotel. Close to airport. Bus stop in front of hotel and in 35 min in city centre. Good breakfast. Airport shuttle works fine to the airport. From airport to hotel was not that clear where stops are. Taxi helps for 15 euro.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel B, Director of Sales at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks so much for your kind comments placed on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you liked our property. We would love to welcome you back, here in Madrid and the Melia Avenida America Hotel. Should you be around, please contact me so we may welcome you.
With best regards, Miguel (miguel.benitez@melia.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    459
    217
    73
    44
See reviews for
164
237
48
522
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalgety Bay, Dunfermline
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We always stay here when stopping off in Madrid. It was Friday night so we got a very good deal which included breakfast. Lovely big room, excellent lighting. Air con was very efficient (but beware, they turn it off in September). Laminate floor - no horrid carpets. Good soundproofing. The usual professional and friendly staff. Bed was OK but not the usual fabulously comfortable Melia bed that we love - are they re-furbishing with cheaper mattresses? Complimentary bus to and from the airport to collect our car was very useful. Great Melia breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillyMollyMandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel B, Director of Sales at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,
it is fabulous that you always return back to our hotel! I would love to welcome you personally next time once you are in Madrid (miguel.benitez@melia.com), therefore, please contact me.

Thanks also for giving us the feedback regarding the beds, as you correctly mentioned, we are refurbishing, however this is a long process. (we just finished with the common areas).

In any case, we hope to welcome you soon!

All best,

Miguel Benitez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

After almost a year, another quick stay at this hotel.
At this occasion my room was not as cosy as the last time but still modern and clean. A/c worked at full speed and the bed was very comfortable but on the small side. It was more a tiny queen than king. The room was a smoking one but could not smell anything at all!!!
As a Platinum member I was granted early check in and late check out.
Nice modern common areas with light tones.
Other members said something about dark hallways and old lifts...well I don't think so.
You would pay for the similar hotel 150 pounds in London and for 49 eur you can't really complain, can you!
There is a direct public bus in front of the hotel and El corte Ingles store is a 14min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOCALBLAN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We all enjoy that our guest appreciate our work, and your comments help us to keep working hard.
Thanks also to take your time sharing your experience.

Kind regards,

María José Calvo
Guest Experience Manager
maria.jose.calvo@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel sucks. The website makes it seem so nice. Even upon entering the hotel, you will really think the hotel is great. Then you will get on the scary, beat up elevator, step out into a dark, stinky hall and only then start to realize your mistake. Every night at about 2am the rooms begin to smell like sewer. You can switch rooms, but since 5 of your coworkers are having the same issue, you know there is nothing you can do. Yeah, the gym is nice. I heard the breakfast is good, but when you are living in what smells like a sewer, none of that seems worth it. The beds also sound like plastic and feel like rollaways. Every time you move, you wake up your roommate. Don't stay here. Trust me.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOCALBLAN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Customer:

I would like to thank for taking your time in order to write your comments on tripadvisor and for having chosen our hotel for your stay.

First of all, we would like to inform, that thanks to our guests the Melia Avenida America has been existing for over twenty years with a great success. Therefore we would have appreciated that during your stay you should have informed us regarding your disappointment in order to give us the chance to adopt any necessary measures to improve our service levels for your colleagues and yourself.

I remain at your entire disposal for anything you might need.

Sincerely,


María José Calvo
guest Experience Manager
maria.jose.calvo@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Slightly disappointed with the overall experience.. at check in the staff was polite but cold, they gave me the smallest room in the 5th floor, very hot and the AC did not work... I complained and got an upgrade for 30€ to a suit that was the only available, the size was 5 times the previous room... no comparison... but I had to complain and waist 45min of my time, and begin my experience with a negative vibe...
Dinner a the restaurant was good, a bit pricy but good quality and the staff was grand. However the chairs for the kid of restaurant were very uncomfortable.

The gym experience wasn't any better... to get in I had to go looking for the staff.. and they gave me a pass code to get in... making things more difficult the changing rooms worked with a coin.. which I didn't have and I had to go out to ask for a coin to use the lockers... thankfully the staff from the bar let me a coin....
I was not very much invited to use the SPA, the staff told me " well you have to pay " like I was a homeless or something that I could not afford 15€ for the SPA... so that also put me off a bit.... I didn't find the girl at the Gym/SPA very helpful to say the least...

The breakfast buffet was pretty good, good spread and nice staff, however they could clean the tables at a faster pace...

Summarising.. if you're looking for a place with connections to the city centre, this is not your place, there are taxis all the time that will take you there for 20€.
The staff is a but cold and not very welcoming.
I will look for somewhere else when I go back to Madrid and I would not recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: suits always better, never on the 5th floor on summer... to hot !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranGalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOCALBLAN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Customer,

We really appreciate your time for placing your comments on Tripadvisor and we feel that your stay with us has not fulfilled your expectations.
Your comments are really much appreciated! Honestly, your experience helps us to improve our standards & services and this will be improved.
Thanks and warm regards.

María José Calvo
Guest Experience Manager
maria.jose.calvo@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Monza and Brianza, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We use to stay in this Hotel that is 15min from Airport. Great Gym and SPA. Excellent breakfast and kind staff. Taxi always ready just outside of the Hotel entrance. For sure one of the best choice for business trip in Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOCALBLAN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
we appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor and good to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We would love to welcome you back and meet you personally!

Best regards,

María José Calvo
Guest Experience Manager
Maria.jose.calvo@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French Riviera
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I crashed in this hotel because my flight was delayed by 15 hours, and the airline provided me this accommodation to survive the night, and I was quite pleased with the result.
Rooms are great, staff friendly, and breakfast OK, although nothing exceptional presented.

I however regret that the 'spa' (involving the pool) is not included in the price of the room. Maybe it's not so bad after all, because you end up having the place for yourself, but some elements seemed not to function.

Keep in mind the hotel is quite far from the city center, so it's more for business oriented activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIA J, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your experience in our hotel during your stay.
We take note of your observations and you can be sure that we will work to improve the quality of the services provided.

Yours Sincerely

María José Calvo
Guest Experience Manager
maria.jose.calvo@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#180 of 436 in Madrid
913 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#155 of 436 in Madrid
1,740 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#102 of 436 in Madrid
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#147 of 436 in Madrid
1,494 reviews
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#108 of 436 in Madrid
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Avenida America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Avenida America

Property: Melia Avenida America
Address: Calle Juan Ignacio Luca de Tena 36 | SALIDA 8 DE LA A-II ( autop. Barcelona), 28027 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#123 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#139 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Avenida America 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Meliá Avenida América, offers updated facilities for every type of travellers & events. Located in the largest business development area of Madrid, ten minutes from the Airport and Trade Fair IFEMA and 15 minutes from downtown, the hotel offers elegant and comfortable rooms, fully equipped for leisure and work. Our Convention Center, located in an adjacent building of four floors, is connected via a Skywalk to the Hotel, comprises 32 meetings rooms, for up to 1200 delegates, all of them column free and natural daylight.To highlight: complimentary WIFI access throughout the property, Internet Corner, Gymnasium and Shuttle Service from/to Airport and Trade Fair Grounds.Other services of our property are the outstanding SPA with beauty & relaxation facilities and thermal treatments. The hotel has been totally refurbished from 2009 to 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Melia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Avenida America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Avenida America Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Avenida America
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing