We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old style Madrid can't be worng”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #49 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My parents came over to visit me last week and I booked a superior for them. The hotel was clearly part of the holidays for them, from the interiors to the linen and bath robe in the (big) bedroom: everithing with a singular touch that says someone did think about the details.
The hotel is not brand new, but also those feeling to be exactly in the same place where the King Juan Carlos was right before, made me feel good and somehow part of the picture.

This is also my second home in Madrid. The gym is a private one, open for external memberships and always with no crowd or line. The spa is nice too. The best part is surely the external pool in summer time: salted water (reverse osmosys system) and cobalt blue, it gives you a singular water asset when you swim under water: can't explain, need a try!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierosg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Piero,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us, for your lovely comment and high rating. We are delighted to see that you and your parents enjoyed our facilities and liked our Spa and swimming pool area. Once again, we are very glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had booked for a celebratory family holiday and were drawn to the Wellington by the spa and pool photos on the website, as well as the general appeal of the location and mostly favourable reviews online. Contrary to other reviewers, we found the service and staff to be great, friendly and helpful. The rooms were dated and rather shabby, but not unpleasant, and the beds (all sinles unfortunately in all our rooms despite booking doubles) were very comfy with quality bed linen). Unfortunately, the air con didn't work at all, but as it was not unbearably hot in mid-april, I couldn't be bothered to worry about it.
What really let the place down for us was the clear misrepresentation regarding the spas, pool and leisure facilities on the website. The pool itself was shut- understandable as it was still early season, but it was already in the high 20s when we left and it was a shame not to be able to sit out of an evening in the internal courtyard/poolside bar area. Still, this was disappointing but fair enough, although it may be more transparent of them to mention this on the website alongside all the lovely enticing images of this courtyard area.......We felt a bit cheated that our new bikinis went home bone dry!
What really took the biscuit however, was that the spa area, so flaunted in their advertising, was 25 euros per person per visit, despite being pitifully small and lame; this was not made any more palatable by the spa staff themselves, who were akin to rabid pit bulls guarding a T-bone, to the point where we felt so uncomfortable that we just left, also unfortunately not daring go back to ask about the fitness centre (which to be fair we did later learn is free for hotel guests).
In summary, the Wellington would be fine as a base for exploring the city, but not a place to spend much time. We also skipped the expensive breakfast in favour of the nice cafe-bar around the corner where we were warmly welcomed and fed, therefore cannot comment on the F&B at the Wellington.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnteEnteEnte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit to Madrid and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are very sorry to acknowledge that you did not find our website pictures, spa facilities and location of your entire satisfaction. Certainly, our swimming pool will not be opened until the beginnning of the summer season.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvinience you may have experienced and we hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I'm glad I have chosen Wellington hotel, first of all for its location. Salamanca district is elegant and quiet and we felt safe there. Hop on-hop off bus stops right in the front of the hotel, metro station few steps away, as well Retiro park or shopping area.
The hotel is very clean, with nice rooms and elegant common areas.
We had a newly renovated room - great, but it still had a smell of recently painted walls ( we had to keep the windows open all day long and even at night to feel fresh air).

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ema73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for chosing the Wellington Hotel during your last stay in Madrid. We are happy to see that you liked our location and that you found our facilities and rooms elegant and comfortable.

Regarding to your comment about the recently painted walls in your room, we really apologize for any inconvience caused. We have informed the housekeeping manager and maintance department to find a solution to this problem.

Once again we appreacite your comments as it enables us to improve and to continue offer a 5 star service to our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Elegant, good service, delicious breakfast buffet, great service.
Only complaint is that the air conditioning is centralized so one cannot control it from the room. Our room was too warm and we had to sleep with the window open for part of the night and could hear the street noise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Catherine,

We highly appreciate your positive comment and high rating. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that you liked our service and breakfast. We are glad to have met your expectations.

Regarding to your comment about the air conditioning system, we apologize for any inconvenience caused, the Maintenance Manager has been informed.

We look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here in November, 2012. While the old part of the hotel seems a bit obsolete, the new wing has been done very well. The location is central, the staff friendly and amenities good. The reception and entrance do feel luxurious. The is a taxi stand right next to the hotel which makes it very convenient. The front desk staff is very responsive nada makes you feel very welcome. A good option to stay in Madrid

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Abhijeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Abhijeet,

Thank you very much for constructive comment and high rating. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that you liked our location, staff and services. We are glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days in 2013. My husband was on a business trip and this was the perfect choice of hotel.. The Salamanca neighborhood is wonderful, and within easy walking distance of the most interesting attractions.
The hotel staff was superb and incredibly professional; the rooms were lovely, comfortable, and charming. There is an old world glamour to this hotel that is rare these days. We are now going back for a 4 day visit and are sincerely looking forward to The Wellington Hotel. There are great little restaurants nearby, and very close to the Rastro Park.
We live in Mallorca so we will definitely become regulars at The Wellington Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hakobama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your kind words and for writing this nice review about the Wellington Hotel. We are very happy to know that your recent visit in Madrid has been so pleasant and that you would choose us again. We highly appreciate your comments about our location, staff and rooms because guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I cannot express enough how wonderful this hotel is. We have been staying at this hotel now for upwards of 10 years every time we visit Madrid. nothing is too much trouble. all the saff from doorman to manager are just perfect hosts. the food is excellent and the service faultless. no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending this hotel. also perfectly situated for some of the best restaurants and shops in Madrid.

Room Tip: no such thing as a bad room at the Wellington. every time we have stayed it's been a different r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Quality, Marketing and Communication Dept. at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Jayne,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comment about our Hotel, staff, service, food and location. We are glad to see that every time you visit Madrid you choose the Wellington Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you in a near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 440 in Madrid
2,230 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 440 in Madrid
1,928 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 440 in Madrid
616 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#17 of 440 in Madrid
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#39 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £134 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing