We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Versalles Hotel
Ranked #151 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Service at reception was excellent and friendly. The receptionists spoke english very well and were able to give us great directions using a map and ideas about the different areas of the city which was a great start. Service in the bar/restaurant/room service was not as good. Bar is very small, not comfortable to relax in even though the reception area is huge. The staffs english was average, which causes problems when trying to order food, especially room service. Not very friendly either, but that could be my own perception of a cultural thing. Nobody helped with our bags on the way in or out or up to the room - I'm small and could've done with a helping hand. Ordering a taxi back to the airport was stressful - it did not come on time.

Room was normal size, very clean, excellent air conditioning system that we controlled ourselves. Bathroom had a powerful shower and was clean. Key code safe was very useful.

Location is the main advantage of this hotel. 10-15 min walk to main street/area - just enough of a nice stroll after dinner/home from club. Taxi's were also cheap if we had to get one - €5 from centre back to hotel. Hotel was set in a nice, quiet, residential area - plenty of undistrubed sleep.

Two computers for internet usage in the reception area - standing only, no chairs.

Overall, it is a nice, clean, friendly, very well located hotel, but not a hotel you would choose to stay in for their amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiebui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    449
    152
    26
    20
See reviews for
139
403
56
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We have been staying now for a week and having a great time. Location is perfect, staff is friendly and the room is very large and comfortable. For a little more we upgraded to a larger room and it's really wonderful.

Room Tip: Corner suite is large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esti11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the hotal, very central but in a quiet, residential area. Within walking distance of he Puerta del Sol (20 min), 2 min from an underground station and easy connection to the Airport. Excellent room. Breakfast not that good though - best place was 10 min walking distance in Calle Fernando VI called Mama Framboise.
We cycled around Madrid for 3 hours, with a guide who took us to places we would not have found. It waa a great experience. We used Trixi.com located in Calle de los jardines.
We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inge06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

If you want a quiet hotel but not too far from the center, this hotel is perfect. It's a 10 - 15 mins walk to Gran Via and to Sol. It may be too quiet for those who prefer to be in the hustle and bustle of things though. I've also styayed in the center (near Puerto del Sol and Gran Via) so I know it's a trade-off as it can be too lively and noisy for a good night's sleep unless you're a heavy sleeper. The walls are a bit thin since I could hear voices from the neighboring room, but not loud enough to be annoying. My room was spacious and had twin beds. I loved the rain shower, the double sink and toothbrush and razor, since I had forgotten both items. There is a supermarket 5 mins away. The Colon Plaza and Hard Rock cafe are a short walk away. I wasn't crazy about the buffet breakfast selection plus the coffee was too bitter (ask for a cappuccino instead) and the next morning I went to a Starbucks a block away instead. I had booked through the hotel site but the link to cancel was confusing - I was informed at the time of booking that I could cancel up to 12 hours before, but when I clicked on the link several days before arrival (I wanted to check the policy), it gave me a confusing message that the room was a non-refundable internet rate. Could be an issue with English meaning that one couldn't cancel IF the guest had booked a special rate but next time I will book via booking.com which gives the same prices and more user-friendly. The weather was slightly warm and the air conditioning wasn't working even though the reception kept saying it would to be fixed. It wasn't too much of a problem in early April with the window open, but if you're going in warm weather, email them in advance to make sure they will have A/C! They were pretty good about answering emails when I had questions. The staff all spoke English and very helpful if you need directions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsSprouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Clean, comfortable and a good value for money. Recommended for short stays. Excellent connection to metro system. Walking distance from Malasaña. If you're looking for a quieter location than Sol and you're on somewhat of a budget, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefullyanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed there for a football game in February. It was nice to be a bit outside of the main Fan-zone. The hotel is nicely decorated, staff was perfectly friendly and the rooms were a good size with comfortable beds. Showers were not too strong though, so it took some time to get the shampoo out of your hair... but I was not in a hurry. Our room was quiet and nice - we could sleep in 0 thereby missed breakfast. Very conveniently situated near the underground station, but also within walking distance to a lot of places. It was also very affordable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights, rooms is basic but quite good, restaurant is very small, and variety of breakfast definitly needs to be improved.
They rearly speak English, hotel is very cosy, and it is good area but not around shopping area, for drinks you dont have alot of varities, it is small hotel if you have no luxury requirments, go there, last note: I think HK should pay more attention to the room cleaning

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanaa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
NH Alonso Martinez
NH Alonso Martinez
#69 of 436 in Madrid
874 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
#71 of 436 in Madrid
674 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
#86 of 436 in Madrid
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Chamberi
Agora Juan de Austria
Agora Juan de Austria
#268 of 436 in Madrid
295 reviews
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#157 of 436 in Madrid
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Property: Gran Versalles Hotel
Address: Calle Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#106 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Versalles Hotel is in the centre of Madrid, near Alonso Martinez Square and the wellknown neighbordhood called Chueca. You can reach Gran Via Street or Serrano Street in a short walk, or take the metro at Alonso Martinez Station, just round the corner, with 3 lines (4,5 and 10) which will bring you shortly to any place in town, even to Barajas Airport in just 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing