We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money!”
Review of ILUNION Pio XII

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ILUNION Pio XII
Ranked #141 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed in Confortel Pio XII for one night on my way to Valencia (didn't want to drive at night) and on the way back. Got a very spacious double room with a big clean bathroom. The bed was large and really comfy. No noises, no disturbances during the night, a/c worked quietly and efficiently.

Helpful and friendly stuff.

The price was cheaper than you would expect in some hostel in the center of Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhuGurragchaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Lived there for 4 nights, business trip. Hotel was 4 Stars, i Think it deserves more like 3.5. Room was ok standard, minibar with only water (free) and a safe, rest of the hotel not very exciting. The restaurant was real weak. Breakfast had a narrow selection, e.g. only one kind of juice, orange, and a low quality one too. At diner tried to find a steak on the menu, not there, ended up ordering a ham and cheese pizza. What I got was a supermarket pizza that had been taken out of the freezer and heated up. Complainted to reception who did not see any issue, even though the menu claimed to be serving dishes made rom local fresh foods. I cannot recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Bo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
confortelhoteles, Gerente at ILUNION Pio XII, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Sir,

Allow me to extend my sincere apologies for the discrepancies you experienced during your stay.

About the breakfast we are surprised because our clients usually are satisfied with our breakfast buffet, that contains fruit, yogurts, hot and cold dishes and other products includes in this category. We regret you don’t comment this in the restaurant as we could have offered you something that was more to your liking.

Regarding dinner, we regret that what you want is not available, we have a simple menu that includes products that our customers usually tend to dinner. We are really sorry that you did not like the dish that you finally chose.

We want also to apologize if we failed receiving your complaint. Feedback is invaluable to our organization as it allows us the opportunity to improve our product and services. You can be assured that your opinion will be shared with our staff and we will try to improve it.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Great hotel friendly staff, spacious rooms, lovely location. Great local transport just outside. overall a great place to stay quite.

Thing to watch if you are vegetarian poor breakfast choice and very poor staff in restaurant, the hotel needs to work on food choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yashvant9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

As have stayed her twice before knew what i was getting...Lovely modern hotel,big bedrooms,free wifi,free bottles of water,nice decor and very freindly staff.Metro 10 min walk so half hr to Sol door to door.Bus stop outside if want nice sight seeing journey into centre...Book it and Enjoy

Room Tip: Top floor have large balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRISHYIDDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
confortelhoteles, Gerente at ILUNION Pio XII, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Confortel Pío XII. We are really happy to know you think we are a good hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The rooms are fairly spacious for European standards, and nicely appointed, although sometimes in need of slight updating. The staff is exceptional, and the breakfast, while a bit pricey, includes quite a nice layout including various cheeses, hams, breads, jams, fruits, yogurts, juices, teas and nespresso. I have stayed there with and without my husband since 2011. It is a good deal for the money, and during this last stay the staff has proved its worth in terms of personal warmth and professionalism (nice combo!). This latest stay was with my husband during late December 2012 and again in early January 2013. We traveled to France for New Years celebrations, and I forgot a special pillow of mine for my neck at the hotel. Called them from France and they had not only found but held the pillow until we returned!

Room Tip: The breakfast is worth it for short stays, but not so much for long ones. The transportation by bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
confortelhoteles, Gerente at ILUNION Pio XII, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and considerate review, Ana. We always welcome feedback from our Guests and we were delighted to read the positive comments from you. We are most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information and help us monitor the service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Clean and efficient hotel.
Minimal frills.
Out of town, but bus directly outside can take you straight to city centre in 20mins throughout the day.
No restaurants or culture nearby and I arrived late, so had to eat in the restaurant: food was very poor (pre-fab frozen stuff).
Overall served me well however.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lovely big room on the fifth floor with a large wet room style toilet well away from the bedroom .
Had a alcove leading out of the room looking on to a sports facility and not on the main road .
side and as a result was nice and quiet .
The Hotel is used for companies for seminars and was bustling at certain times of the day with the persons coming and going ,
Is a wee bit away from the city centre but is only 10 minutes from the nearest metro station .
There is a bus stop right outside the Hotel which runs to the city centre and run every 10 minutes and we used it once to go into the city and was a pleasant journey going past Real Madrids stadium en-route to SOL which is regarded as the city centre.
Suited us as it is near for getting to the airport via the metrro .
Would definitely consider this Hotel again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#152 of 437 in Madrid
1,804 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#92 of 437 in Madrid
972 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#171 of 437 in Madrid
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#112 of 437 in Madrid
714 reviews
San Blas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#154 of 437 in Madrid
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Pio XII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Pio XII

Address: Avenida Pio XII 77, 28016 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £55 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Pio XII 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition, avant-garde and Business blend together in the ILUNION Pio XII, located in the north of the Paseo de la Castellana, very near the Chamartin Train Station and the M-30 ring road. Direct buses to Puerta del Sol stop outside and Madrid´s IFEMA Exhibition Centre is a 10 minute drive away. The modern rooms at the ILUNION Pio XII feature free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, safety deposit box and a private bathroom with hairdryer. The Pio XII´s restaurant serves Mediterranean and International cuisine using seasonal products. Guests can also enjoy their favourite drink in the hotel´s Cafe-Bar. ILUNION Pio XII offers free use of several Internet points located at the main lobby with free Internet access. Chamartin Train Station and Pio XII Metro Station are a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Madrid-Barajas Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ILUNION Pio XII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Pio Xii Madrid
Confortel Pio Xii Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing