We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MasonMaui
Pontypool, United Kingdom

Walking distance to the railway station

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2017
Modern looking hotel within walking distance of the railway station. The walls seemed a bit thin as you could hear the people in the room opposite but fortunately they weren't too noisy! Bedroom wasn't overly large but big enough for what I needed and the bathroom was modern and well laid out.
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this review
Responded 7 Apr 2017
Dear MasonMaui,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us!

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time in Madrid and our great central location. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£319
Fully refundable
  • Only YOU Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £204
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £118
  • Expedia.com
    £127
0.4 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £89
3.1 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £48
  • Algotels
3.7 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Standard room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £81
  • Priceline
    £83
5.8 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£58
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.0 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £126
  • Booking.com
6.6 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Pool
Colazione
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £54
  • Priceline
    £64
5.7 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Exterior
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
    £52
  • eDreams
4.0 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Madrid
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveller rating
429
531
215
84
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
429
531
215
84
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prado museum great location reina sofia within walking distance side street front desk staff business trip rooms are small bars and restaurants accor atocha corridor euros palace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The Mercure Madrid Centro was a strategic choice. A hotel close to the 3 most important museums, in a quiet place and at walking distance to the Plaza del Sol and all bars and restaurants that make Madrid a great city to stay.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Tjerk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Tjerk R,

Thank you very much for taking your time and reviewing your experience at Mercure Madrid Centro!

It is fantastic to read that you made the most of our central location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Very well located if you want to visit the main turistic spots of Madrid .Modern hôtel with large rooms well equipped. Nice and efficient service.Very good value for money.
Several restaurants in the neighbourhood as you can only get breakfast there.
Good address !

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Marcogig61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Marcogig61,

Thank you for your great review and score after your stay with us!

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your time in Madrid. As you mention, we are located in the heart of the city, close to all the main sights and with lots of great places to eat nearby. I will share your comments with the rest of the team. Your satisfaction is the best reward for us!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

I would really advise not to take this hotel as you will not sleep at all. This hotel is over warmed, while the airco is not available when eating. Before entering your room, you will face a very hot corridor. As no airco in the room, the only way to cold the room is to open the windows, but the avenue close to the hotel never become quite, always busy. And every 2 days, at 2:00 in the night, the truck collecting the garbish will do even more noise. Happy to see they work at night avoiding trafic jump, not all cities do that, but at the mercure, this is not an advantage.if you cold the room the evening like that and then close the windows to avoid the noise, 2 hours later again more than 26 degré Celsius. Then you reopen the windows and will not sleep anymore

Good luck if you want to try, 4 night like that, im exhausted now

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Ralf2ralf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Ralf2ralf,

First of all thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Madrid Centro.

I am sorry that you faced this challenge during your stay. As I explained on a previous email, these were exceptionally warm days in Madrid for this time of the year. Our central AC/Heating system was not prepared for a situation like this, and once again we would like to apologise for that.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Very convenient for Prado and central plazas of Madrid.
No restaurant.
The hotel would not book parking underneath ahead. It was very small but we got there early and were assisted to enter.
OK but would be depressing place to stay for longer than a day or two.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Archaeobuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Archaeobuff,

Thank you very much for taking your time and comment your stay with us.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed our great location. Our hotel is indeed a great place to stay if you are interested in visiting the main museums of Madrid! Besides that, we are located in the heart of the "Barrio de las Letras" where you will find lots of great dining options, from tapas to the classic "cocido madrileño". As you mention, our parking is quite small and therefore we are not able to reserve the spaces in advance, but as an alternative in case it is full, we have an agreement with a nearby car park for the convenience of our guests. I have taken note of your opinion in regards to our decoration. We are constantly improving our building and that is why your feedback is so important to us.

Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We have really enjoyed our staying at this lovely hotel! Its located directly at the city center, particularly, we could see splendid Prado Museum outside of our window. Big nutritious breakfasts, internet, large balconies – all these contribute to my exclusively positive impressions of this place!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear Jeff M,

Thank you very much for your great review about your stay with us!

I am delighted to read that we contributed towards your great experience in Madrid! Comments like yours encourage us to keep improving day by day.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Jefa de Recepción

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews