We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surpised by negative reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Ranked #155 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
285 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Surpised by negative reviews!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is a modern 4 start hotel located around a 45 minute walk to the Palace.

It’s quite close to Retiro Park, just a 10 minute walk, on a side note the park is definitely worth a visit!

The reception area is modern and the staff very helpful.
Our check in was a little slow, though more down to the tour guide than the staff!

We were given a disabled room, which was quite large.
The décor in the room is clean and modern.
The room had a TV, safe, a minibar with just two complimentary bottles of water, and good effective air conditioning.
There was plenty of space in this room for our suitcases, and though the wardrobe space is large, the hanging part is useless, as it is really narrow.

The bathroom was large, and being a disabled room there was no bath, just a large open shower area which for us meant the rest of the bathroom got soaked as there is no screen.
There’s complimentary shower gel and shampoo.
Towels are changed daily on request.
The lighting in the bathroom wasn’t great, as the tiles are very dark.

The hotel has a small gym adjacent to reception, with just a handful of equipment, two treadmills, a multi-gym and weights, open 7am to 11pm.
The gym did have a very strong smell, perhaps expected but it really lingered in there.

There’s a garden areas with an outside bar, though there was a private party on during our stay, it looked a nice relaxing spot.
The indoor bar is part of a café/bar open to the public, and was quite busy so service wasn’t very quick. Two medium sized Sangria cost 10 Euro.

Our tour group had the evening meal in a restaurant overlooking the garden.
This was very clean and well appointed. The food quality was ok, a set menu for our group, A tuna/potato ‘cake’ with king prawns, chicken with chips (a small portion), and a ice cream cake – see photos.
There were bottles of still water on the tables. A glass of wine cost 3 Euro.

The breakfast room was on the lower floor, below reception, served 7 until 10am.
The room was very busy at 8 am, and food did keep running out, though the staff were running around trying to maintain the food levels.
There was a small but varied selection, all the usual buffet items.
There was just one rotary toaster, and two coffee machines.

The hotel was particularly busy as we stayed on the Kings coronation!

Room Tip: Judging by some other reviews I guess some rooms have been refurbishes. We has a room on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveyourlifebefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear customer,

Firs of all, thank you very much for your kind comment about us.
We are delighted that your experiencia was a success.
We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

Lucía López
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    813
    269
    57
    42
See reviews for
263
628
83
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We have been in this hotel this weekend with a great price. The hotel looked really nice and the people in the reception desk was really kind.

The worst was the room. The air conditioning unit in auto mode make an very loud and annoying noise. The mattress was very thin and really hard.

In the morning we had a breakfast in the cafe and was awful either the service and the food.


Definitely this hotel could have 2 stars 3 at most.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ethervoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Near Retiro park, great hotel the staff is very helpful with any questions you have! One block from metro station to take you anywhere. Must take a walk in the park during the morning hours before it gets too hot. There are two hotels and they are connected.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RieRie713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear customer,

Many thanks for your comment about us and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madrid
Hope to see you again,

Lucía López
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piaseczno, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel consists of two buildings, so one has to make sure where to meet while fixing an appointment. Rooms vere nice, but not very big, well equipped. Breakfast buffet was ok, but the breakfast room was overcwroded and the service too slow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janusz_Zebrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your comment. We note what you say about our breakfast service to improve and offer our best service in future occasions.
Yours faithfully,

Lucía López
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A big hotel at a residential area far from Madrid center.
A metro station is in a short distance from the hotel and you can also always find a taxi at the front of the hotel.
The room's cleanliness and maintenance have to be better and to get more attention.
You can find the pictures of the poor house keeping.
The bed sheets were replaced only after 4 nights even the fact that they got dirty by blood from my leg.
Breakfast was nice but the dining room floor and the chairs were not clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here at the weekend for a stag party. This hotel is primarily a business style hotel but during our stay they also hosted a wedding and other civic event so it functions as a bit of a jack of all trades.
Our party were pretty well behaved (we're all getting past the age of 24/7 mayhem) but we did have a costume evening and although we were only in the lobby for five minutes the hotel staff took it in good humour. This was enhanced by the five or six pictures the other guests wanted with us prior to our departure in our finery.
The hotel is more than a walk from the centre and trips to Atocha or the airport will require an undergound or taxi ride. The plus point being that there is a taxi rank outside serving the hotel for most of the day. Food and drink is reasonably priced but service can be unbelievably slow (we waited over an hour one morning for a few club sandwiches and a round of beers will always take in excess of five minutes to pour) but this is fairly standard for madrid as a whole.
The rooms are very comfortable and if you dont mind being a little way out of the centre, it's extremely good value for money. Wifi is excellent (and complimentary) and the bathrooms were well kitted out and modern.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear customer,

Many thanks for your comment and for choosing us during your stag party in Madrid. We will make sure that we are improving the aspect you mentioned.

Thank you for helping us with your feedback.
Sincerely yours,

Eva Antoñanzas
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel for 4 nights. Do not hope to find a clean table or any willing staff at breakfast time. I had to go across the street to buy a cup of coffee at a cafe and to my surprise found others from our group doing the same.Complaints to management was met by a flood of apologies but no improvement the following days.The fixtures in the rooms are poorly installed with hairdryers falling apart, air conditioning not working etc etc.I was amazed to see a 4 star Tripadvisor rating proudly displayed at reception. Something has gone seriously wrong here

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hein P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, many thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madrid. Your opinion is very important for us, so we will make all necessary efforts to make your next stay a more pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Eva Antoñanzas
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#95 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#175 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#107 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#126 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Gran Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Property: Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Address: C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#101 Business Hotel in Madrid
#104 Family Hotel in Madrid
#106 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Gran Hotel Colon 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Gran Hotel Colon is located near the Paseo de Arte and the famous Retiro Park. In addition to its superb location, the hotel offers 359 modern rooms each with a fully-fitted bathroom, air-conditioning, and internet connection. Most rooms have a terrace and are WI-FI equipped. Guests can also enjoy 3 restaurants, a bar, conference rooms, gym, hairdresser, sauna, and private garage. An expert team of professionals specializes in organising meetings, conventions, and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ayre Hoteles, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayre Gran Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Gran Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing