We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional charm and elegance with top localization”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #53 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I’ve stay at Wellington during a business trip and is the best place to stay if you are traveling on business and also trying to enjoy the travel on your free hours. It’s near everywhere.
Also, it has an ambience of traditional luxury and a great breakfast .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyTravelling2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

Well-placed hotel close to park, museums and shopping with friendly staff, nevertheless, although the hotel retains a charm and elegance reminiscent of past times, rooms do not correspond to what one would expect of a five-star hotel. My room was in theory, a quiet one as it overlooked the interior patio. However, the sound-proofing, where one's next-door neighbour was concerned, left a lot to be desired - running water from their bathroom, snoring!!!! could be heard clearly and meant that on three out of four nights I spent there, I didn't sleep well and was woken up early in the morning. Furthermore, although the bathroom was a good size ( the only problem was the shower head which was impossible to move to re-direct jet of water) the room was quite small, a bit scuffed around the edges and the clothes rail in the wardrobe was too high for someone of average height let alone someone a little shorter.In a hotel of this level I would also have expected if not tea/coffee-making facilities, then at least complimentary mineral water. Regarding the fridge, the problem was not so much the fact that it was so full that guests could not store their own items, but that there was a notice saying that if anything was moved it would be charged directly to their account ; in short, unworthy of a five-star hotel .

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank ASm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I spent the last 3 days of my 4weeks long trip through Italy and Spain last August, and was very unimpressed! I was excited because it is a 5 star hotel, but although the architecture and decor of first floor is beautiful, the hotel is very dated and plain ugly and sad looking in the hallways.

They nickel and dime everything - the tv SUCKS and so does the wifi.

The pool was great and the beds WONDERFUL, but that is about it.

You cannot use the mini fridge to store anything, such as water you bring from outside, orr fruit, etc because if you so much as move any of the items in the fridge, they will charge you. Everything is connected to a sensor or something like that.

The front desk staff was just HORRIBLE! So unfriendly, short and unwelcoming! It was like they were doing us a favor by renting us a room.

The location is ok if you like quiet. At night it was desert - not many eating options.

The door "boy" was great and very friendly btw. I traveled with my two y old and didn't have any issue regarding that, aside the fact I could not use the fridge to store snacks for her.

Madrid itself was great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I spent 3 days in Madrid on business and vacation. The hotel is very good, in a very good area. Service is very friendly and helpful. Very nice rooms and an excellent bathroom (showers are great!)
I only found 2 problems with the room:
1) the heating control was Off/very hot/volcanic/surface of the sun.... no individual regulation, so we had to sleep with our window open during fairly cold nights.
2) the TV system was a nuisance. There is some kind of commercial offering when you turn the TV on, that makes you go through 3 very slow menus before actually watch TV. Nothing too serious.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for business travelling, not for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McRae2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I guess this hotel is pretty old. It has the space that modern hotels don't have with an open central area for the lifts and wide corridors. I arrived at night for a business meeting the next day and so did not really get to explore. My room was comfortably large and had a well fitted out bathroom. You don't see many bidets these days. The shower had a large head which I appreciate and they provide a full accessories kit. So, no worries if you forget your toothpaste! Although it was November I found the room too warm for my liking and turned the air conditioning down. This didn't seem to make any difference. I also found the pillows a bit hard and combined with the heat did not have a great night's sleep. A few more sockets would have been appreciated. I couldn't stretch the cable for my laptop over to the desk. This and the aircon is the modernisation I referred to in the title. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive although while there was pineapple and peach juice there was no grapefruit juice which I would have considered more popular.

I seem to have dwelt on my niggles but actually I enjoyed my short stay here very much as its spaciousness gives a sense of comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The hotel is located in the expensive Salamanca district (Brits could compare it to Kensington, with lots of pricey boutique shops etc.). It's on the outskirts of central Madrid and it was a 20 minute walk to the centre of Madrid (Sol). We tended to eat in central Madrid as there was more choice and better prices than the restaurants in or around the hotel. Our room faced the internal courtyard and although the view was uninspiring, the room was very quiet and the motorised black out blinds ensured we had a good sleep. Retiro park is very close as are the museums (but the main archaeological museum is closed at the moment). The room was an OK size and clean but there was an odd mix of modern and older styles. The gym is located across the central courtyard and was fairly well equipped.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with work. Hotel is spacious and clean and in a great location just off the park. Hotel is slightly dated in room layout (not many plug sockets) and bathrooms, whilst spacious, look like they were built in the 1980s. Breakfast is somewhat lacking with limited choice of "fresh" items e.g. fruit.
Free wifi helps.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberí
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#40 of 442 in Madrid
1,951 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#36 of 442 in Madrid
2,285 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#23 of 442 in Madrid
2,095 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#39 of 442 in Madrid
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#42 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £159 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing