We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Ranked #154 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
“Modern hotel but”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

One of the main advantages of the hotel is its location (very close to Sainz de Baranda metro station and 10 minutes walk to Retiro Park). The hotel has a nice modern architecture (especially the bathroom which has a wall made entirely of glass). The room was quite small but comfortable. The sheets and some of the towels were not in the best condition. The wifi service did not work during the first two days of our stay. The hotel staff is very kind and really helpful. Overall, the quality-price ratio is not as good as I expected but beside of its small disadavantages we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyNick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear AlyNick12,

Fist of all, thanks so much for your kind words and for choosing Ayre Gran Hotel Colón for your stay in Madrid.
We will take into consideration everything that you point out in order to improve all services and our clients 'experiences.
About the internet conexion, we had some problems during these days with wifi's servers, but now wifi is working good.
Hope to see you again,

We are at your disposal in this email adress: socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Kind regards,

Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    860
    285
    61
    45
See reviews for
292
672
86
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hi we stayed at the Ayre Colon grand hotel america. First to explain, this is basically 2 hotels in the complex the Europa and the America. This was not explained on hotels.com hence we checked in at the europa by accident but they were more than helpful. So lets get out the way what was bad. Beds were hard, far too hard for a decent hotel. The wifi. Was ok but not great between 2 of us we took 6 wifi devices (yes gadget overload) the netbook, samsung note 10.1 and samsung galaxy s3 and blackberry all performed well, the iphones didn't like the wifi at all. It was slow in general. Only other negative was a Chinese man smoking with his hotel room door open which was soon resolved. So on to the positives.we were tourists so only being 100 metres from santa baranda metro stop was great also walk to retiro park was 5-10 mins. The shower room was lovely modern glass walled but modest.. the room had fridge.. safe.. wardrobe... good lighting.. power sockets. Water in fridge. Ooh to mention no tea tray or kettle so no hot drinks. Overall for the money what got was excellent, would go back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear bandmab
Fist of all, thanks so much for choosing Ayre Gran Hotel Colón for your stay in Madrid
His words help other travelers decide to meet us.
At the momento we are changing the mattresses
Last week we had a problema with a wifi connection, but now it Works good.
As you say, we have free mineral water in all rooms
Hope to see you again.

We are at your disposal in this email adress: socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Kind regards,

Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Large modern hotel, with huge comfortable rooms, and reasonably priced at around $100 per night. Location was not in city centre, but quite handy - we walked to Retiro Park (about 20 minutes) and Calle Gran Via, and it's also next to a metro station.

2 complaints: (i) no kettle in room – had to go on a long expedition (10 mins return) to the café in the other building to get a pot of hot water. (2 hotels in Spain later, maybe kettle in room was an unreasonable expectation as both didn’t have kettle either). (ii) Also the internet was not working in the room for 3 days (out of the 4 days we stayed), so we had to sit in reception area to use computers.

Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Anne F,

Fist of all, thanks so much for your kind words and for choosing Ayre Gran Hotel Colón for your stay in Madrid
None of our rooms has kettle. but as you say, in Spain is an unusual thing.
About internet, I am sorry, we had a problema with a wifi connexion.

Hope to see you again.

We are at your disposal in this email adress: socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Kind regards,

Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at Gran Hotel Colon for a weekend in july 2012. The location is very good, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The rooms are big, clean and modern. The staff is kind and helpful. We had a problem during the night with the door lock system thus the stuff fixed it. I was impressed of the professionalism in this hotel. The card panel had been changed with new one for several minutes, whilst we've drinking champagne at the bar as a compliment from the Hotel.
I recommend this hotel to everyone, who wants to spend carefree and cheerful vacation in Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumyana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Rumyana Y,

Thanks for choosing Ayre Gran Hotel Colón for your stay in MAdrid and thank you so much for your kind comments.

His words will assist other travelers know us better and encourage them to visit.

THANKS AGAIN! We hope to have you back with us soon.

Do not hesitate in contact us should you have any doubts or require additional information.

I remain at your entire disposal in this email adress: socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Best regards,

SocialMedia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Normally I only give reviews at the end, but this is the 1 st night of 5 and it is the 5th attempt to write a review from room 706, meaning wifi sxcks. Furthermore the elevator in building Europe 'sounds' like one of Gustave Eiffel's first fabrics. I did not complain yet however because after a fantastic diner (outside) i need to get some sleep. Oh, apparently most rooms have terraces, but not this side of the entire building. I do have a view over Madrid ( I believe it is):-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comerenkwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Comerenkwel,

Thanks for your kind words about Ayre Gran Hotel Colón and thanks for choosing Ayre Gran Hotel Colon for your stay in Madrid
We will continue to strive and putting forward in our work so that our guests leave satisfied. We welcome your constructive comments and suggestions that gives us.
On the other hand confirm that none of our rooms have terraces
Hoping to have you back with us soon
We remain at your disposal
Best regards,

SocialMedia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel was perfect for a family of 4. The room is spacious for European Standards. We didn't eat at the restaurant, so I cant comment on that. There are two towers and we were able to get two rooms on the same tower.
This is a standard hotel, clean nothing too extravagant but very good for the money paid

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lali_miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Lali_miami

Thanks so much for choosing Ayre Gran Hotel Colon for your staying in Madrid.
As you say, our hotel has two building; they are connected by an art gallery
I remain at your entire disposal should you need something in this email adress: socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com
Hope to see you again,
Kind regards,

SocialMedia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice during our tour of Spain and found it to be very comfortable. The decor is modern but cosy, and was good value for money. The rooms are a bit small, but offer sufficient space for two if you aren't planning on spending much time in the room other than just for sleep.
Dined in the restaurant for lunch, and the food and service was to a high standard.
The corridors were a bit dark, and the sensor lighting installed I would assume to save energy is admirable but doesn't work that well in practice. Had to jump up and down in the corridor a few times to be able to see!
The location is not in central Madrid, but rather in one of the outlying inner suburbs of Madrid. This suited us though as it was quiet and in a nice residential area. By bus/taxi it takes about 10 minutes to get into the centre of town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that the stay has not fulfilled expectations.
We take note of all the comments about the hotel, and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay pleasant and comfortable, as one of our company policy is to create happy experiences.

I remain at your entire disposal should you need something.
Kind regards,
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#179 of 436 in Madrid
914 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 436 in Madrid
1,866 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#101 of 436 in Madrid
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#148 of 436 in Madrid
1,496 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#151 of 436 in Madrid
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Gran Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Property: Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Address: C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#101 Business Hotel in Madrid
#104 Family Hotel in Madrid
#108 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Gran Hotel Colon 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Gran Hotel Colon is located near the Paseo de Arte and the famous Retiro Park. In addition to its superb location, the hotel offers 359 modern rooms each with a fully-fitted bathroom, air-conditioning, and internet connection. Most rooms have a terrace and are WI-FI equipped. Guests can also enjoy 3 restaurants, a bar, conference rooms, gym, hairdresser, sauna, and private garage. An expert team of professionals specializes in organising meetings, conventions, and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ayre Gran Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Gran Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing