We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Colin S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Comfortable hotel in great location for the museums

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2017
This is a lovely hotel and it couldn't be more ideally placed. It's five minutes from the Prado and Thyssen museums and in easy walking distance from the other city centre attractions such as the Plaza Mayor (20 min walk) and the Royal Palace (half an hour walk max). Staff were great and very helpful. Room a bit on the basic side but comfortable and good-sized and the bathroom was great, with excellent shower and nice toiletries. Breakfast was excellent, with choice of cold cuts, fruit, bread and pastries of all description. The only down side was the sound proofing which was poor - in fact, really poor. You could hear curtains being drawn and you'd swear they were being done in your own room. Fix the sound proofing issue and it'd be five stars for sure!
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this review
Responded 17 Apr 2017
Dear Colin S,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay at Mercure Madrid Centro!

We really appreciate your comments, specially your lovely word about our team. I will pass them on to my colleagues who I am sure will be very thankful. It is a pleasure to know that you had a nice stay and that you were comfortable in your guestroom. In regards to the soundproofing and for a future stay, should you consider that your room is not quiet enough, please contact Reception so that we can assist you with a solution.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Madrid!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    £194
  • Hotels.com
    £210
  • Expedia.com
    £211
0.6 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£117
  • Expedia.com
    £127
  • Priceline
    £167
  • Hotels.com
    £127
0.4 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
£89
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £84
  • Expedia.com
    £89
3.1 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
£50
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £53
  • Vio.com
    £48
  • Expedia.com
    £50
3.7 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Standard room
£91
  • Priceline
    £83
  • ZenHotels.com
    £79
  • NH Hotels
    £91
5.8 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£59
  • Priceline
    £59
  • ZenHotels.com
    £57
  • Expedia.com
    £58
4.0 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£131
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £155
  • Agoda.com
    £124
  • Priceline
    £131
6.6 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Pool
Colazione
£61
  • Priceline
    £64
  • ZenHotels.com
    £53
  • Expedia.com
    £65
5.7 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Exterior
£52
  • Priceline
    £52
  • ZenHotels.com
    £51
  • Vio.com
    £52
4.0 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
£319
Fully refundable
  • Only YOU Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Madrid
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveller rating
429
531
215
84
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
429
531
215
84
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prado museum great location reina sofia within walking distance side street front desk staff business trip rooms are small bars and restaurants accor atocha corridor euros palace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The Mercure Madrid Centro was a welcome relief after a bad experience trying to find a bargain in Madrid. Very convenient to Madrid's museums (practically across the street from the Prado), this hotel provides just what one would expect of a mid-level chain hotel at a reasonable price. The staff were all friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The room was a reasonable size with a comfortable queen-size bed, a good-sized bathroom with modern fixtures, and a reasonable assortment of toiletries. We found it comfortable except that the air-conditioning was not yet on for the season, so in late March we needed to keep the window open and the fan running constantly to counteract the heat from the hallway. The walls seemed a bit thin, but our neighbors were not loud, and it was the birds' singing that woke us in the morning. The breakfast was included in our room rate, and was ample, with a wide variety of hot and cold options, though I would have found it hard to eat enough to justify the price if it were not included with the room. All in all we were very happy to have found this hotel and would likely stay there again if we go back.

Room tip: Rooms in the back overlook a courtyard and outside noise is minimal.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear MJT_05408,

Thank you so much for your great review of your stay with us!

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and specially that our team gave you a good service! Our Reception team is very knowledgeable about Madrid and all what it has to offer and we are always available to answer any doubts or give you advice on your travels. As you said, we had some extremely hot days in March for that time of the year, but our AC system is now all set and working for the summer season. I am taking note of your opinion about breakfast as we constantly review our offer to adjust to our guests´ taste. We have recently added the option of food made to order at breakfast so that you can choose your favorite style of eggs or omelettes each day.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This hotel was not recognisable as a Mercure, save for the name outside. It did not look or feel like the Mercure hotels I know elsewhere. The room card and the bill explains that it is run by a company called Green Lope de Vega SL participating in the Le Club Accorhotels programme.
The plus point are that the hotel is clean and located within 15 minutes walk of Atocha Railway Station - the hub for RENFE trains to Terminal 4 at Madrid Airport. It is situated in a side street, off the main highway in front of the Prado Museum. So a nice part of the city which felt safe.
Though a Platinum Accor member and was told I had the intended upgrade, my room (405) felt cramped ; 2 single beds with not much space to walk round them. The bathroom had a bath tub (rather than a walk in shower I usually get). The room was clean and well maintained during my 3 day stay.
I had a drink in the bar but not breakfast. There was a standalone PC with internet access in the bar/breakfast room. I used it a couple of times.
Overall, a fair stay but not a super one

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear Mr alanreynolds,

Thank you for your review after staying with us at Mercure Madrid Centro!

I am really glad to read that you enjoyed our great location, and that you found our hotel to be clean and well appointed. We are part of the Accor group and particularly of the Mercure brand as a franchise, hence the name on your invoice. We follow all the standards of the company and our Le Club guests are always given a preferential service. We always try to offer upgraded rooms for you, however, due to the size of our hotel and to the high occupancy, it sometimes proves to be uneasy. The best way to get a higher category of room is by booking that category itself.

We really hope that you can visit us again soon and that we can regain your trust in our property.

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Modern looking hotel within walking distance of the railway station. The walls seemed a bit thin as you could hear the people in the room opposite but fortunately they weren't too noisy! Bedroom wasn't overly large but big enough for what I needed and the bathroom was modern and well laid out.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasonMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear MasonMaui,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us!

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time in Madrid and our great central location. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The Mercure Madrid Centro was a strategic choice. A hotel close to the 3 most important museums, in a quiet place and at walking distance to the Plaza del Sol and all bars and restaurants that make Madrid a great city to stay.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Tjerk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Tjerk R,

Thank you very much for taking your time and reviewing your experience at Mercure Madrid Centro!

It is fantastic to read that you made the most of our central location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Very well located if you want to visit the main turistic spots of Madrid .Modern hôtel with large rooms well equipped. Nice and efficient service.Very good value for money.
Several restaurants in the neighbourhood as you can only get breakfast there.
Good address !

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Marcogig61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Marcogig61,

Thank you for your great review and score after your stay with us!

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your time in Madrid. As you mention, we are located in the heart of the city, close to all the main sights and with lots of great places to eat nearby. I will share your comments with the rest of the team. Your satisfaction is the best reward for us!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews