We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in style and top location”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #42 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bern
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel in style and top location”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We booked the hotel on a recommendation by a local business partner. Our stay was a mix of business and recreation.
We did ask for a "quiet room, non smoking". Upon checking in, everything looked perfect, although we were on a smoking floor. But the room was nice and very spacious.
The first night we had a lot of noise around 4-6am as our room was obvioulsy very close to the employees wardrobe or some other service room. The next day we asked for a more quiet room
and this was no problem. The new room was a bit smaller, higher floor, but smoking room again. Anyway, the initial smoking smell we covered quickly with our own (my wife's nice perfume) and the following two nights we slept without problem.
The internet service is a bit old fashioned. We had the internet included in our package, but we had to ask for a new access and re-enter the code every 24 hours. And it allowed only one work-station to be active simultaneously... That was a little disturbing....
The pool-area is located in an inner court-yard with a very nice pool-restaurant. Food is good and a pleasant location for evening drinks. The fitness centre is well equiped, clean and spacious.
The staff at the recpetion and room-cleaning are all very friendly and helpful. In the pool-restaurant we experienced everything, from top friendly to a rather arrogant and ignorant treatment by probably the most beautiful girl in Madrid (at least she was convinced she is, but she is still very young and will sure learn her lessons....).
The area around the hotel offers many nice restaurants. The city tour bus stops right in front of the hotel.
Overall we liked the hotel a lot ! And our first stay in beautiful Madrid (!) was a very good one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    427
    115
    44
    20
See reviews for
273
546
85
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basque Country
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I once stayed here last January and I was pleasantly surprised. As you know, even if the hotel has several strong points I had previously pointed out how rooms looked dated and needed some mild, albeit urgent, refurbishment. Well, we were lucky enough to be appointed a room that had indeed been renovated, and it looked remarkable. Not to mention it was a 7th-floor (I think) room with a balcony and stunning views over Madrid.

Breakfast was as wonderful as ever, by the way.

So I encourage those in charge to keep renovating the rooms in order to meet with the top standards this hotel proudly advertises.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This was a very nice hotel, and I cannot fault the service. But the years are really starting to show. The carpet and walls and bathroom are very worn. A refurb is needed. Wonderful fresh flowers in the lobby and main lobby of each floor. great service, nice cafe, wonderful pool. Location was quiet- but not ideal for sightseers. I don't have specific complaints, but would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkthepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I recently stayed here during a business trip to Madrid. The hotel was truly wonderful and made my stay in Madrid just that bit better.

The location was perfect as it was only 5 minutes away from the beautiful Buen Retiro Park and about 15 minutes walk away from our office in Madrid. In the room there was everything you could need including a mini bar, TV, complimentary toothbrush/shower cap/etc.The bed was firm, the pillows were comfortable, it was near perfect. It also had air conditioning which was quiet enough to sleep while it was cooling the room. My only criticism would be the jail-cell-like horrible shutters on the window which only raised up half way and blocked out the sun light.

My favourite part of the hotel was the bar by the pool. The staff were great and always friendly, we were given a variety of different complimentary nibbles every time we bought a bottle of wine and the wine was also reasonably priced at 14-20 Euros a bottle. The bar inside the hotel was very nice but we didn't drink in there as we preferred to be outside, plus the indoor bar was much more expensive.

We paid the extra 22 Euro for breakfast which I wasn't too impressed with. I didn't like the warm foods but I think all the sausages and bacon in Spain are like this, they just do things differently for breakfast, I like good old English sausage and bacon.

Overall I was impressed and I would stay here again. I think I would have chosen something cheaper myself, at 200 Euro a night it isn't exactly cheap, but on this occasion the cost was a company expense.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the pool, I didn't notice any of the horrid grey shutters on the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_Bold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We moved to the Wellington after 3 nights in a different hotel. Good move! The hotel is a gracious old-style establishment, staff is courteous and efficient. The beds are comfortable; linens nice and a huge deep tub with lots of hot water. Can walk to Prado, Retiro, Serrano, etc. It got hot here, and the pool is what sold us on it. Great outdoor space with an adjacent outdoor restaurant and bar. Buffet lunch was delicious, drinks generous. Right next door is a cafe where we enjoyed a great dinner (vegetable soup and poached fish). And the spa offers full service: including a CrossFit trainer (if you are a "real" CrossFitter, you won't find all the equipment you are used to).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

Great hotel - had a very nice stay for a corporate event. Food is nice, outside terrace is great, conferencing rooms are comfortable.

Decor in the rooms is a bit dated, an could so with being refreshed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We came with a University tour of 29 folks. Rooms were ready and spacious, clean with a view. Wifi free but you have to get a new password every day. Thats a little negative, but, not a biggie. Shower and bath had instant hot water. Retiro Park one block away. So all major sites for first-second timers walkable. Breakfast included at 7 in beautiful area with highly attentive staff. Desk friendly and accomodating even though tour admin messed up a three day extend stay over Memorial weekend with added problem of National Soccer playoff which filled hotel and tour contact was not available by email. Point for future ref: If you do extend with pro tour, especially one that says it specializes in Alumni tour, triple check extensions. Double check every thing else. No names here. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Pool closed in May. Back rooms have view of pool area.Front rooms have street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bajatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#33 of 436 in Madrid
2,049 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 436 in Madrid
1,892 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#33 Family Hotel in Madrid
#34 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing