We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor(Madrid)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Ganivet Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,095)
Filter reviews
1,095 results
Traveller rating
255
458
223
96
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
458
223
96
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffet isexcellent locationmetro stoproom facingnice roomroyal palaceeuros per nightyogurthotel roomtapasdouble bedpuerta del soltrypgranspainoperaminibar
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,095 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile


Hello, I stayed at the hotel with my family for one night. I did not like the condition of the room. Part of the wall was painted. Door leading to the terrace was jammed in the bottom. The top right hand side of the bathroom door is broken. The savannah with holes. The old cochon of docks. The truth for the price paid is not worth it. The room needs a makeover. The location of the hotel 9. The best receptionists of the afternoon shift. Very friendly, attentive and professional, at the height of 4 stars. Mention also for the breakfast waitress, friendly and attentive. For the staff, you could go back to the hotel, not the room. Hab 8805

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank spetsnaz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUCIA L, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear spetsnaz48,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the time spent in giving us feedback on your experience with us.

We regret that room did not live up to your expectations. Your observations are a great help in our daily effort to improve and achieve our main goal, which is to achieve the full satisfaction of our customers. We are going to report this comments to the responsible of the department.

On the other hand, we are glad to hear that you like our privilege location.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and change your impressions!

Kind regards,

Lucía López Hidalgo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located on Gran Via, a few steps from Plaza de España, and a metro station with the same name, also a few steps from Santo Domingo metro station, and many places like Palacio Real and Almudena Cathedral, Opera, Callao and Puerta del Sol.

Very close to theaters, cinemas, shops and restaurants.

The lobby is small, but has a restaurant one floor up and sitting area. The rooms are spacious, clean and many have great views. Our room was very nice, with a great view and had a minibar.

The staff is friendly and always willing to help. Special thanks to Santiago, who was corteous and always had a smile.

If you reserve in advance, you can get a great price for a nice room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUCIA L, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Pablo R,

Thank you so much for your kind coments!

It is a pleasure for us to know that the privilege location, close to the main tourist attractives, commercial area and few minutes from the city center, the breakfast and the hotel facilities, exceed your expectations. I will share your comments with the whole team and specially with Santiago.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Lucía López Hidalgo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stay 3 nights in July 2017 during family vacation.
Good, clean and modern hotel.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Location is great, close to plaza Callao Lots of shopping and places to eat.
Will definitely go back

Room Tip: Walking distance to shopping and restaurants
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ISAIAS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear ISAIAS S

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff. We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality. As you know it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.
We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Best Regards,

Lucía López Hidalgo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Was very close to Plaza de España, Gran Via, and metro stations. Made it very convenient when visiting. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good at a reasonable price. The staff was also very pleasant. Not a big deal since, but the WiFi is a little slow (it is free though, so can't complain).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Jeremy R

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff. We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality. As you know it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.
We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Best Regards,

Lucía López Hidalgo
Gest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is modern design in the center near grand via. Breakfast is very good, when asked gutter free bred and cake are served.
In the room need to ask non smokers is you mind, I had 2 single dads for single that I prefer less
Summary - very good place

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Hotel Plaza Espana by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Tom G

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon!!!

Thank you very much again a have a nice week


Lucía López Hidalgo
Guest experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews