We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average 4 Star Hotel, Nice Breakfast, Poor Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Ranked #178 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Main lobby looks well decored and clean, bathroom is ok, but the room is too small and old style decoration with old tv, carpets needs to be changed, overall for staying for business it's a good hotel not for leisure thougt, only bad think about this hotel is the maid putting the hoover and banging it to your door at 7 am for over 10mn even with the do not disturb sign, unacceptable

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmoumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

I went to this hotel with 3 friends for 4 days(Tuesday to Friday)We were very pleased to find that the hotel lived up to all our expectations, and that the pictures shown on the website were accurate.The bedrooms were very comfortable and had lots of added extras like toothbrush, toothpaste and, tissues. We opted to have breakfast in the hotel and this was the best decision we made. There was a wide variety of food from fresh and tinned fruits , bacon, scrambled eggs, a variety of cheeses and ham, smoked salmon and various cakes and pastries. All washed down with fresh orange juice and tea or coffee. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. The only downside was that our rooms were at the front of the hotel over the front door and there was some noise from people talking loudly while smoking outside.Don't let this put you off, just ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
I would certainly stay at this hotel if I go to Madrid again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed at Maria Elena for 4 days (mon to thur)at the beginning of November,We got a good deal when booking bed & breakfast twin room. Arrived at hotel before noon, (official check in time) were checked in immediately, there was no delay or waiting very helpful staff, given maps, they also told us that we could buy hop on/off tkts there also. The room was fine, no extra pillows/bedding(we didn’t bother to ask but in most hotels they are in storage area) I had seen other reviews where they mentioned that the beds weren’t very comfortable and I agree, but obviously good for back problems, I slept great. The power shower was great in bathroom and all the usual goodies.
Breakfast was buffet continental usual selection of cereals etc, croissants/pastries could have been more plentiful & fresher. We didn’t have any other meals in hotel so can’t comment on that. We had a late evening flight and the hotel stored our luggage for us no problem.
Internet was available for a fee in lobby. Overall I would say hotel was ok, don’t think it was 4* but location is great between Grand Via & Sol while being on a quiet street, we didn’t have any noise from night club that other reviews mentioned.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We booked this hotel centrally through the hotel’s own website, which had an English translation option. Room was booked with “card to hold” and after enquiring with the reception by email was informed it would be perfectly acceptable to pay on the day in cash.

The hotel is centrally located, just off Puerto del Sol in the centre of Madrid, close to all the amenities you could need. Although the hotel is located in a side street, it is well lit and did not pose any problems getting to in the dark. There were a number of small bars and restaurants in the immediate area but we did not experience any noise from them during the night.
Check in was quick and efficient, the lobby area of the hotel quite fitted a four star establishment. Our room was located at the rear of the hotel, overlooking the central lobby area and was clean and well furnished, although a little dated and “flowery” for our tastes. The beds were very firm, which is to my liking but the pillows, although I imagined to be very expensive were not to my liking being of a “memory foam” construction. However, this is purely my opinion and I am sure there are many more people who would find them very comfortable.

The bathroom was small but well fitted, including a power shower which was very good. The inclusive “goodies” were very well received, including all the usual, shower gel, bath gels and soaps as well as a shoe horn and a sewing kit, which I very rarely see outside a five star hotel in London.

All in all, a very good four star hotel and for a hotel so close to all that Madrid has to offer, a very good price too.

Room Tip: Room 414 could not be faulted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here for the weekend with my husband, room was very small, we informed hotel when we booked that we were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary, they kindly sent us a bottle of champayne to our room but at the back of the hotel there is a nightclub and the noise from this goes on upto about 6am in the morning, so making it impossible to get any sleep, such a shame as it is a nice hotel, so I would not recommend this hotel to anybody

Room Tip: maybe the rooms in the front of the hotel are less noisey maybe somebody else reading this that has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teresa186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed at the hotel for three nights and on the whole was pleased with it. The hotel itself and our room were lovely, and the location to all the sights could not be better. However it is next door to a nightclub called the Moondance which opens in the early hours and does not close until 6am. Whilst it is open there are crowds of people out on the street right outside the hotel making an absolute racket. If you are a heavy sleeper as my friend was you'll probably be fine - if not, like me, you really will be awake all night. I'm not sure what nights in the week the club opens, it was open the Friday and Saturday nights but not the Sunday. If the noise was out of the equation I would recommend this hotel, so would certainly advise requesting a room at the back on arriving

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel was ideally situated for a city break to Madrid being 5 mins walk from Sevilla metro (the best way by far to get from the airport). It could easily be a great hotel with a bit of effort. The staff do not appear interested - maid on her phone in our room, no bathhrobes, no tea/coffee making, receptionist unable to find me a plaster, requested quiet room was not ready on arrival, waiting staff push in front of clients and cooked breakfast choice poor to name a few instances. The sheet did not tuck into the bed on both sides and the window seems a hazard as it opens fully into the room. The bar prices - 15 euros for a spirit/liqueur - very steep.
Having said this we enjoyed our break and would suggest it as a central hotel but eat dinner elsewhere!

Room Tip: Inside rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#107 of 437 in Madrid
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#37 of 437 in Madrid
724 reviews
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Casa de la Lirica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Casa de la Lirica

Address: Calle Aduana 19, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £81 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Casa de la Lirica 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurostars Casa de la Lírica is located just 150 m from Puerta del Sol, the largest area of stores and shopping centers of Madrid and situated in the Art Triangle of the city (Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Art Centre and Thyssen Bornemisza Museum)A total of 83 rooms 6 of them Junior Suites equipped with complete bath, shower with hidromassage column,telephone, individual air conditioning, international channels TV, free WiFi, minibar (chargeable) and free safe and room service.Our Charm : Elegance combined with maximum comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eurostars Casa de la Lirica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Elena Palace Madrid
Hotel Maria Elena Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing