We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel in Nice Area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #40 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in Nice Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just returned from a weekend in Madrid and can thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel. Some reviews said the hotel was tired, it was perfect. The antique furniture and chandeliers were amazing, the rooms were large as was the bathroom. Very powerful shower although could not say the same for the hairdryer (take your own). Service was great at the hotel although the food at the pool a little pricey. In a quiet part of Madrid but just 20 minute walk into town. We stayed local one night and thoroughly enjoyed the quirky bars close by. Good shopping close by. The pool was very lovely although my only advice to the management would be to provide more beds, there is adequate space. The beds that were provided were a little tired, some broken but this is our only criticism. I would definitely choose this hotel for another trip to Madrid. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJP12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed our rooms, service and location. It would be a pleasure for us to be your choice during your next visit to Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    410
    108
    41
    20
See reviews for
259
522
83
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Old school, grand hotel lives up to its 5-star ranking. Offers excellent amenities, including a very well-equipped gym, and beautiful public areas. The rooms, while modern and clean, are smaller than I would have expected for a hotel of the Wellington's caliber. The hotel is an easy walk or metro ride from the Prado (~15-20 min) and other Madrid attractions. The Wellington is also located blocks from Retiro Park, which can be a nice escape from bustling Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Jordan, Thank you for the time you this comment about your recent stay at Wellington Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you liked our facilities, spa and location .

We hope that they contributed to make your visit to our city extra special.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and make y
our stay as comfortable as possible.

King regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Chose the hotel because of the bonus of a swimming pool. But bigger bonus was that it was just on the outskirts of dirty, dusty Madrid, so avoided noise and other problems. Superb, old style service, you asked for something and you got it in a flash. Would recommend it, but make sure you strike the right deal, I tried, hotels.com, booking.com but got the right one with trivago

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a non smoking room...our original offering was an ashtray smeller
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nucleusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences about your stay at the Wellington Hotel in Tripadvisor. We are pleased to have met your expectations and appreciate your wonderful comment.
Looking forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in 2014.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I returned after a couple of years and was delighted that my experience was as good as previous stays.
The reception and bar staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Although service at the pool was poor and on a sunny afternoon the area hugely overcrowded.
Several of the general areas looking tired with carpets in particular needing replacement. Entrance to pool should also be enlivened .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neilmcewan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at Wellington Hotel. We are very happy you so enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding to you comment about general áreas, I would like to inform you that this month we will be starting a renovation in the main floor in order to change the carpets. Looking forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in 2014.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslindale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a classy and well-run hotel in a great location. They are two blocks from the Metro (and this is a very clean and easy to navigate subway system) and the beautiful Retiro Park. The food is great. Yes, the breakfasts are crazy expensive, but they are also crazy good. We poked around the Hotel website and finally found a four days for the price of three deal using American Express that included breakfast (executive club deal). That made the cost reasonable.
All the staff, at the door, at the desk, and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. The front desk staff was great and we had a lot of questions and requests for reservations.
The rooms were really large and comfortable.
Do take the stairs rather than the elevator and you will get the treat of a different and attractive stain-glass window at each floor.
As others have noted, the carpeting is getting old and could use some updating, but that did not affect our enjoyment of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your nice feedback and high rating. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel and that you enjoyed the front desk staff, and the rooms.
We are honoured to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights separated by a few days as we used this as a base to travel to Valencia by high speed train ( which was great by the way!).

The staff were very helpful and attentive and most spoke good English (although, oddly, jot all the door staff). The attached high-end restaurant, Goizeko, was absolutely superb with great service and outstanding food. Book in advance!

Our room the first night, on the first floor was disappointingly small but on the second night we stayed on the 5th floor in a very well decorated and larger room. It is worth checking how newly decorated your room is.

Overall I would stay here again, even though it is a 20 minute walk from the main shops, as it is quiet and sophisticated. It feels like an oasis in the city and only took 12 minutes by cab to get back to the airport!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at the Wellington Hotel in Tripadvisor. We are pleased to have met your expectations and that you liked the Hotel. We are honoured to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived at the Hotel to be greeted by unwelcoming reception staff, not the five star greeting we were expecting. This unfriendliness was also experienced at the pool area. However, the doorman were always friendly and helpful.
The swimming pool has a real lack of sunbeds which is exasperated by people leaving their belongings on unattended beds for hours,leaving others unable to enjoy this facility.
Bedrooms were clean but dated and we only experienced the turn down service on our first night of our stay.
The hotel is very well located for Retiro Metro and is based in a lovely part of Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fingringhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at the Wellington Hotel in Tripadvisor.Regarding to your review about the swimming pool and staff, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We have informed all the departments involved. We look forward to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#26 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#22 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#32 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#33 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing