We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and satisfactory. Good location for business quarter”
Review of Hotel Exe Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Exe Plaza
Ranked #191 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Food room service was basic and the breakfasting room very busy and uninspiring
Gym - was smaller than my hotel room and inadequate
Rooms spacious and clean yet dated and the view is better over the road at abba castilla (silken looks onto concrete. Inner building forecourt)
Price point maybe a tad high considering very average overall delivery

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just there for one night but overall a very nice stay. Awesome and friendly staff, the room was clean and modern and the bed was really comfortable. It is a great location close to the city center. i would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is a good business hotel - you can feel that their target group are business travelers coming to visit one of the offices around. Well, as I was there for business too, it was okay, but I do not recommend the hotel for a family trip.
The room was big enough and clean. The minibar was full of nice things (I found even ham), but on a quite expensive price.
The city center is not that far, as the metro station is just on the corner and it brings you directly to the Sol.
The breakfast seemed very good, everything looked delicious - but tasted less good.
Altogether, if you are working in one of the buildings around, you will like it - but be careful to arrive before 8 p.m., otherwise they can easily cancel your room (that happened to my colleague - but at least the front desk lady helped him to find a room in an other hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nettie1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel was good- especially if you are working in the area. The room was pleasantly large and the wifi was decent in the room which is always a bonus.

The breakfast was very good, there was a good selection which was varied and everything was tasty.

the gym was a little disappointing and the main weights machine was broken

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepeloPepelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Good hotel. Decent room size. Breakfast spread is nice. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Clean. Free internet available. The in house restaurant has a restricted menu but food quality is not bad. Staff are all very friendly.

The only facet that I was undecided about was the location. It is certainly not tourist friendly becuase it is away from the main tourist areas. However, it must be noted that there is a metro station just next door (almost below the hotel). At the same time the 3 tallest skyscrapers (offices) are not exactly next door as also main downtown area. My office was close but that might not be true for everyone.

To cal it all, if your office us close by, go for it. If your are a tourist then you might want to look elsewhere unless you want to travel all the way back on metro or taxi after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRC_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel is located in the central avenue of Madrid, that crosses down South to North.
It is easy to find, close to train/bus stations, and relatively close to airport.
The rooms have an average size, but are a bit "dark".
The carpet in the floor was old, and although well maintained and clean looked quite dirty.
Same for the bathroom, it seems that a renovation is needed.
The A/C was effective but vey noisy, i had to completely turn it off during the night.
The beds are comfortable with good quality pillows and sheets.
Breakfast was relatively poor, no hot dishes, only the basics. Fresh juice was available and a small variety of fruits.
Machine cofee and poor service and attendance.

Check-in and check out was quick and effective.
Generally it is an average hotel, nothing special, priced high (to my opinion), comparing to what is offering.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikos_Bout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel that wasn't to expensive in Madrid and we found a good offer so we book it there.
We arrive to the Charmartin train station (is as big as the Atocha station) and it was pretty simple to get to the hotel more less fithteen minutes walk...just recommend to think about it if you have to many baggage with you.
The hotel is very big and well take care off.
The room that we get was very comfortable but they didn't have too many people attending so we had to take our luggage by our selves.
We start by regretting that the hotel was very far from the city centre and believe me the hotel gave us a map and the hotel wasn't in it! but we were so wrong. In front of the hotel there is the train station Plaza de Castilla and from there we were on the center in ten minutes.
Also we were very close to the Barajas airport.
I totally recommend this hotel and don't be mistaken by the distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Via Castellana
Hotel Via Castellana
#257 of 440 in Madrid
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tryp Madrid Chamartin
Tryp Madrid Chamartin
#186 of 440 in Madrid
1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia  Castilla
Melia Castilla
#64 of 440 in Madrid
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Exe Madrid Norte
Exe Madrid Norte
#254 of 440 in Madrid
619 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Madrid
Holiday Inn Madrid
#297 of 440 in Madrid
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Erase un Hotel
Erase un Hotel
#318 of 440 in Madrid
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Plaza

Address: Paseo Castellana 191, 28029 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Silken Puerta Castilla Hotel)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#151 Business Hotel in Madrid
#152 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £38 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exe Plaza is, quite possibly, one of the most intelligent choices in Madrid for those seeking comfort, easy communications, tranquillity and an excellent quality-price ratio. The hotel is located in Plaza Castilla, at the foot of the KIO Towers, on Paseo de la Castellana and surrounded by the country's leading banks and companies. What is more, it is very near Santiago Bernabeu Stadium, Chamartin train station and the Four Towers Business Area Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Exe Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta Castilla Madrid
Hotel Silken Puerta Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing