We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Ranked #236 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent central hotel”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here on a short break to Madrid. When we stayed here before we were in a room at the back of the hotel The room was very clean although rather small and the down side was that at night the local "youths" gathered revving their motorbikes and playing loud music. Not a fault of the hotel, but the parents of those involved. The hotel moved us and we could not fault this room. With this in mind, we asked not to be given a room at the back of the hotel. We were allocated what can only be described as a fantastic room 7004. Large, clean, with a huge very comfortable bed. The room had a balcony looking out onto Gran Via. It was noisy, which is to be expected with the location, but the double glazing was efficient and we had no trouble sleeping. Breakfast buffet excellent. Staff courteous, smart, friendly and professional. If you want a central location then give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Jane W,

On behalf of our entire TRYPers team, i want to thank you for the nice words that you told us about your stay with us. We love to read you enjoyed your stay thanks to our central location, large room and friendly staff and we hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you for having chosen us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    407
    182
    79
    45
See reviews for
220
366
52
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staines
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Not a bad hotel but the reception was always pretty chaotic. There are only two lifts so at busy times it could be quite a wait. Our room was pretty small but had everything required. There was a balcony but it was very tatty and had no furniture on it so couldn't sit out there. Best thing about the hotel was the location right on the Gran Via and their buffet breakfast which was wonderful. Certainly didn't seem like a 4 star hotel though.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner room near the lifts which is what we had - very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paxcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Paxcot,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen us sharing your opinion at Tripadvisor. We are sorry to know that the room did not fulfill your expectations. We want to let you know that your review is considered by our Gest Experience Department to assure a perfect next stay. Please, do not hesitate to contact us when you come back to Madrid and your experience will be improved!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
877 reviews
276 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was with a group and was originally assigned Room 7711. It was definitely a single room and unfortunately smelled of cigar smoke. Luckily I was able to change rooms to 7705 which had three beds. The bathroom was smallish, but well designed. The room had lots of natural light as well as good reading lights, and faced a side street, and I could see a bit of the Gran Via. Cable TV had several English language channels including BBC, CNBC and al-Jazera news. Wi-fi was good.

I peeked into Room 7001 while it was being cleaned and this corner room is super roomy and looks out onto the Gran Via.

The buffet breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Look at a few rooms before you accept one -- especially if you are a single. They will want to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
”Thank you for your excellent rating”On behalf of our entire TRYPers team, I want to thank you for the nice words that you told us about your stay in TRYP MADRID MENFIS”
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Flew ovenight from NYC and arrived at hotel around 11am,they had a room ready and kindly let me check nice and early so I could grab some much needed sleep before my afternoon meetings....
Hotel is in a good city centre location on the Grand via...rooms are large,clean and comfortable...could prob do with updating but that shouldn't put you off ,especially as price very good on Agoda....
Breakfast was good,a wide selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E- Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Dansimons,

On behalf of our entire TRYPers team, I want to thank you for the nice words that you told about your stay in Tryp Madrid Menfis. It is a pleasure that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and early check in. We hope you visit us again soon, and this time instead of working you could be able to live the city to the fullest with your family or friends!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

spent 2 nights here in Sept - also tried next door 2 nights Tryp Washington - this one is MUCH better. newer, cleaner, and a great balcony on Gran Via where you can watch the rivers of people in motion. chose this location as it is near the departure for Julia Tours both 1 day and multi-day. it's all shopping district - did find a tiny market for beverages - go out turn left,cross Gran Via and it's your 2nd right. the deli Don Jamon also on your left as you go out is great for 'fast food'. only complaint with this hotel is that they don't have any kind of ramp to pull your bag into the reception and silly doors to hold open as well. no-one even helped my 79 yr mother haul her bag up the stairs. had no breakfast option when reserving this room but at check-in was given an option o 9 euro a person - quite reasonable.

Room Tip: get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E- Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear CatinRzeszow,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to have been chosen, so that you could live the city to the fullest on your visit. We understand your complain about the entrance and I assure that your comments are very important for us and considered. However we are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just back from a short break to Madrid staying in a family room in the Tryp Menfis. We chose the hotel for its central location and family room and neither disapointed. Plenty of room for two adults and two teenage children in the room. Very central for shopping, theatres, parks, the Royal Palace was only a ten minute walk and great access to the Metro system.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Bristolrobinson,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. It´s a pleasure for us to read your comments about the good service you received at Tryp Madrid Menfis. I will report them to our team. I am sure that they will feel really proud as your satisfaction and comfort is our most important aim! Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next trip to Madrid and we will recommend you some of our new routes Own the City. You´ll love them!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

When you are traveling to a city like Madrid this is exactly what you want: Excellent location, great breakfast, and comfortable beds!
Located in the center where all the action is: Theaters, tablaos, tapas bars, little restaurants with delicious food, in La Gran Vía street and at walking distance to, Plaza del Sol, Plaza de España, all the popular Spanish chain stores (Zara, Corte Inglés, Tous..), with a Madrid Vision buses stop, near tour agencies for one day visit to El Escorial, Segovia, Alhambra.....
The buses Madrid Vision are a good choice, they have 3 routes and you can spend the day visiting the city, the museums (El Prado, Thysen, Reina Sofía), other city attractions, and don´t fear to stay out at night till the last bus, because they will drop you in front of the Menfis hotel.
As I said: Location! Location! Location!
The hotel has just what you need and in Madrid you will spend your days outside, there is so much to see!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MARIA LORRAINE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Google Translation
“Muchísimas gracias por tu excelente valoración”

“En nombre de todo nuestro equipo quiero agradecerte las bonitas palabras que nos has destinado sobre tu estancia con nosotros”
“Estos comentarios nos dan ilusión y fuerza para seguir realizando nuestro trabajo diario y ofrecer a nuestros apasionados viajeros en su visita a la ciudad, experiencias inolvidables”

“Compartiré tu opinión con todos nuestros viajeros, pues no hay mejor forma de empezar el lunes.
Un saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
#269 of 436 in Madrid
944 reviews
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Chamberi
Hotel Exe Moncloa
Hotel Exe Moncloa
#194 of 436 in Madrid
610 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#168 of 436 in Madrid
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel

Property: Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Address: Calle Gran Via 74, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Madrid
#148 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana lies in the heart of Madrid, among the high buildings and shops on Gran Via, and just a short walk from Plaza de Espana, the royal palace, Puerta del Sol, the Retiro park and the main museums. This perfect location makes Tryp Menfis the perfect place for your business and leisure stays. Whether you are alone or with your family, you are never more than a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Madrid
Sol Melia Menfis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing