We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience at Gran Versalles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Versalles Hotel
Ranked #144 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good experience at Gran Versalles”
Reviewed 2 November 2007

After much deliberation chose the Versalles for our four nights stay because of its location. Proved to be a very good choice. Central location in a quiet street with plenty of local atmosphere and restaurants very close. Hotel service was excellent, our room was on a 'no smoking' floor with no disturbances. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hoteluser_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    442
    150
    26
    18
See reviews for
135
396
56
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

I go to Madrid about once a month for work and almost always stay here. It is in a great location, right in the centre, within walking distance of the shops and most tourist attractions, but on a quiet street (which is a real bonus in Madrid). It's not luxurious but it is reasonably priced and the rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable. One word of warning: avoid the hotel breakfast - it's better and cheaper to go to one of the numerous cafés nearby.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

This was my second stay here. Once again the room was of a decent size and the bathroom was very clean.
It is two minutes from Metro Alonso Martinez . If you come out of the Metro you will see a cafe on the junction , go straight across the pedestrain crossing and turn left. It is the first turning on the right,
The cafe itself does a decent breakfast or try the Barbera restaurant on the other side of the road for some tasty seafood

Overll a good hotel away from the major hustle of the city

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattiehowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

I was looking for a hotel in Madrid that was close to a Metro station and located in a safe and quiet neighborhood. I found both with this wonderful hotel. The hotel was business like and a joy to stay in. The Metro was right down the street and the neighborhood was gorgeous. The staff was courteous at check in and check out. The hotel is not flashy but not a drag to stay in either. The room was about average size for Europe, AC worked, and the room service was quick and painless.

The only two reasons I did not rate this hotel as excellent was because of their lack of complimentary breakfast and the room's thin walls. The breakfast was downright expensive with a price of 10 euros per person. The thin walls didn't bother me until we had our neighbor jabbering throughout the whole night one of our nights there. Other than that I loved it and would most definately stay there if visiting Madrid again. I'll just make sure to find breakfast elsewhere next time.

  • Liked — It's location and closeness to the Metro station
  • Disliked — The expensive breakfast and thin walls.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KenRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

stayed here 1 night only last week. Very close to Metro station but not that obvious when you come up from the underground. Two very friendly receptionists (both male) on duty when I arrived. Room was spacious and air conditioning worked well. Bathroom average size with reasonable toiletries. Note that the lift starts from a level above ground so one has to climb about 8 or 10 steps before getting into lift for bedrooms levels.

The breakfast (which I didnt realise was not included in my rate) was about 11 euro and was disappointing in the quality. The room itself was lacking in atmosphere and had a 'canteen' feel to it. Overall however fine for a one night stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — breakfast room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritabix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Lovely hotel in central location. Less than 5 minutes walk to the nearest metro station and from there the whole city is accessible. Alternatively you can walk to some very lively spots with great bars and nightlife. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The room was good and clean with a very comfortable bed. Very little noise in this area of the city so we had no problems getting a good nights sleep. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpobyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2007

Hotel is alomst exactly what I want from a central major city hotel.

Firstly, the hotel is in very good condition. It has a more business like feel to it, which generally means its clean and well kept, which was true. Not for those that like 'character'. Only odd downside was that one side of hotel had no direct lift access from reception (you had to climb 15 stairs with suitcase before a lift??). Very Odd. Also roadside was down 5 steps (not great place for handicapped people).

Location was great. 25 mins walk to Puerto del Sol is no problem for me. But it means its in a nice neighbourhood, very quiet, but with local bars and restaurants (and Starbucks/Steakhouse for those days when you want home!).
Its very easy to get from here to anywhere, especially the sights like Prado. And metro right around the corner.

Amenities in hotel aren't top for this price (hence only 4 stars). There is no late night bar (11pm) and its very small and smoky. Not sure there is a separate breakfast place either (personally never do hotel breakfasts). There are plenty of very close local late bars so not a major issue, but at this price/level this should be included in my opinion. Room service food good, but strange menu (many main meals, few 'hotel' type snacks.

Service at front desk good. One guy was not particularly helpful, but all the others were very nice. Booking restaurants for us no problem. AND the room had a Madrid 'Style' book listing many restaurants and sights which was excellent.

Overall, very happy with experience and would use again if I went back.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — Rubbish bar
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tvrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
NH Alonso Martinez
NH Alonso Martinez
#70 of 436 in Madrid
842 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
#68 of 436 in Madrid
659 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
#80 of 436 in Madrid
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#150 of 436 in Madrid
438 reviews
Chamberi
Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Chueca
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Property: Gran Versalles Hotel
Address: Calle Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#103 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Versalles Hotel is in the centre of Madrid, near Alonso Martinez Square and the wellknown neighbordhood called Chueca. You can reach Gran Via Street or Serrano Street in a short walk, or take the metro at Alonso Martinez Station, just round the corner, with 3 lines (4,5 and 10) which will bring you shortly to any place in town, even to Barajas Airport in just 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing