We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly an Excellent 5 Star Hotel offering Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #40 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Truly an Excellent 5 Star Hotel offering Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were Very impressed with this Hotel. From arrival right through to departure after a five night stay we couldn't fault any aspect. Indeed on reviewing our five weeks in eleven hotels through Spain and Italy we rated The Wellington Number One. We actually were intending to break our stay here with an overnight trip to Toledo and didn't bother as we were enjoying Madrid and this hotel so much.
Front office staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. The Bell Captain was the epitome of 5* professionalism, always helpful with directions and recommendations. A fleet of taxis always ready at the curb.
The location in Salamanca is perfect, a nice change from last year when we stayed right in the city. It is near to great shopping and an array of good restaurants and bars. Being only a short cab ride to the centre of the city.. we strolled back through Parque del Retiro (a block away) on one day which was a true delight.
The pool (a most desirable feature in August) was excellent, ..plenty of facilities and efficient poolside beverage and snack service plus an adjacent shaded casual dining and bar area, with the Spa and Gym integrated adjacent.
Our suite was large, quiet, well appointed and very comfortable.
We also availed ourselves of the overnight laundry service which was again excellent.
We found every aspect of this hotel well presented and thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor overlooking the pool.. peace and quiet assured. Two good elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your fantastic comment about our Hotel, the room, staff, spa and pool among others .
We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and we would be honored to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid. Kind regards.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    410
    108
    41
    20
See reviews for
259
522
83
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This 5 star hotel is nicely located in a upscale residential area, near the Retiro park, the "Central Park" in Madrid. Rooms are ample, well fournished and comfortable. Sleep quality is good. The Kabuki restaurant is quite remarkable with a fusion spanish-japanish cuisine which I found very enjoyable. The hotel has a small outdoor swimming pool, a small gym and a small spa with jakuzi and a couple of saunas, all part of the LeMax sports club. Service is quite responsive and useful. Ratio Price / quality is one of the best in Madrid for my taste. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meridio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

From the Wellington Hotel, we would like to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We highly appreciate your comment about the rooms, location, swimming pool, spa and Restaurant Kabuki, as they motivate us to improve continuously and to offer our guests a 5-star service.
We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and we would be honored to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Truly a 5 stars. Vogue was having a fashion show when we were there so felt underdressed. Room was superb. Bed was extremely comfortable. Air conditioning system is underpowered and I could see the rooms being hot in the summer. Retiro park is really only site you can walk to. Need take cab or bus everywhere else. Hop on hop off bus stops outside the hotel. The pool is great but very cold. Hot tub is better inside the spa. Massage was average in quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler14830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

From the Wellington Hotel, we would like to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We highly appreciate your comment about the rooms, location, swimming pool and spa, as they motivate us to improve continuously and to offer our guests a 5-star service.

We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and we would be honored to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Found staff very helpful...rooms were great. Chose this place for the swimming pool amenities so we could chill out. Why is it allowed that people can reserve sun lounges and leave the area for hours+... Ridiculous when it is a shared venue! Lack of respect for other fellow customers...and we saw other customers bring this to the attention of staff...it was not resolved...we left and they used our seating....but really if you leave the pool area...you get to the back of the line for the limited sun lounges...empty lounges are for everyone. A sign to state this and the Pool Attendents swift action to clear lounges for others use would fast remedy this! Drinks were expensive...we probably would have bought some rather than none if costs were reasonable!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jk27164551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit in Madrid and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused about the pool. Comments like yours, helps us to improve every day and motivates us to continue provide a 5-star service to our guests.

We hope to welcome you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent 4 days in Madrid during our annual holiday in Spain. Madrid is a beautiful city and 4 days is too short to discover it. So we will definitely return. First of all, the Wellington Hotel is in a superb location and for those, like us, who are interested in sightseeing the open top bus stops right outside which is excellent especially in July when it's HOT! It is also right beside the Parque del Retiro which is beautiful, very cool with lots of shade and boating on the lake is great fun for all ages.

The reason I didn't give this hotel a 5 out of 5 is because of the reception staff. A good welcome is key to a hotel stay. Now that welcome can be different ... I'm not looking for hugs here or an over the top, loud, sugar coated welcome either! But I would expect, at least, a WELCOME TO THE WELLINGTON HOTEL style of greeting. Perhaps it's a language thing but our welcome was a request for our passports and credit card!

A couple of other issues with how reception dealt with problems. We had an email from the hotel which confirmed a superior room with additional bed for our son in the new part of the hotel. The request for the new part was as a result of recommendations from other travelers on this site. Unfortunately when we were shown to our room it was in the old part of the hotel. We contacted reception and were told that the new part rooms could not accommodate a 3rd bed and it felt like we were fobbed off when they showed us a smaller room in the new part. We decided to stay in the old part. But it is annoying when you see the review from Ema who posted photos of her trip to hotel in April of this year where they clearly stayed in a new room with a bed for her little boy and lots of space!!

The other problem was my nightdress was mistakenly taken away by the chambermaid. When I notified the reception there was no apology, they just asked was it white. I told them yes and they said it was probably taken with the towels. Another 'ouch' moment! OK not such a big deal and mistakes happen but it was inconvenient and I liked that nightdress!! They took our details and told us that they would investigate the problem and contact us. I heard nothing and emailed them when I got home and had to escalate the problem because, once again, I felt that the front of house staff were not dealing with the problem in the correct way.

I am very happy to say that the matter has been sorted by an extremely helpful Director at the hotel and because of that I would say we would definitely stay there again.

The rooms are lovely, clean, good size and even though we faced onto the street, we found it very quiet. The breakfast is really good with lots of variety. The pool area is good for a hotel that is in the heart of the city and overall the staff are friendly.

A 5 star hotel should have guest needs and comfort at it's heart. The Wellington just has to dial this up in reception and the guest experience would be perfect!

Room Tip: the rooms in the old and new part are lovely but if you like modern go for the newly refurbished are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerryC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit in Madrid and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Comments like yours, helps us to improve every day and motivates us to continue provide a 5-star service to our guests. We hope to welcome you in a near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

everything at this hotel was excellent, staff were helpful, room was very comfortable, very large bathroom. I had a room facing the pool it was very quiet could even sleep with the window open. I would stay here again when in Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit to Madrid and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for three nights, and apart from the noise of the lift going up and down all night, found it to be a very comfortable hotel. We stayed in one of the 'older' style rooms, which was very nice. The downstairs lounge and bar area is charming, with good service. Breakfast was impressive. We were lucky enough to be staying during the bull fights (which I don't like), but loved seeing the matadors leaving from the hotel. A piece of Spanish culture. Being near the park and museums was a bonus.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the lifts! They creak and rumble all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horse91dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your fantastic comment about our Hotel, the room and breakfast. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful time between us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#26 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#22 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#32 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#33 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing