We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms, and friendly and helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Madrid Centro
Ranked #152 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This boutique hotel (themed on Spanish literary figures) is located in a quiet section of Madrid adjoining the park and the Prado Museum, yet easy walking distance to Old Madrid sites. And the rooms and the service are both excellent. Hats off to the friendly and helpful staff! For these reasons and more, I make this a "must stay" when in Madrid.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docteled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Booked on Expedia, which I cannot recommend, but I can certainly recommend this hotel near the Prado and the Reina Sofia as well As Atocha train station. It is too far to drag suitcases but it is walkable although I took a taxi which cost about nine to ten Euros because of the route taken.
The reception was more than warm, the wifi was fine and though our stay would only be for one night, I kept thinking that this property was what one would want-super clean and comfortable lodging in a great location.
My only issues were the lack of different dining options which other barrios have nearby. We did not take the breakfast.
The bathroom was more than adequate and the little sitting room off the lobby was adorable. The beds were comfortable and the outside noise was not an issue for me, but it could be for someone else-although the windows seemed thick.
The front staff were kind to hold my bag and call a taxi to make an early train. Next door is a good bar for a zumo or orange juice and some churros. I would be happy to visit the Hotel Lope de Vega again but would not book with Expedia with their lack of customer service. The neighborhood is noteworthy if one is familiar with Spanish Literature. Make sure to look down-sometimes there are passages on the streets.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Fattycrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was rebooked here at the last minute from the Ibis Styles Madrid, and upgraded to a junior suite. It had a nice terrace (though some previous traveler's cigarettes were never cleaned out of the flower pot here), a small living area (with a stationary bike, if you're not getting enough exercise walking around the city!), and a jacuzzi tub (in addition to a standard shower). I had to ask for bath towels the first night, though everything was fine for the remainder of my stay. The room was clean and spacious, and WiFi worked well. The breakfast was adequate. The location was really the best part of this stay -- just steps from the museums.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoyoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed a long weekend as location is superb. Arrived early, couldn't check in but happy to just leave luggage. Front desk not the most friendly I have had. Came back in evening, staff fantastic and really helpful! Really enjoyed our stay overall. Hotels in Madrid aren't cheap. And this one is reasonably priced and in a great location. Would def stay in again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asylum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel was easy to get to and very close to tourist activities but still quiet and calm. Our room was small but very clean and in great shape.
The staff was professional and available, but I didn't appreciate a personal touch at all.
If you are a new traveler who wants guidance and support, you might look elsewhere. If you know what you want, this was a comfortable place in a great location at a great price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We picked this hotel because of the previous good reviews on Trip Advisor. Its location was just perfect for visiting the Prado and the other art galleries which are very adjacent. It was also convenient enough for visiting many of the other sights of this interesting city. There was no metro / underground station in the immediate vicinity. So we walked to the other places of interest, such as the Retiro Park on the East side and the Royal Palace on the West side, and Puerto del Sol and Plaza Major in between. We found the Atocha Station (for train to Toledo) was also within easy walking distance. Another advantage of the location was the great selection of tapas bars on adjacent streets.
Our room was a reasonable size for a central hotel in a capital city. The room was at the back of the hotel and so it had an uninspiring view of the back of other buildings, but it was nice and quiet with no street noise. There was some plumbing noises from other rooms, but these were minimised by keeping the bathroom door closed at all times. The room had an in-room safe at no extra charge.
There was a free bottle of water and some candies in the room on arrival, which was a nice touch. The buffet breakfast was adequate.
The WiFi signal in the room was strong but the actual Internet connection speed was very variable, sometimes very slow. The login process required each time we returned to the room was a bit tedious.
We had a late evening flight home and the hotel stored our luggage safely so that we could enjoy our last day sightseeing around the city. The hotel receptionist organised a shared transfer to the airport in a very comfortable vehicle, and at a cost of only Euro 22 for both of us.
We would consider this hotel if we visit Madrid again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnseoAris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Easy to get to by car, but TINY, 6- car parking underground that will challenge your turning and reversing skills. Without that however, you're probably going to have to find your own parking. Good luck! In common with most Spanish cities, Madrid parking is for the brave and the bold only. Comfortable, affordable, well-trained desk staff and a generous breakfast

Hotel is right opposite the Prado and 5 minutes to the Reina Sofia galleries. Also very well located visavis the Metro and is easy walking to the principal Gran Via shopping districts, Royal Palace and the tapas and restaurant areas in elegant Plaza de Santa Ana nearby. Try "Lateral" on the plaza - a popular busy place with a modern twist on tapas.
.

Room Tip: A generally quiet hotel but as always in cities, try for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Arguelles
Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana
Huertas
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
#101 of 440 in Madrid
1,176 reviews
Huertas
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#84 of 440 in Madrid
897 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#82 of 440 in Madrid
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Madrid Centro

Address: Calle Lope de Vega 49 | Triangulo del Arte, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#141 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £71 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Madrid Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Madrid Centro is a nice and welcoming hotel themed around the life and work of Golden Age writer, Don Felix Lope de Vega. Its privileged location in the well known and popular "Barrio de las Letras ", will let you feel in an atmosphere of culture and art in Madrid, and explore its bars and restaurants to sample the local cuisine. Ideal to enjoy whether you come for business or pleasure. With an excellent location in the center of the "Triangle of Art" of Madrid, formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza and the Reina Sofia and just 10-minute walk from the Puerta del Sol. Atocha station is just 800 meters away. The nearest Metro stations are Atocha (L1 ), Bank of Spain ( L2 ) and Anton Martin ( L1 ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope De Vega Madrid
Lope De Vega Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing