We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, value for money”
Review of ILUNION Pio XII

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ILUNION Pio XII
Ranked #159 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel, value for money”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was in madrid last week, and decided to stay here. The hotel is in the chamartin district, which is a good residential neighborhood and very close to the business center. It is a bit far from the city center. 15-20 minutes by cab. 40 minutes by metro.

Overall I had a very pleasant three night stay in the hotel. The reception staff is very friendly and dont worry the AC is working now. :p

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shre-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    287
    138
    36
    14
See reviews for
154
187
31
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calpe, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spent three nights here with my partner, beginning of April.
Room okay, but very hot. Asked reception why A/C didn't work and the reply was "we don't have none". Excuse me? Seriously?

We noticed the TV had a USB port at the back, but when I put the stick in it didn't work. Before going out for a meal asked the young lady at the reception if she could help us out and she responded the technician would have a look at it in the morning. I repeated my request in the morning before breakfast and the reply was "a little later". We haven't seen or spoken to him at all. Now this annoyed me. It's just the principle : telling you someone will come and nobody turns up.

At breakfast we noticed there were no fried eggs nor bacon, only boiled eggs. Bit strange in a 4**** hotel. Fortunately the waiter was friendly and got me 2 fried eggs every day.

It's the little things that count and this place missed a lot of them.

Room Tip: Make sure you can open a window, since there is no A/C, don't forget to bring something for mosq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietjuh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Clean and neat in the north part of the city. Close by bus service. When I was there in April the air conditioning had not yet be turned on and the room was warm. They upgraded me to another room with doors that open on to a balcony that cooled the room. They have a nice restaurant on the premise that is OK and a night bar. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V Wayne Speedy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Spacious room. Adjustable temperature (when I say this it means I can get the room at my perfect temperature, 20-22ºC). Breakfast is OK for a Mediterranean visitor like me. After very long hours of work it provided for a quiet and comfortable rest place. I guess that was mostly what I was looking for.

It is not very far away from the center (20-25 mins subway trip) and its 10-15 mins from a lot of night entertainment, such as good restaurants and nightlife spots (around Pl. de Cuzco for ex.).

Staff is polite and helpful, Specially if you know a bit of castellano as I do. The English language is still a major hurdle for the Spanish people. Stop dubbing and start subtitling. You won't believe the difference :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLoyal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILUNION, Gerente at ILUNION Pio XII, responded to this review, 7 July 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for recommending us after your experience in ILUNION Pío XII. We are delighted you had a good time in Madrid and you found our hotel comfortable and well located. We also thank you for your nice comments about our staff, which will surely be transferred to them.

We are looking forward to receiving you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerily,

Patricia Otero, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel looks nice however the quality that is presented upon first arrival is not consistent. Firstly, no soap In the bathroom! The cleaners made no effort to sort this! Secondly, the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything that your neighbours do! (Ladies wearing high heals tottering up and down their rooms all night, people moving furniture, talking etc). Lastly, the strange smell of cigarettes that contiually crept through the air conditioning vent even when a/c was off! All in all, the hotel doesn't live up to its '4* title' and should definitely be down graded. We will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ldt1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

They treated me like a princess. The staff were not only friendly but very helpful. The location suited me because its near my embassy but the Metro puts you in town or to the airport in no time.
The breakfast was fabulous. Overall it is the best value for money in Madrid

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetyoungthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

This is my 1st trip into Madrid. This hotel was booked by our friend who thought that we might be on a tight budget. As it turned out, it was so bad. Checked in for a 2 nite stay. There was free wifi, water in the fridge and clean towels. But the bed was too firm & pillow too soft for me. I did not rest well. The bath room light was too bright & hot so it felt like i was showering in a sauna. But they were quick to response to my requests for extra pillows & water when called. Generally, the room was cleaned well & breakfast was simple, the straight forward coffee & toast machines. There were some selections of fruit and ham &
cheese. On a whole it's a friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazelmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Atrium
#90 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#107 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#171 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mirador de Chamartin
#219 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#102 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Tryp Madrid Chamartin
#189 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Pio XII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Pio XII

Property: ILUNION Pio XII
Address: Avenida Pio XII 77, 28016 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Pio XII 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition, avant-garde and Business blend together in the ILUNION Pio XII, located in the north of the Paseo de la Castellana, very near the Chamartin Train Station and the M-30 ring road. Direct buses to Puerta del Sol stop outside and Madrid´s IFEMA Exhibition Centre is a 10 minute drive away. The modern rooms at the ILUNION Pio XII feature free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, safety deposit box and a private bathroom with hairdryer. The Pio XII´s restaurant serves Mediterranean and International cuisine using seasonal products. Guests can also enjoy their favourite drink in the hotel´s Cafe-Bar. ILUNION Pio XII offers free use of several Internet points located at the main lobby with free Internet access. Chamartin Train Station and Pio XII Metro Station are a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Madrid-Barajas Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your ILUNION Pio XII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Pio Xii Madrid
Confortel Pio Xii Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing