We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel in good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Casa de la Lirica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Ranked #203 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average hotel in good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The location of Maria Elena is perfect for visiting Madrid. Everything on walking distance and just few steps from Puerta del Sol. Unfotunately this location is also quite problematic in the night. The rooms are very noisy because of people walking around untill 3-4 a.m. The staff were quite friendly. Check-in process was fast. Our room was spacious but the decor and furniture are old fashioned. The bathroom was also outdated and need some renovation. No free Wifi in the room. Expensive and quite poor breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danuts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    327
    158
    59
    32
See reviews for
150
322
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is in a perfect position for Sol and Gran Via, also Metro.
However we found our room less than perfect 512
Ie. Door difficult to open as handle had taken some traffic.
Door on wardrobe creaked when opened, and lighting in bathroom poor.
Also shower was old and falling apart.
We did not buy WI FI as it cost €10 per day, and it is free in El Corte Inglese,also most restaurants !
The room safe was also €10 per day!
On the positive the breakfast was very good and plenty full , and the staff helpfully when asked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Johnne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPTOCOMERCIALCHH, Gerente at Eurostars Casa de la Lirica, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Mr. Johnne G,

We take into account we should repair the door from the room 512 and also change the lighting int he bathroom.

About our Wifi we have free Wifi four our guests in the lobby of the hotel. Also the safe is free of charge in the room and in our repception department.

We hope to see you again in our hotel next time you visit Madrid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4days in June. The Hotel is in an excellent location in fact we walked to the main tourist sites. We stared off in a front room but the noise from the club below was dreadful and lasted well into the early hours. The hotel moved our room without hesitation but the second room bathroom was not as good as the first the shower did not work correctly. That said I would recommend this hotel the accommodation and breakfast for the price is extremely good value

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Giraffefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed here 1 night on business and my complaints were as follows:
1) tiny, pokey double room
2) Hole in the wall
3) Phone line was so bad I could not talk to reception
4) I woke up to find there was no hot water. It was eventually fixed after 1 hour by which time I had to leave for a meeting.

A shame as the staff were evidently embarrassed and tried to manage the situation as best they could and also a great location!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just spent 3 great days in Madrid and the Maria Elena Palace was a perfect place to stay in... central location, good size room and fair price... thanks to the well mannered and professional hotel staff we really had a great time but I must point out the poor mentality of the hotel management that forbids front desk staff from recommending or even make reservations in restaurants other then the hotel's own. Thanks to the initiative of the staff who used their own private mobile phones to call we had dinner in some of the best restaurants in Madrid and will probably choose the same hotel on our next visit to Madrid... the hotel offers free WiFi in the public areas but charges a ridiculous € 20 for 3 days use in the room...... it's a shame that such short sighted hotel direction still exists....

Room Tip: Rooms on the front tend to be noisy... rooms on the back have lots of light and are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Good rooms. Small in size but exactly what you need. Informative staff at reception willing to assist. Shame wifi isn't included, it's 2013 and I can get it for free in the plazas so why not in a hotel where I'm paying to be a guest? Otherwise would highly recommend. Great breakfasts too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellyanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel for four nights in early may,the staff are very friendly,the breakfast buffet is excellent with a large variety of food.
I would say its a really lovely hotel but just a bit upmarket for what we are used to,we are a well travelled couple in our forties,but this was just a bit expensive for drinks etc,but none the less a very lovely hotel right in the heart of madrid,just around the corner from puerto de sol square and you could get cheap drinks and food or you could pay a packet,just look around.
Would recommend hotel,but buy drinks and food outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#148 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Centro
Vincci Centrum
Vincci Centrum
#90 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Casa de la Lirica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Casa de la Lirica

Property: Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Address: Calle Aduana 19, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Casa de la Lirica 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurostars Casa de la Lírica is located just 150 m from Puerta del Sol, the largest area of stores and shopping centers of Madrid and situated in the Art Triangle of the city (Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Art Centre and Thyssen Bornemisza Museum)A total of 83 rooms 6 of them Junior Suites equipped with complete bath, shower with hidromassage column,telephone, individual air conditioning, international channels TV, free WiFi, minibar (chargeable) and free safe and room service.Our Charm : Elegance combined with maximum comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Eurostars, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Casa de la Lirica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Elena Palace Madrid
Hotel Maria Elena Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing