We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is Melia but is good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Castilla
Ranked #55 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Is Melia but is good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night at the Melia Castilla and i have to say that my stay was very good.
Big room, very quiet which for me is one of the key points in any hotel ( room 234) and good service.
I ordered room service and amazingly the portions were huge, could not it all. Try the spanish croquetas of jamon, that was superb.
Very good value for money!!

Thanks

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Asistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Customer,

It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay and the services received were better than expected. This is our main goal.

Hoping your return soon, receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,385
    887
    242
    63
    35
See reviews for
517
529
126
1,224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The Melia Castilla hotel is located in the financial centre of Madrid. The service is prompt and professional. Room is clean and it has what you need for a comfortable business staying. Wifi is free and powerful. The hotel restaurant has good quality and you will be not disappointed with the cost. I will certainly come back here again and again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gio_SlowFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Customer,

We are very pleased to be one of your preferences and these kind of comments encourage us to continue working hard for all of you.

Thank you also for your loyalty which our main goal.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naperville, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Melia Castilla for a week during the Christmas holidays, and I could not have asked for a better place! Everything was clean and comfortable, and the staff (especially Ana and Pilar in the front desk and the maitre d' at breakfast could not have been friendlier and more helpful. This is a large hotel catering to a business crowd, but yet it was geared toward the more casual traveler as well. The breakfast buffet is amazing, with hundreds of choices and well worth the extra fee--we ate so well at breakfast that lunch was unnecessary. Although the hotel is a bit far from the center of the city the metro service is close by and the trains frequent. There are many fine restaurants in the area--I particularly recommend La Tagliatelle for Italian food and VIPS for great burgers and sandwiches.
I hope to stay at the Melia again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsmartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear customer,

It's great receive such a wonderful feedback like yours. We are very pleased knowing that your experience was good..

Thanks for the very real description of our facilities and services.

You'll be always welcome to Melia Castila, receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
259 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here not by choice, but because it is one of my client's preferred hotels. The decor in the lobby is contemporary and gives you an impression of a 5 star hotel. The rooms are too dated and some of them smell like mold. The room service options are somehow limited and extremely expensive (EUR 19 for a ham and cheese sandwich). The food is not just expensive but it is not good at all. The breakfast is a whooping EUR 25 and it is not good either. I strongly suggest getting into coffee shops nearby for much better eats and for a much cheaper price.

I was staying for a "long" term at the hotel and decided to buy a few things in the grocery store to eat as a snack or breakfast. I have asked the hotel for a plate, fork and knives and they declined to give to me in the restaurant or in the front desk, however, they would deliver to my room for a EUR 10 charge. Seriously?? You may find this amazing, but I paid the EUR 10 and kept them inside my luggage because otherwise the maids would have taken it away from the room forcing me to pay the room charge once more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Eduardo F,

I would like to be grateful to you the time dedicated to allow coming to us your observations since our intention is always improving.

We are concerned for not having reached your satisfaction. Having known your opinions at that moment we'd have helped you to solve your demands.

I request you accept our more sincere excuses if we have not managed to reach your expectations.

Best regards.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel restaurant was recommended to us by a native of Madrid for its paella. I still dream about this meal. It was amazingly delicious and both of us savored every bite. If you are ever in Madrid, seek out this restaurant ... you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCoop41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest,

We are very proud for your nice comments. It's our main goal to get our customers satisfaction and for it we work hard every day.

Thanks also for recommending us and do not hesitate that we'll continue doing our best job.

Best regards.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have now stayed at the Melia Castilla for business twice and pleasure once. It provides a great mix of business services and personal services. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. The staff is freindly (especially in the bars and restaurants). Wifi is free. And, there are a lot of great restaurants within a very easy walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Jeff,

Firstly thanks for choosing Melia Castilla as your business hotel. Your opinon is very important for us in order to confirm our procedures.

It's very nice to know that everything was under your expectations.

Receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Cuzco
#163 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#68 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Property: Melia Castilla
Address: Calle Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#42 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartin train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabeu football stadium, makes the Melia Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. Complimentary WIFI and 24-hour Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing