We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”
Review of Hotel Exe Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Exe Plaza
Ranked #186 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A convenient location for business but a bit far away from downtown.
Metro and taxi just clause the door because nothing to do in the area
Good value for large room , bathroom without enought light, breakfast ok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed 1 night in this hotel due to a business trip. The rooms were spacious, and the location is conveniently near to the tube station. 1 tiny complain is when I arrived at the hotel on the sunday night, no food was served in the restaurant. There is a macdonald's at the ground floor, but given that I am not much of a fast food person, I had to go hungry the whole night.

The check-in staff were ok, but I had better reception at other hotels before. Perhaps it was the fact that I didn't speak any spanish.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0telH0pper56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Conveniently situated right next to a metro station making movement around Madrid easy. 4 or 5 stops to the Gran Via. About 10 mins walk to Santiago Bernabeu - straight down the road. That said if you are going to Madrid purely as a tourist a hotel on close to Gran Via would make more sense.

Room was good, bed comfortable. Quiet area at night so no noise and long curtains made it easy to block out light

Didn't eat meals at hotel so can't comment on quality of food. Reception staff were friendly and efficient and able to cope with my attempts at Spanish. Couple of cafes close to the hotel but not too much else in terms of food and drink options.

Only problem was lack of bath towels though this was easily and promptly corrected when reported to reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerskittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

At Playa Castilla, this is a well placed modern business hotel. I stayed two nights in a comfortable well designed suite. Although it had full length windows the black out curtains kept out urban night light and the double glazing all noise.
Breakfasts were good, plenty of choice though the buffet arrangement was congested between 7.00 and 8.00. Tables are tightly packed adding to the feeling of congestion.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I have no complaints about the room, it was a good size, comfortable and clean.

I have 2 small complaints, firstly there is no food served (not in cafe, restaurant or room service till 8.30pm), i appreciate this is spain but as a business hotel i thought maybe a snack in the cafe would be available. There is a mcdonalds next door but not too many other options that i could see of outaide the hotel.

Secondly, i put my breakfast room service menu on my door, next morning it was still there so had to go to restaurant instead. €20 for breakfast, if i got the continental in room service and only €13.50. If you are not going to do breakfast room service dont provide cards in rooms and waste people's time waiting for food that just isnt coming.

Staff on reception quite friendly and helpful. Would probably try somewhere else next time though.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank 871sarahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Food room service was basic and the breakfasting room very busy and uninspiring
Gym - was smaller than my hotel room and inadequate
Rooms spacious and clean yet dated and the view is better over the road at abba castilla (silken looks onto concrete. Inner building forecourt)
Price point maybe a tad high considering very average overall delivery

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just there for one night but overall a very nice stay. Awesome and friendly staff, the room was clean and modern and the bed was really comfortable. It is a great location close to the city center. i would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Via Castellana
Hotel Via Castellana
#258 of 440 in Madrid
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tryp Madrid Chamartin
Tryp Madrid Chamartin
#187 of 440 in Madrid
1,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia  Castilla
Melia Castilla
#65 of 440 in Madrid
3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Exe Madrid Norte
Exe Madrid Norte
#260 of 440 in Madrid
619 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Madrid
Holiday Inn Madrid
#297 of 440 in Madrid
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Erase un Hotel
Erase un Hotel
#318 of 440 in Madrid
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Plaza

Address: Paseo Castellana 191, 28029 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Silken Puerta Castilla Hotel)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#151 Business Hotel in Madrid
#152 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £41 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exe Plaza is, quite possibly, one of the most intelligent choices in Madrid for those seeking comfort, easy communications, tranquillity and an excellent quality-price ratio. The hotel is located in Plaza Castilla, at the foot of the KIO Towers, on Paseo de la Castellana and surrounded by the country's leading banks and companies. What is more, it is very near Santiago Bernabeu Stadium, Chamartin train station and the Four Towers Business Area Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Exe Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta Castilla Madrid
Hotel Silken Puerta Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing