We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with very good location”
Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Castilla
Ranked #58 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with very good location”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I spent 5 weeks in Melia Castilla mainly for business but I also had some to make some tourist trips during the weekends.

The hotel has fantastic, huge and comfortable rooms with great beds. The variety and the overall quality of the breakfast were exceptional.

The service was excellent. The staff was really helpful, they gave information about public transport and also made some recommendations for sightseeing. English can be a problem sometimes (it’s true for Madrid in general) but they always found a colleague with better English.

I really liked the location, there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. The home of Real Madrid, the Estadio Santiago Bernabeu is only 15 minutes walking or one metro station away. There are also buses stopping nearby heading to the city centre and to usual tourist spots (e.g. the Prado museum or the Royal Palace).

I would highly recommend this hotel for both business travellers and tourists because of the comfort, excellent service and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank János A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    936
    259
    65
    39
See reviews for
546
546
133
1,304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 days for a conference. It was a good facility for a large conference and facilitated the 400 delegates very well (not an easy task).As for catering,the food was clearly aimed towards large numbers and there were similar menu choices over the 3 days however it was certainly tasty and the paella was very popular.The restaurant staff especially at busy episodes during breakfast time were a little slow to respond to requests for coffee/tea but this is understandable and it did come eventually. The beds were so comfortable and the room was reasonably clean even if the decor does need to be up-dated (Be aware there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room either). The conference facilities are very good for larger groups. Check in and check out was very efficient and accommodated the large numbers well. On check out we were dealt with very promptly and there wasn't even a queue considering hundreds of delegates needed to check out. This is a good business location but i'm not sure i would enjoy staying here for a leisure break as it is just too busy with conferences and is a bit far from the city centre.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel with view over pool are better as front ones look out on noisy busy road wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Joanne,

Thanks for the nice opinions and for sharing them with the other user of Tripadvisor.

As you describe, we are a hotel and a convention center with 33 meeting rooms, all very well equipped with the best technologies to ensure the success of our events.

It's good to know that you found everything under your expectations.

Receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for three days for a conference.the room was lovely the bed was so comfy best sleeps ever, the food of a high standard and the staff efficient at front desk and helpful would stay again

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Glescagirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear customer,

Thanks for sharing your opinion with the rest of users. It's really good to know that everything was under your expectations and you enjoyed the services and facilities.

Look forward to welcoming you again.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The best feature is a great bed, so comfortable. The decor of this large hotel is classical style and a bit outdated for my taste, but it is easily forgotten by the comfort and the excellent service. Really outstanding service, always helful, polite and smiling this makes a difference.
I most definitely recomend the hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pot28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Adjunto a Dirección at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear customer,

Thanks in advance for your excellent comments.

We are carrying out an important labour of remodelling and adequacy in the whole hotel and entrust that these improvements are of your pleasure during your next visit.

Thanks also to recognize the great efforts of staff in the treatment to our guests.

Receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went to this hotel for a schools' conference and our overall experience was great. First of all the rooms are very big and luxurious. The beds are great and the rooms are always very clean. The service is very good, towels are changed whenever asked and everyone generally is eager to help, but there is one problem regarding this: many employees don't know English very well. So it is good to know Spanish, fortunately I do, or at least take a small travel dictionary with you, which you will generally need in Madrid as many people don't speak English very well. The hotel is located near a metro station, which makes you approximately 20 minutes away from the city center and is great. Last but not least the breakfast was great so was the restaurant which is expensive though. I would definitely suggest this hotel to everyone because of its good location and wonderful service, my only concern is for people who don't speak Spanish, but I don't think it will be a problem because most employees have at least a basic knowledge of English so communication is possible. I would suggest though that the hotel requires employees to speak English, at least managers and reception employees.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mr. George A,

Firstly thanks for your nice comments about our facilities and services and for sharing them with the others users. We'll keep in mind your suggestions.

We have a good location at the north of Madrid. It takes no more than 15 minutes from the airport or down town and very well comunicated by bus, subway or with taxis parked at the main door.

Lastly we want to thank for choosing our hotel for your business and will try to please you once again in your next visit.

Receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

So I live in the USA and I suppose I get used to a certain level of hotel standards traveling around the USA and the rest of the World. The Melia Castilla is not what I would call a sub-standard hotel - it's far from it.

Firstly the reception staff spoke very little English - I know I'm in Spain, but for an International hotel I expect a bare minimum of English to be spoken. That is they don't speak English until you give them a tip, then they're fluent. Surprise that...

Secondly, I complained after the first day that the air conditioning in the room wasn't working. I was told that the air conditioning wasn't working and wouldn't be working until later in the year when it got really warm. I like a fairly cold room to sleep in, in order to be comfortable -the only way I could do that is to open all the windows onto the main road outside, which until around 3am is a busy thoroughfare that is very noisy. Combine that wit the noise from the strip club opposite the hotel and it's not conducive to a good nights rest.

Thirdly the whole place looks very tired and run down.I'm not saying the wallpaper is hanging off or the carpets are dirty, but it looks as if it was styles in the 1970's and nothing has changed since.

Lastly the staff in the hotel are incompetent and unhelpful. Twice at breakfast I saw the wait staff knock coffee or juice over peoples tables - with no degree of urgency to help clean the spills up or to stop the mess getting onto peoples dress suits.

My advice - find an american hotel chain, somewhere nearer the center of town as you can only cab anywhere from here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thecontroller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel as working. But you could also see the sights very easily and stay here. We sayed on the level floor and had a buffet breakfast, after noon tea and food and drink available to help areselfs too. I have to eat gluten free and i can not fault the staff who where more than happy to send down for gluten free bread,cheese and chorizo, and even have fruit set up. This makes a bit difference for me, as it means i can eat with others at the same timem I would also say the lady in the morning at the level twice brough my handbag to the roo m( which i had left on the floor and tracked down 2 missing coats we had left on chairs one evening. The lady on the level in the evening ( im so sorry i cant remember names, but she wore some very jolly glasses) booked us two resturants id found, and suggested another when i gave her the name of 2.they where very good casual tapas bars and full of spanish, which was great. She also found us a bar showing the england rugby match, and helped print of and confirm are tickets to the exhibition at the thyseeem bornemisza museaum . Not bad considering we where only staying 3 nights! AS others have said the hotel is nothing to look at, but this doesnt really matter, as you are staying in the hotel, To cold for the pool but i used the gym every morning, well equiped but would be even better if they had a rowing macheine, a few more mats and a book to write your name and hotel room in in case of emergencies. it would also show when there was most use of the gym, and replacements of towels could be more targetted. My view of Melia hotels was a good one, and i can recommened it to others.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the extras on the level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AccidentalExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear customer,

We really appreciate your kind comments and tips.

This is the experience that we want offer to all customers at The Level with willingness of our staff to help in our customer's needs. We are very proud of them.

Thanks also to share these ones with the others users and for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Cuzco
#173 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#176 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#89 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#65 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Property: Melia Castilla
Address: Calle Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#45 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartin train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabeu football stadium, makes the Melia Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. Complimentary WIFI and 24-hour Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing