We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
262
461
226
99
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
461
226
99
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffet isexcellent locationmetro stationnice roomroyal palaceeuros per nightwithin walking distanceyogurttapasdouble bedpuerta del soltrypgranoperaminibarearplugspalacio
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2007

Hotel was clean, good location. Fine for a short weekend stay.

However, as per another review - back of hotel fills up with young people playing very loud music / lots of shouting. Police were apparently called, but they started up again after police left.

We made our booking through the Venere website, the price quoted included breakfast. However this was not communicated to the hotel and despite showing them our confirmatory email, they were adamant that we should pay for breakfast. Eventually the staff called their reservations person for help and then agreed to include breakfast in the quoted price - however, we were made to feel that this was our problem rather than a problem between the website who made the booking and the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kiwi88london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

We spent three nights at this hotel. We were given a room on the second floor of the hotel facing the parking lot in the rear of the hotel. The parking lot fills up with young people after midnight and these people drink, yell and scream and play loud music until 4:30AM. We were unable to sleep the first two nights that we were there. The hotel staff did very little to correct the situation and were rude to my wife when we came to the lobby on the second evening to complain about the noise. The hotel reluctantly moved us to a different room for our third night after we insisted that we be moved to a different room. The hotel has a bar that never seemed to be open and no one offered to help with our bags when we arrived.

If you do decide to stay at the hotel, insist that they give you a room on one of the higher floor facing Calle Gran Via. On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location and the rooms are modern and clean.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank JImboChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

My best friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in June, with plans to use it as a base to sleep whilst having 24/7 fun. There are so many Tryp hotels to choose from in Madrid we ended up going for a 4 star which was only a tiny bit more expensive than a three star just up the road.

When we arrived at about midnight the guy who checked us in was amusing and took his time and somehow registered us as Danish men, (we're two British girls!) but apart from that it was problem free.

The room was clean and the beds incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but clean with everything we needed and this did give us a more spacious room.

Despite the hotel being in the thick of everything on the busy Gran Via, we didn't find it at all noisy at night and the only negative I could find was that the air con didn't seem to get particularly cool and it was 30 degree heat that weekend.

I would highly recommend the Menfis if you are looking for a centrally located hotel which offers everything you need and is within walking distance of bars galore. (Try the happy hour at TGIs amazing choice and really cheap!)

We're already planning our return trip next year. :)

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buffgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night in mid june and we had a very pleasant experience.

We hadn’t booked in advance, but there was no problem. We checked availability and rates of this hotel by internet (because we had been there about one year and a half ago and we had had a very good stay there) and then we went directly to the hotel. Once we arrived, the man at the reception told us that the price was higher at reception than in internet, but he was very kind and he also informed us that if we wanted the internet rate, we could do the booking by phone at the moment and then do the checking immediately afterwards with the discount price. As he said, we phoned from the reception with our mobile phone and it worked out perfectly.

We stayed in nice, new and big new room on the second floor (the whole hotel was being renewed by the first time we had stayed there). I loved the decoration, simple but modern. It makes you feel very comfortable.
Our room windows were facing Gran Via which is a noisy street but the truth is that from the room, with the windows closed (room well tempered, air conditioning, heating…), we did not realise of the traffic noise at night.

Location: Great. The hotel is just few steps from Plaza España and from a couple of metro lines. 15 minutes walking from Plaza del Sol and Plaza Mayor. There are plenty of places to have lunch or dinner near the hotel as well as the main shopping area. There are lots of theatres in Gran Via if you want to enjoy a good play, too.

I’ve been to this hotel twice, I would repeat without hesitating and I would recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

Stayed at the Mefis for one Friday night and was very happy with the hotel. As Expedia did not offer breakfast included, I booked direct with the hotel website which offered breakfast at no extra cost!

The room I was allocated was on the 6th floor, very large, clean, modern and had a wonderful large balcony overlooking the Gran Via. Despite being on the Gran Via there was no problem with noise.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have seen, great selection, all the usual offering including wonderful pastries.

The location is excellent, 2 min from Plaza Espana metro station and within walking distance of all the main areas.

If you're staying in Madrid for a long weekend or on buisness, the Mefis is an excellent choice, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bosques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews