We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madrid break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Ranked #239 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norfolk
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Madrid break”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights - it was a good location for everything. It was only about 200 yds from the Metro - we used this to come from the Airport and it was really easy - Line 8 and then change to Line 10 to Plaza de Espana - only took 30 minutes and cost less than 5 euros each. There were plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby - next door to TGI Fridays, and the area was safe. Check in was very quick and helpful - free WiFi is available. The room was large and clean but a little worn - it had a safe and mini fridge, but no tea and coffee making facilities. The beds were large and comfortable with a choice of large pillows. Our room had a small balcony which was nice for some fresh air. It was unseasonably hot during our visit and unfortunately the air con was not switched on until later in the year. Breakfast can be bought and the choice is very good. Easy to get to lots of attractions but probably the best way to do it is to use the Hop on Hop off bus which stops on Gran Via and you can buy the ticket on the bus - we bought a 2 day ticket and saw everything and more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norfolktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Norfolktravellers,

It has been a pleasure to read your kind comments! We are really glad that you enjoy the city so much, making the most of all our close attractions. Thank you also for underlining you liked our rooms and the helpfulness of our staff at the front office. Referring to the temperature of your room, we apologize for all the inconveniences. As you explain there is cold air during the warm months and heating during the cold ones. However there is always the option of switch it off to assure all our guests ‘comfort. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit to Madrid! We would like to share you our recommendations and secret places in Madrid as you enjoy the city even more! We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    399
    180
    77
    43
See reviews for
216
359
49
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I spend a couple of days with my husband in Madrid at the end of 2013. We stayed at this hotel and was wonderfull because everything was clean, personal staff very grateful and the best it is the situation: You can go walking to everywhere...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Inmaculad... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Maria Inmaculada,

Thank you very much for this nice review! We love to know that you had such a good end of last year with us. I will share your comments with the whole staff; they will fell really proud and happy. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit to Madrid, we will be glad to welcome you again!

Receive our best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
622 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel is located near the Plaza de España metro station on the Gran Vía, a strone's throw away from Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. The lobby is not impressive, but staff is friendly and efficient. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzalo_de_Berceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Gonzalo_De_Berceo,

First of I would like to thank you for having chosen us as for your excellent rating! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us thanks to our wonderful location and comfortable rooms. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff, I will report your comments to the whole team, they will feel really happy! Please let us know your next visit to Madrid, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend mid January and found both the hotel location and room excellent. Easy metro ride from the airport to Plaza de Espana stop and location ride by the exit on the Gran Via, only hotel signage is over the door but it is right beside the National Geographic shop. Hotel lobby airy and welcoming. Checkin was a tad slow as they enter all your passport information as per Spanish law.

Allocated room on the 6th floor overlooking a side street. Good sized room and comfortable beds. Bathroom was compact but clean. Small balcony over looking the surrounding area but not of much use in the rain. The wifi which was free with room rate was a little slow but worked. Overall, very impressed for the price paid which was a little over 59e a night. Compared to some hotels in the Gran Via it looks like they have spent some money on making it modern and also the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast was not included in the rate but there are plenty of cafés nearby for coffee, juice and croissant/ tostada. The location is great, easy to walk to everywhere and plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. Do sign up for the Melia rewards card for discount on the room rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear UncleDom,

Thank you very much for your good review! We are very glad that you spent a nice time with us and that you liked your room and our central location, close form the most important attractions. Thank you also for underlining our personal friendliness, the whole team will fell very happy after reading you kind words. Finally I would like to let you know that we take good note of your suggestions about check in length and wifi connection to assure that your next visit is totally perfect.

We hope you can stay with us again very soon and we recommend you to try our varied breakfast next time, you´ll repeat!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is in a prime location and offers very good value compared to others nearby. The breakfast has a good choice offered in the price.If you get a room facing the Grand Via then, like other hotels in the area, you should expect some street noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank elderflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear elderflo,

Thank you very much for your kind comments! Specially about our varied breakfast and wonderful location! We really look forward to welcoming you very soon, we would like to prepare a nice quite room for you and your stay will be unforgettable next time! Please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parede, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very central location, but noisy rooms because of modest and old window insulation.
Spacious rooms but tiny bathroom. Clean but cheap construction materials.
Very good breakfast.
Lobby disappointing, but staff friendly, specially Rocio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Diogo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Diogo A,

Thank you for your excellent review! It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our central location and spacious rooms. Thank you also for underlining the friendliness of our staff, our colleague will fell really happy! We take into account your comments about noise isolation as your satisfaction is our most important aim. Do not hesitate to contact us and we will prepare a quiet room especially for you!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel was very comfortable, affordable, well served by Metro and buses and there was something for everyone.

It was located on the Gran Via which is the hippest street in Madrid. We arrived by Metro after a 45 minute ride on a spanking new and colorful train in the Metro from Barajas airport. We walked out of the Metro and onto the Gran Via. We walked about 20 feet and there we were at our hotel entrance. There were people ahead of us for check-in but it didn't take very long for us to be attended to and the reception personnel spoke excellent English.

We had a back room on the 7th floor with a balcony with railing overlooking apartments and offices which gave a feel for the local atmosphere. We had a comfortable double bed with a down comforter, a good-sized TV, a desk and free internet access. The bathroom, though small, was clean and beautiful with a sink, toilet and bathtub with shower. We had a large closet with a safe to store valuables. There was a gym and a buffet breakfast included in the cost. It was served from 7:30am to10:30am. You are welcomed into the dining room by smiling, uniformed personnel who check you in. You got served coffee with warm milk by a waiter/waitress, if you wanted. There was a wide assortment of delights like churros, quiche with salsa on the side, cheese, scrambled or hard-boiled eggs, yoghurt, a variety of fruit and juices, pastries, cakes.

There were many restaurants located nearby to whet any palate. On the same side of the hotel there are Spanish tapas restaurants, American McDonalds and TGI Fridays, a Chinese restaurant and an all you can eat restaurant across the street serving paellas as one of the many offerings for a very reasonable price. Outdoor cafes lined both sides of the street and it was filled with people from the early evening into the night although we didn't hear any noise having had a back room. There are many ornate buildings which are a feast for the eyes. There are a variety of shops; a Western Union if you need to exchange currency, wide, clean boulevards, beautiful fountains. La Cibeles Castle is about a 2 mile walk and you can also walk to the world class museums like the Prado and the Thyssen Bornemisza or take the bus. The people are gorgeous, warm and friendly.

The Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel is a great choice price-wise with excellent service, great breakfast offerings, nice rooms and is centrally located. Try it, you'll not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a back room or front room has views of a grand street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank docevida_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Colette C,

On behalf of our entire Tryp Menfis´ team I want to thank you for the nice words you told about us. We love you enjoyed your stay with us due to our central location, clean and comfortable rooms, varied breakfast and gym service! Moreover It is a pleasure to read your comments about our personnel, I will transmit them your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
#267 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#156 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#102 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
NH Madrid Zurbano
#110 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel

Property: Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Address: Calle Gran Via 74, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Madrid
#151 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana lies in the heart of Madrid, among the high buildings and shops on Gran Via, and just a short walk from Plaza de Espana, the royal palace, Puerta del Sol, the Retiro park and the main museums. This perfect location makes Tryp Menfis the perfect place for your business and leisure stays. Whether you are alone or with your family, you are never more than a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Madrid
Sol Melia Menfis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing