We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding establishment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #45 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka MN USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“outstanding establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I were in Madrid for a wedding at the beginning of February, 2014. We stayed at the Wellington for all of the 5 days we were in town. The service, personnel, breakfasts and accommodations were outstanding. The wedding reception, itself, was also there, so I believe I can also say that their "special event" rooms and service for those type of events are also without par.
The only "bad" thing about our Madrid-time was the weather, but we were prepared with layered outdoor clothing, umbrellas, etc.....and the Wellington can't change rain, sleet and even snow, on our last day! We go to Madrid quite often. I surely wish we could always stay there, but we don't ONLY because it is more expensive than we usually pay!

Room Tip: we always ask for an exterior, because we like a lot of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Susan,
First of all we want to thank you very much for your comments and nice feedback about our Hotel, staff, service, and breakfast. We are very glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    413
    111
    41
    20
See reviews for
260
524
83
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The total experience from entering the hotel until leaving after a few days. I could stay for weeks or months in Wellington. Also the lounge offered me a great experience. The room with the balcony. And the people were, sorry are, so friendly to me and my wife. It was great. JUST GREAT. And I can repeat it the whole day. We will return, with our children.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Marco,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comment about our staff, room and meeting room. We are pleased to have met your expectations and appreciate your wonderful comment.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightstown
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great place to stay. Rooms are clean. The lounge area is dynamite. The food in the morning was stupendous. The front desk very helpful. I would recommend this to anyone doing business or just off with their sweetheart.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justin M A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Jutin,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and high rating. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel and that you enjoyed the front desk staff, the rooms, and the lunch.

We are honoured to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very well located, with style and tradition, one of the best in Madrid. Room was excellent: comfortable, big bed, magnificent and modern bathroom. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I had asked for an early check-in (11am) and although they can't guarantee it beforehand, there was no issue on the day.
Only buts: you have to pay for the spa, even if you're staying in the hotel (20 euros per person plus taxes); breakfast is very expensive (28 euros per person) so I recommend taking it outside - there are plenty of cafeterias around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Cristina,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind opinion about our service, staff, location, bathroom and for your comments about the Spa and breakfast.

We hope to welcome you in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great Hotel with old style traditional feeling to it , but Wed night becomes a disco nightmare with people in the street till 5 am talking , singing and generally making noise it is disapointing at best for such a well positioned hotel with lovely rooms and staff

Room Tip: Anywhere away from Cabana nightclub and main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you liked our rooms and service.

Regarding to your comment about the disco, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We are pleased to inform you that the Management is taking measures to avoid this incident.

We look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Wellington is a traditional hotel well located in Salamanca, very near to the Puerta de Alcalá and all sorts of restaurants, stores, subway stations etc. The service is excellent, you can tell they've been operating under high standards for years. The rooms are cozy, well maintained, and spotless. A plus for westerners is that the bathroom is equipped with a full shower, which is rare in European hotels. The rooms are a bit cramped, but that is a common flaw in all hotels found in old European cities. However, if you request an extra bed, they will bring an actual bed and mattress, not some back-breaking, creaky pull-out couch, which I think is a huge credit to the excellent service at the Wellington. Wi-Fi is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and all our future guests, for your wonderful comment and high rating.

It is a pleasure to know that we have met all your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

A great hotel ! Great rooms, very central, stately building, great service. Price reasonable. Check the SPA for a massage ! Order a nice solomillo with room service or eat below at the Vasco restaurant for Michelin level dining.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Federico,

Thank you very much for positive feedback and high rating in Tripadvisor.We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that you liked our different services.

We hope to have to opportunity to welcome you again in 2014.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#26 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#23 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#33 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing