We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,117)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveller rating
262
462
226
99
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
462
226
99
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffet isexcellent locationmetro stationnice roomroyal palacewithin walking distancetapasdouble bedpuerta del soltrypgranspainoperaminibarearplugspalacio
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Was very close to Plaza de España, Gran Via, and metro stations. Made it very convenient when visiting. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good at a reasonable price. The staff was also very pleasant. Not a big deal since, but the WiFi is a little slow (it is free though, so can't complain).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Jeremy R

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff. We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality. As you know it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.
We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Best Regards,

Lucía López Hidalgo
Gest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is modern design in the center near grand via. Breakfast is very good, when asked gutter free bred and cake are served.
In the room need to ask non smokers is you mind, I had 2 single dads for single that I prefer less
Summary - very good place

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Tom G

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon!!!

Thank you very much again a have a nice week


Lucía López Hidalgo
Guest experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The hotel is in a wonderful location: pretty much any place in Madrid centre can be reached in 20 mins walk. The subway is 30 meters away and it takes 40 mins to the airport with only one change. Plenty of bars and restaurants around together with theatres. Royal palace is 10 mins walk away also parks are within easy reach. The rooms are spacious for Gran Via standards and the breakfast buffet is excellent. It is a very busy hotel so sometimes the staff does not have enough time (or manners) but it is overall understandable. Will go back if I am in the area in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the back corners: the main street can be noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fabercas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Fabercas

Thank you very much for your comments.We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you!

Thanks again and have a nice week end

Lucía López Hidalgo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Stayed here for a overnight stay in May as my regular hotel was full. Was pleasantly surprised by this property and will stay here again. The room size was very generous and the double bed had a fabulous mattress. Lots of charging points located all over the room for convenience. Bathroom was compact but not cramped. Good sized work space. Room had a small balcony overlooking Gran Via.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Niladri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Dear Niladri M

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff. We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.
Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Best Regards,

Lucía López Hidalgo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Excellent city centre location.
Staff pleasant. Room large , well furnished and clean,although possibly due for a repainted. Buffet breakfast good with plenty of variety. The WIFI was free but slightly slow. Overall a pretty decent chain hotel.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank jonathan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear jonathan w

Thank you very much for your comments. It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Thanks again and have a nice week!

Lucía López Hidalgo
Guest Expirience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews