We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Ranked #158 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
West Midlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. It was ideally situated for the concert we were seeing at the Palacio de desportes which was only one metro stop away. The hotel was modern, clean and very good value. The room was great and the bathroom modern with a very good shower !!!
Staff were friendly and helpful. The on-site cafeteria was just the job for a cup of coffee in the morning and the man who seemed to be running it single-handed was pleasant and friendly.

Would definitely stay here again !!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear vickijj,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We really appreciate your comment about us.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,

Lucía López
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    835
    274
    58
    44
See reviews for
272
639
84
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a great value hotel, but the room was stifling. We asked for the aircon to be lowered (it was at lowest setting we could access) but we were told this was the lowest the hotel would accept. In the end, had to ask for locked window to be opened. To be fair, my partner is Spanish, so it isn't just the Brits moaning, it was the Spanish as well! Everything else was fine...Oh except the electrics failing to work for hairdryer and bathroom socket, fortunately I had brought my own so it was OK. If you want a good value place, this is it, just ask for a quiet room and a window that opens!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your comment and for choosing us during your stay in Madrid.
We will make sure that we are improving this aspect you mentioned.
Thank you for help us with your feedback,

Best regards,

Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in Jan 2014 on a city break. Although outside the central city area, the Sainz de Baranda Metro station is a 2 min. walk away. Metro from airport takes @ 20 mins and into centre usually 5 mins. It's a delightful 30 minute walk across the Retiro Park to the Prado. Hotel is excellent value: clean, comfortable and quiet rooms with good sound insulation. We requested a quiet twin room on upper floor and this is exactly what we got. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. Small supermarkets nearby and a few restaurants & bars, though most don't serve food until after 9.00pm as is the Spanish way! Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Busy road outside so ask for upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanned_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear customer,

First of all, thank you for your kind comments about us.
We are delighted that your experience was a success.
Thank your for help us with your feedback,

Kind regards,

Lucía López
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was on a tour which stayed at this hotel. The hotel was not in the central area and there were few restaurants nearby. The elevators were inadequate, there were four and they could each hold six people if they were packed like sardines. They were also slow arriving.
When I stayed at the hotel at the beginning of my trip there were three coach parties, about 150 people and the hotel could not cope with so many people for the buffet breakfast. It was hard to find a seat for breakfast, there wasn't much choice, the hot food went quickly and it wasn't replenished promptly.
The hotel room was adequate but I liked the bathroom which had a heated towel rail.
The group stayed at this hotel on the last night of the tour and the buffet breakfast was served in a larger restaurant with more choice and the hot food was replenished more quickly.
It was almost impossible to use the WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Sandra,

First of all thank you for your comment about us.
We take note about your information and we are going to improve these things that you mentioned.
Thank you for hep us with your feedback,

Hope to see you again,

Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerta del Alcudia, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in November. Overall i was satisfied with the hotel, staff are friendly and the rooms are to a good standard. The hotel is not very central but the transport links are good so this is not really a problem.
we had breakfast every morning in the mallorca cafe just over the road which i found to be good value for money and my friends liked it as they ae Mallorcans and found this quite amusing.
i had a problem with my safe the first morning but the dutch girl on reception was very helpful and the technician very professional. top marks to these two staff.
thankyou and we will use you again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. We are delighted that your experience was a success.

Hope to see you again,

Lucía López
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here on a local recommendation and I found the hotel to be ok for the price. The room was clean, but on the small size and unfortunately the bed was very uncomfortable. The service was good and the breakfast was adequate. The hotel location is fine if you have business in the hotel area but if you're a tourist you're better off finding a hotel in the central Madrid area. You can walk to the Prado Museum in about 40 minutes and the rest of central Madrid will take another half hour or more. A Metro station is near the hotel but you have to change trains to get into the central area and it can be very time consuming. A taxi will cost 10 to 15 Euros to get to the Royal Place or Plaza Mayor. There is not many restaurants in the hotel area which can be a problem but there is a small grocery store out the back door of the hotel which was very convenient. I would have giving this hotel a higher rating but for the poor location for tourists and the uncomfortable bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Michael,

Many thanks for your comment and for choosing us during your stay in Madrid.

We will make sure that we are improving this aspect you mentioned.

Thank you for help us with your feedback,

Kind regards,

Lucía López
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, we really enjoyed our stay. It was our first time in Madrid and would love to go back.

- hotel staff was friendly and nice
- rooms were clean and modern
- free wi-fi
- fridge in room to keep some fresh water and light snacks
- hotel restaurant was very nice and the service was great
- location was perfect, you could walk to the city center via the Retiro park or take the subway via the station Sanz de Baranda (2 mins from the hotel)
- felt at ease with the safe in the room

Really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMari_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear guest,

It is our pleasure to know you had a lovely stay at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon.
Thank you very much for your kind comments about us, and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Lucía López
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#105 of 436 in Madrid
822 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#167 of 436 in Madrid
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Zurbano
#112 of 436 in Madrid
553 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#136 of 436 in Madrid
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Gran Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Property: Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Address: C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#101 Business Hotel in Madrid
#104 Family Hotel in Madrid
#109 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Gran Hotel Colon 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Gran Hotel Colon is located near the Paseo de Arte and the famous Retiro Park. In addition to its superb location, the hotel offers 359 modern rooms each with a fully-fitted bathroom, air-conditioning, and internet connection. Most rooms have a terrace and are WI-FI equipped. Guests can also enjoy 3 restaurants, a bar, conference rooms, gym, hairdresser, sauna, and private garage. An expert team of professionals specializes in organising meetings, conventions, and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ayre Gran Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Gran Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing