We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, absolutely not a 4 star...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Ranked #306 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average, absolutely not a 4 star...”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013 on a Saturday and Sunday night. The room was very very hot, with the air con either disabled or not working. The outside temperature was 5 degrees. Our foldaway bed wasn't made up with sheets, and we only had one towel, when we needed three. It took three phone calls to reception to sort it. The main bed was firm and comfy, the sofabed was soft and lumpy. The hotel is what it is, good location, cheap, average condition. Just don't require anything from the staff...

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Waters4857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    322
    242
    101
    80
See reviews for
154
367
55
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

stayed at el colosso madrid for two nights. coming by metro from madrid barajas airport, take the exit c. leganitos at plaza de espanha metro station. behind the gran via street, is absolutely great location. few steps from restaurants, shops, walking distance from the royal palace, plaza de sol, plaza mayor, etc. we stayed in a building beside the main building. good size of the room and very warm. the room was faced the street, and was a bit too noise. didn't get breakfast at the hotel (8euro per person), but you are literaly few steps from gran via, with a large selection of options for typical spanish breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jader R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinha Grande, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Dirty walls, it appears that someone played football inside the room. Bathroom without bidet. Very tight access to toilet. Bad interior finishes. Good reception. The price was OK.
But definitely not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for four nights. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the location of the hotel was very centrally located to many sights in the city. There was a subway station 2 blocks on either side of the hotel and more importantly at least for me.....a Starbucks 1 minute down the block.
Overall, great place to stay. Good price and safe. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the back of the hotel. Next time will ask for the front even though it may be a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwalker890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst on an Organised Tour. the accommodation was O.K. Location central but dinner left a lot to be desired. The Main meal was abysmal, we did complain but the Hotel did nothing, we took photographs of the meal to show the Tour operator and without asking received compensation for what was so obviously poor fare.
We could not eat the meal and went elsewhere to buy dinner!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were shown 7 rooms before we found one that was acceptable. The rooms were shabby and not very well maintained. Our final room had severe water damage to the bathroom door and the beds were very hard. (The hotel seemed very dated: circa 1980.) Although, the hotel was very clean.

The corridors had plates and cups left on them for days at a time and there always seemed to be laundry baskets on the corridors too. The staff were friendly enough but not particularly helpful and could not speak English - even on reception.

We had to exit the building in order to get to our rooms and had to do the same to go for breakfast. Breakfast was simple but adequate and the service was excellent.

This hotel is ideally located but not a 4*.

Room Tip: Look for a hotel with better reviews. If you do stay here, the rooms at the front on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sazz1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Location: Excellent, city center, side street, quiet room.

Hotel Room: Average, older with some updates, clean.

Overall experience: I have stayed in 4. 4.5 and 5 stars in Madrid. This is definitely pushing the 4-star rating, but I can see how it qualifies based on some of the upgrades to the rooms. Upon check-in there was only one person staffing the desk. He was very accommodating and friendly, but he could have used some extra help since there were a few customers waiting. We were escorted outside to the adjoining building. We were on the second floor. It was a maze to get to our room. The hallways were very worn looking, giving the impression that this is a much older hotel that has undergone some updates, but not complete renovation. We had a family room, which consisted of two twin beds and a pullout sofa. The pullout sofa was partially broken, making it sag in the middle. Luckily (for the unlucky person using the sofa bed) we only stayed there for one night.
The room was clean, with hardwood (laminate) flooring. The beds were not plush, but were okay. Only one long pillow per bed. There was a mini bar refrigerator, a flat screen TV, hair dryer and toiletries. Had a small desk. Based on pictures from other travelers and the configuration of the hotel hallways, no two rooms are alike.
Our stay was short so I can’t report on any of the other amenities. I would stay here again because of location, but only if the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atltravelm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#203 of 435 in Madrid
619 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#178 of 435 in Madrid
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#153 of 435 in Madrid
454 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#116 of 435 in Madrid
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe El Coloso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe El Coloso

Property: Hotel Exe El Coloso
Address: Calle Leganitos 13, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe El Coloso 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Exe El Coloso, of four stars, is located downtown Madrid, between Gran Via and Callao. The hotel has 133 rooms with plasma TVs, free Wi - Fi, minibar and bathroom. Some rooms have a terrace and sloping ceilings. A breakfast buffet is served every morning and there is a parking available (with an extra charge) for the clients of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Exe El Coloso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coloso Hotel
El Coloso Madrid
Hotel Coloso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing