We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Praga
Ranked #310 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a total of 6 days. The first room was small and a bit uncomfortable, but not too bad. On the other 5 days they gave my mother and I a very spacious room, which was a good upgrade from the first one. The room and the bathroom were spotless. A clean bathroom is very important. The staff were courteous and very nice. All of them were friendly, The ones in the cafeteria, the front desk, the gentleman who gave me my suitcase from storage, the ladies from housekeeping. You have a very friendly staff. When I asked for more pillows and blankets, they brought the to my room very quickly. I have nothing but nice things to say. The hotel is close to city center by bus, taxi and METRO. I loved the neighborhood were the hotel was, very quaint. I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Praga, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone. Keep up the good work

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Profesora5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Although the Praga lacks a grand façade we found it a good base for our trip to Madrid. The room was large and clean with excellent air conditioning. The staff at the desk were helpful, although their English was limited.The free wifi worked very well. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. There is a frequent bus service into the city centre, and the Prado and Reina Sofia museums are not too far away. There were a large variety of tapas bars just up the street, so eating out was easy. The only downside was the large bus groups who check in and out fairly frequently; the trick is to approach the staff when the lobby is relatively empty and get all your queries answered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranjan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I found this hotel to be very comfortable. It is about 4 blocks from the Marques de Vedillo metro station (which is a straight line to Chueca). The neighborhood was mostly small shops with a supermarket across the street.

The room was very clean with a very large shower/tub combo. The water pressure was great and the tub long enough for a large 5'10 guy to be comfortable.

If you book, get the breakfast which was incredible! The maitre'd gave me a tray to take upstairs to my mom on the day we arrived, because she was going to miss it.

My only downside was that it apparently is heavily tour group oriented and sometimes the front desk gets buried under these groups. This only happened to us once the entire stay, but I imagine it happens more often during the tourist season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Madrid.

The room was comfortable and clean with a spacious bathroom. Reception staff were somewhat impersonal, they didn't volunteer information, but would tell you if you asked.

There is a bus stop right outside that can take you to central Madrid, but it is also an easy half hour walk.

This hotel seems to cater to large bus tours where dozens and dozens of people, all needing assistance with over-sized suitcases converge on the reception area and clog the lifts and restaurant. If you need help from staff, or want to order food (or even get in and out the door!) at these times you are probably out of luck. This happened at least three times during my short stay.

An adequate hotel and a reasonable price, but you could probably find something with a bit more charm somewhere else.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at the Praga hotel from 17th - 21st October. The location of the hotel was about 30 mins walk from the plaza Mayor, but there is a bus outside every 10/15mins to take you to the centre of Madrid.

Our room was quiet and spacious, the breakfast was buffet style with great orange juice and coffee! The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the view from our room which overlooked a carpark and a block of apartments BUT the newly created park 2 mins walk from the hotel was lovely to relax in.

I certainly recommend this hotel and it is great value for money.

Room Tip: we requested a top end room and got it. It was quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fionabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The breakfast room was complete chaos as 400+ rooms full of people all descended on the place at exactly 7AM. This hotel is where tour groups stay and as a result, hundreds are all leaving at the same time (eating at the same time, trying to get on the small elevators at the same time, etc.) We stayed there at the end of our tour and it was not as chaotic. Our sliding glass door to the patio would not lock. The location is not the greatest and we felt it was a bit sleazy. The beds were not very comfortable, street noise was very loud, and a bad night of sleep was the result. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel pre and post Cosmos tour. Before the tour we stayed one night before the tour started and we weren't impressed at all. There were two single beds in the room and they were very small single beds, and it was a very noisy room with water running all night long from pipes that should have been in a service duct. We did go to reception and ask for another room, but none were available. The next morning they did move us to a room with a king bed which was good and quiet this time. The breakfasts were good, buffet style, but very long queue the first morning to actually get your food, due to we presume lots of tour groups all wanting to have breakfast at the same time. After the tour we stayed here again and had a room with a balcony overlooking the main street where the hotel is located. Good location for the hotel, easy walking distance to the main shopping in Madrid. As well as lots of shops around the hotel. There was a safe in the hotel room but you had to pay a deposit to get the key to use the safe. You did get all the deposit back upon checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides
0.5 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#390 of 440 in Madrid
217 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Madrid Calle 30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Legazpi
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#247 of 440 in Madrid
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Conchita Legazpi
Hostal Conchita Legazpi
#322 of 440 in Madrid
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: Calle Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £48 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hoteles Santos , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing