We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Exe El Coloso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Ranked #302 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Brno
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Excellent location close to Gran Via in walkable distance to main city attractions. Really welcoming and helpful staff. The hotel consists of 2 buildings. We stayed in the second one, down the street. The building interior and room need renovation. Not a 4* standard now, better to say 3*. But the room was perfectly clean every day. Free wifi is not setup properly and the quality of the connection is changing. High street noise avoid sleeping with an open window. The breakfast costs €8 and is equal to offered service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DraganBrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    312
    225
    95
    76
See reviews for
144
351
53
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Ok hotel, good location, close to everything, good welcome. Everything was correct. Room was neat and comfortable, not especially 4 stars but enough when staying for a city trip. Hotel called a cab for us, we were well taken care of. Didn't have breakfest there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VD_kjoeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The only thing that turned me off about the hotel was the fact that when I arrived they tried to do a bait and switch. I also noticed them doing that to almost every guest.
They advertise a nice building and pictures shows that. When you arrive, they check you in and at the end they say, 'we're remodeling and the stairway to the other side is close, so we will take you around. Immediately I knew something wasn't right. I was taken to an old and run down and not very clean building adjacent to the nice one. I refused to be there and they took me back to the building and ended up giving me a nice room. The aggrevation when you arrive after a long trip from US is that last thing I needed.
The manager and staff were friendly otherwise and the breakfast Buffet was excellent. Just watch out for the bait and switch. I saw other guests who were also very upset about this practice. Just say no.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sheilatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Conveniant location,very close to the historical and shopping center. Large room,we stay in July and the hottel had good climatisation.Great breakfast, very close to the metro station and good connection to the airport

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Definitely the worst 4-star hotel I've ever stayed in. The TV was unwatchable. The bathroom door was unlockable. The connection to the free-wifi was terrible. The water pressure was very weak and the shower nozzle couldn't be fixed onto the wall for showering. And one of the most ridiculous thing to share about is that our room wasn't even at the same building as the hotel lobby. Our room was at another building next to the hotel without any doorman downstairs during night time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarkL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I took a while to chose a hotel and mainly went with this one because of the location and the reviews! We managed to get a very good deal which included a very extensive breakfast choice. The hotel has a main building and an annex next door. On our first night we were in annex because main building was full. We asked to be moved to the main building the next morning which was accommodated no problem - and we had a very nice room. We found the staff to be very helpful. It is a 5 minutes walk to main shopping/restaurant area of GranVia and 2 different […] metro stations - which were handy for getting around Madrid and surrounding areas.

I would certainly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMorrisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013 on a Saturday and Sunday night. The room was very very hot, with the air con either disabled or not working. The outside temperature was 5 degrees. Our foldaway bed wasn't made up with sheets, and we only had one towel, when we needed three. It took three phone calls to reception to sort it. The main bed was firm and comfy, the sofabed was soft and lumpy. The hotel is what it is, good location, cheap, average condition. Just don't require anything from the staff...

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Waters4857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#186 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#147 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Exe Moncloa
Hotel Exe Moncloa
#191 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe El Coloso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe El Coloso

Property: Hotel Exe El Coloso
Address: Calle Leganitos 13, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe El Coloso 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Exe El Coloso, of four stars, is located downtown Madrid, between Gran Via and Callao. The hotel has 133 rooms with plasma TVs, free Wi - Fi, minibar and bathroom. Some rooms have a terrace and sloping ceilings. A breakfast buffet is served every morning and there is a parking available (with an extra charge) for the clients of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline and Eurostars so you can book your Hotel Exe El Coloso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coloso Hotel
El Coloso Madrid
Hotel Coloso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing