We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost excellent”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #49 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
REHOVOT
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was hesitating between "very good" and "excellent", as it was not perfect, but on the other hand, they solved everything perfectly, and make me feel perfect….
I have been there 7 nights. Good location (near the wonderful Retiro Park, not far from Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen museums, Shoping, grocery stores, restaurants etc. You have the Metro Station 5 minutes from the Hotel, and of course taxi waiting for you on the hotel entry).
Quite palce. SPA sauna not included. Very good breakfast, extraordinary breads!
Very nice and large Rooms.
In my room the A/C had only 2 states: On (highest degree which is noisy) or Off (quite). Thanks to the cold weather outside I could use the second option (off).
There were some constructions which awaked me just when I took a break in the evening (althought most of the time it was quite). After the second time it happaned, they changed my room but it was worther (as the A/C machines was located above my room). Because there was no other free room (of the same rate), they suggested me a very nice suit (no charging), and it was realy quite (and spacious).
So, althought it was not perfect, I think they deserve excellent, as the hotel team gave me "all the dignity"... They justified me all the time, and made their best to solve the problem, and make me satisfied (includiung very nice letter from the manager with a bottle of red wine).

Room Tip: Put attention to A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IZIKBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay at the Wellington Hotel.

We apologize for all the inconvenience caused related to the room and AC, however we are glad to know that finally we could solve the problem.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    436
    118
    47
    20
See reviews for
280
570
86
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a very good Hotel & a good base for a City Break. The rooms are not that spacious but fine & the bathroom was very good. The beds were extremely comfortable & we had good nights sleep.The breakfast was very good with a big choice of different foods, some of the waiters/waitresses were not that friendly, they weren't too happy if you asked for more tea or coffee, but most of them were very helpful.
The bus stop for the tour bus was right outside the hotel, this was very good value for money for getting around the city. There were plenty of good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.
The only complaint was that the pool didn't open till June 1st, this was apparently in the hotel literature so it was our fault we didn't see it. By British standards it was very warm & would have been lovely to use or sit round the pool, or even have a drink on the terrace, but by Spanish standards it was obviously not hot enough.
Overall a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at the Wellington Hotel in Tripadvisor.

Regarding to your review about the pool, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We have informed all the departments involved.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Over the years we have as a family stayed in many different hotels in Madrid. From the Ritz, to the Urban with NH and Boutique hotels galore in between.

The Wellington gets 5 stars for various reasons. Location is nice and close to the Retiro Park, trendy shops, bars and restaurants are in abundance. Food in the bar and restaurants is good and well priced. But it's real edge comes from the quality and friendliness of its staff which hands down beats any other hotel I have stayed in over the years in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Patrick,
Thank you very much for your nice feedback and high rating. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel and that you enjoyed the location, restaurants and staff.
We look forward to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After a lot of research we decided to stay at The Wellington, the main reason we chose it was because we wanted an outdoor pool to relax by at the end of the day. We were extremely disappointed to be told that the pool is only open in the summer from 30th May to 16 September. I would have thought it should be open from at the latest 1st May through to the end on October. Another downside of a 5 star hotel was the wardrobe space and the difficulty accessing it. Also the staff at breakfast could have been a lot more friendly and attentive. I would definitely not stay there again unless the pool area was open.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Angela,
We would like to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. Regarding to your comment, we really apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have informed all the departments involved to find a solution to these problems. Regarding to the swimming pool, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we inform you that the swimming pool will open in late May.
Once again we appreciate your comments as it enables us to improve and to continue offer a 5 star service to our guests. We would be honored to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The welcome is always charming here and the hotel exudes an old world grandeur with the 'W' motif on everything imaginable - china, glasses, towels etc. The carpets downstairs - also with a 'W' - are worn but otherwise the hotel is in good condition, and the rooms spacious and well-appointed. The Wellington Club is a new addition but I have to say rather disappointing. Unlike other hotel Club Lounges the alcoholic drinks had to be paid for and thus the place was empty most of the time and soulless; there needs to be a re-thinking on that one! However, the Wellington otherwise does not disappoint. It has a gracious feel and is good value in a good value and hugely impressive city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review about your recent stay at the Wellington Hotel. We are very glad to have met your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again in a near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

An excellent hotel with professional service and old world charm. Breakfast was magnificent. Club room is very good with nice balconies over the Madrid rooftops. All the shops are walkable with some of the best restaurants in town nearby. It isnt a kid friendly hotel but the staff worked very. Hard to assist my family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Stephen,
Thank you very much for your nice feedback and high rating. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel and that you enjoyed the location and breakfast.
We look forward to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Perfect location for walking and enjoying Madrid. Hotel is architecturally beautiful and the service was excellent. Helpful staff with good suggestions for local restaurants. Delicious breakfast served until 11:00 am. We will definitely return.




  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roxanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Roxanna, Thank you very much for your fantastic review about your recent stay at the Wellington Hotel. We are very glad to have met your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again in a near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 436 in Madrid
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 436 in Madrid
1,938 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#33 Family Hotel in Madrid
#38 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing