We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Avenida America
Ranked #177 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had a two night stay here in February. Reception staff very friendly and efficient, 2 minute check-in which was very welcome after a long day. The room was great, everything I needed and quiet enough. The breakfast was good, lot of choice and quick service.

Only complaint is the Piano Bar. The service is not great, far too long to wait to get served at the bar and the bar staff were pretty grumpy. The food there was good but left feeling annoyed as everything took far too long.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhart75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have stayed here lot of times, it is very convenient for the airport and has a handy airport bus. The staff are all really nice. This time we were here for two days and we appreciated being given an upgrade to a suite on the fourth floor. Really spacious with a separate lounge and bedroom - a television in each. The usual comforts - slippers and bathrobes, fancy shower with jets in the large bathroom. Lots of space for our stuff. But most importantly, we did not get a good nights sleep. Two reasons. I think the Melia is economising on the quality of its mattresses, the new ones are not as firm and comfortable as they used to be and the sheets and blanket are too small. They barely reached the sides of the bed so that when one person turned over in the night, the other one was left without bedclothes. And secondly the room was so hot and stuffy even with the window left open all night. We noticed several other guests' windows were left open too. It's a shame but we will probably be giving the Melia a miss in future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillyMollyMandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Were should I start? Ok, location is in the middle of no where but there is a complementary shuttle from the Airport. However, they don't have phones that you can use to call the hotel, only pay phones (that wouldn't take my credit card) and the tourist information desk doesn't have the number (which was also strange for a tourist information desk?!?). I suggest you walk with the hotel number and means to call the hotel if you want to take the shuttle.
The hotel is about 15mins from the airport. Not very pretty from the outside but very nice inside. The rooms look newly renovated and are spotless. The hotel has free wifi throughout which was nice.
I purchased the complimentary breakfast which came in handy because Europe is expensive and there aren't many options for food nearby. Also, the food on sight is limited and not very tasty. If you feel like going for a walk, I did venture out and found a nice Asian restaurant where I had the best meal in Spain :) but it was at least a 10 -15min walk.

I hope this review helps
Urbantravelite

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbantravelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIA J, JEFA DE CALIDAD at Melia Avenida America, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with all our services. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed, following our continuous improvement plan.
We hope to welcome you back in a near future. Do not hesitate to contact us directly in advance (maria.jose.calvo@melia.com)
Yours sincerely.

María José Calvo
Jefa de Calidad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Currently staying here on business, this hotel considers it's self a 4 star hotel, well I can assure you it is everything but !
The rooms are the smallest I've ever stayed in, the staff are extremely rude and un interested, I requested a clothes iron and ironing board, only to be told "we do not have irons and ironing boards" when I asked if they think it's ok to walk around in a creased shirt, I was told to maybe wear a jacket !
Disgraceful


Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank ianlowe1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIA J, QUALITY MANAGER at Melia Avenida America, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Good Morning, Mr. Lowe,

I hope you had a happy stay after we took the needed measures to
correct your discontent about the services of Melia Avenida America Hotel.

We would like you reflect the corrective measures that on tripadvisor
the staff took to alleviate your discontent in the same way that you
had reflected your negative opinion about the staff and facilities hotel.

I feel It's not fair that your negative opinion has been extended it
at all our staff. We hope you had a better opinion of us after we did
our best to accommodate your needs.

Thank you and Best regards.

María José Calvo
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The rooms are big, clean and well arranged, as the rest of the hotel.
Breakfast was very nice - there were other things than Jamon (too common in Madrid). There were fruits, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, 3 kind of juices and more.

The room has big conference halls which are also great for conferences.

10 minutes form the airport, where a shuttle bus is part of the hotel services.

Fast WiFi everywhere.

Great service.

The problem with the hotel:
- 15 minutes walk from the nearest metro station (and from there 25 to 30 minutes to city center)
- There's a bus station right outside the hotel which can take you to Gran Via (city center), but it takes between 40 minutes in low traffic to 1 hour during rush hours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIA J, JEFA DE CALIDAD at Melia Avenida America, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive feedback about some points of our Hotel.
On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay at Meliá Avenida América Hotel.
Best Regards.

María José Calvo
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Ideal for conferences and meetings, although a bit far away from the citycentre but close to Barajas Airport. Free wifi in the whole hotel building, nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very good hotel with nice ambience and good food. Value for money rooms. Close to airport. Good decorations at various places in the hotel. Gives free airport pickup and drop facility. The evening Piano and Harpe playing is awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarkeshwarPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
NH Madrid Las Tablas
#162 of 440 in Madrid
740 reviews
Silken Puerta de Madrid
#175 of 440 in Madrid
759 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#106 of 440 in Madrid
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#172 of 440 in Madrid
980 reviews
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#148 of 440 in Madrid
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Avenida America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Avenida America

Address: Calle Juan Ignacio Luca de Tena 36 | Salida 8 De La A-ii, 28027 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#125 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#139 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £64 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Avenida America 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Meliá Avenida América, offers updated facilities for every type of travellers & events. Located in the largest business development area of Madrid, ten minutes from the Airport and Trade Fair IFEMA and 15 minutes from downtown, the hotel offers elegant and comfortable rooms, fully equipped for leisure and work. Our Convention Center, located in an adjacent building of four floors, is connected via a Skywalk to the Hotel, comprises 32 meetings rooms, for up to 1200 delegates, all of them column free and natural daylight.To highlight: complimentary WIFI access throughout the property, Internet Corner, Gymnasium and Shuttle Service from/to Airport and Trade Fair Grounds.Other services of our property are the outstanding SPA with beauty & relaxation facilities and thermal treatments. The hotel has been totally refurbished from 2009 to 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Melia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Avenida America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Avenida America Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Avenida America
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing