We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Madrid Centro
Ranked #161 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed in a room with my wife and 7 year old daughter at the time. The staff was friendly, the hotel was exceptionally clean and the buffet breakfast was excellent. I met the owner Guillermo and he couldn't have been friendlier.

I can't wait until I get a chance to go back!

Room Tip: Stay above the 3rd floor if possible
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggga70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Madrid Centro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 days in Hotel Lope de Vega at the end of our vacation in Spain. The room was very clean, spacious enough for two adults, the beds were firm and comfortable. The staff at the hotel was helpful and quite willing to hold our bags when we arrived early and again the day we left. We had a flight late in the day and so wanted to take advantage of our last day in Madrid. So that was a great service to have.
The hotel is in a great location. We were a 10 minute walk from Reina Sofia, and the Prado was practically across the street. But it was an easy 15 minute walk to places like Plaza Mayor, Puerto del Sol, and the Palazio Real. The Atoche railway station, where we arrived, is also close, down by the Reina Sofia. We took the airport express bus to the airport. We could have caught that bus at the Atoche station, but there was a stop even closer to the hotel, just up the other side of the Prado. The hotel staff was very helpful in assuring us that was the best transportation to the airport, and they told us exactly where to get it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Nice hotel with good buffet breakfast (plenty of everything, except maybe bread - just two varieties of that kind). The room I had was on the 1st floor facing the street, and you could hear the traffic through the window / walls, so I didn´t sleep well. Otherwise nice and neat room, so perhaps you should ask a room facing the courtyard or from upper levels, when you make a reservation. Also, check the air condition before going to sleep, it was way too cold for the first night for me, even though it felt nicely cool when going to bed. :) Short walking distance to the restaurants and shopping facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor and/or facing the inneryard are probably quieter than my 1st floor facing the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarikaR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

An excellent base for exploring Madrid. Just a few minutes walk to the Prado and Thyssen galleries and also to the beautiful Retiro Park.....well worth a visit. A few steps in the other direction and you are in the heart of the old Literary Quarter, a maze of cobbled streets lined with Tapas bars and restaurants. A five minute walk takes you to the Plaza Santa Anna which is bounded by cafes and a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. The Hotel is excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable and well equipped. Breakfasts are buffet style with good choice. Staff friendly and helpful. Public areas basic but functional. Would definitely return. Taxi fare from airport about 25-30 euros.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staffs were very polite and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy and of generous proportions. If you arrive by motorcar I would advise an early arrival due to limited onsite secure parking. Secure offsite parking is also available but I am unable to comment further. There is on street parking just outside the hotel but restrictions may apply.
The hotel is ideally situated for museums and the main places of interest most of which were in walking distance.
As we only had one full day in Madrid so we took advantage of the hop on hop off sightseeing bus which was very reasonably priced (senior rate) and a stop is situated at the top end of the gardens opposite Lope de Vega ( Turn Left )
However we did find that food and drink were expensive in the main tourist areas. I would recommend a short walk up the street from the hotel and a turn to the left where the prices were much more reasonable.
We would defiantly return if ever in Madrid again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espresso1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Good value considering its proximity to all the major museums. 5 min walt to the Prado and Thyssen...10-15 min walk to the Renina Sofia.15 min walk to the Atchoa (AVE) station or the Anton Martin (metro) stop which will easily get you anywhere in the city. From the airport we arrived using the hotel transport bus which drops you off a few esay blocks away. We took the AVE train to Barcelona, so close proximity to Atchoa was a benefit.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was as pleasant and helpful as expected. AC kept the room comfortable for sleeping. We requested an upper level room towards the back which was much quieter. That said, the hotel is on a quiet street.

If you're using the R Steves book, this hotel is literaly steps from one of his recommended "Tapas crawls". Its in a very nice artsy/foodie area worth exploring.

Didnt take the breakfast option. Really isnt a good value given all the good cafe options in Spain. Do yourself a favor and skip the "continental" breakfast in lieu of a Spanish one. On the way to all the major destinations there plenty of good cafes for much better coffee (cafe con letche), pastries, tortillas, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We originally picked this hotel based on a recommendation from our daughter in-law and it was a great choice. The Lope de Vega is conveniently located near the Prado and to other nearby sights and museums. The room was clean and spacious and the noise minimal for downtown Madrid. The staff was friendly and helpful. My wife and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldDuckTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Arguelles
Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#125 of 438 in Madrid
1,964 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#180 of 438 in Madrid
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Madrid Centro

Address: Calle Lope de Vega 49 | Triangulo del Arte, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#141 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £92 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Madrid Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Madrid Centro is a nice and welcoming hotel themed around the life and work of Golden Age writer, Don Felix Lope de Vega. Its privileged location in the well known and popular "Barrio de las Letras ", will let you feel in an atmosphere of culture and art in Madrid, and explore its bars and restaurants to sample the local cuisine. Ideal to enjoy whether you come for business or pleasure. With an excellent location in the center of the "Triangle of Art" of Madrid, formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza and the Reina Sofia and just 10-minute walk from the Puerta del Sol. Atocha station is just 800 meters away. The nearest Metro stations are Atocha (L1 ), Bank of Spain ( L2 ) and Anton Martin ( L1 ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope De Vega Madrid
Lope De Vega Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing