We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Versalles Hotel
Ranked #152 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had a room facing yard. extremely quiet. clean and comfortable. good shower. plenty of toiletries. soap, shampoo, cond., lotion, comb, shaving, razor etc. good inexpensive breakfast at the hotel (ask when you are in the hotel don't book it before) metro and bus around the corner. 10 15 min from center. some even walk, not me. staff is super helpful and friendly. jesus, luis, tamara, and others. they help with suitcases if asked. give you info with a smile. cons: pillows even foam too bulky to me. I would certainly come back when in Madrid again.

Room Tip: just ask for a quiet room, may be not facing street, although street is not noisy. I was a whole wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dstoyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Room was good, although quite high road noise in the mornings, especially the bin man. Try to avoid rooms facnig the road at the front of the hotel. Nothing special about the hotel, not even an open bar in the lobby, although there are plenty of bars in Plaza Santa Barbara. Easy to access via the Metro

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facnig the road at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_carolLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Service at reception was excellent and friendly. The receptionists spoke english very well and were able to give us great directions using a map and ideas about the different areas of the city which was a great start. Service in the bar/restaurant/room service was not as good. Bar is very small, not comfortable to relax in even though the reception area is huge. The staffs english was average, which causes problems when trying to order food, especially room service. Not very friendly either, but that could be my own perception of a cultural thing. Nobody helped with our bags on the way in or out or up to the room - I'm small and could've done with a helping hand. Ordering a taxi back to the airport was stressful - it did not come on time.

Room was normal size, very clean, excellent air conditioning system that we controlled ourselves. Bathroom had a powerful shower and was clean. Key code safe was very useful.

Location is the main advantage of this hotel. 10-15 min walk to main street/area - just enough of a nice stroll after dinner/home from club. Taxi's were also cheap if we had to get one - €5 from centre back to hotel. Hotel was set in a nice, quiet, residential area - plenty of undistrubed sleep.

Two computers for internet usage in the reception area - standing only, no chairs.

Overall, it is a nice, clean, friendly, very well located hotel, but not a hotel you would choose to stay in for their amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiebui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We have been staying now for a week and having a great time. Location is perfect, staff is friendly and the room is very large and comfortable. For a little more we upgraded to a larger room and it's really wonderful.

Room Tip: Corner suite is large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esti11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the hotal, very central but in a quiet, residential area. Within walking distance of he Puerta del Sol (20 min), 2 min from an underground station and easy connection to the Airport. Excellent room. Breakfast not that good though - best place was 10 min walking distance in Calle Fernando VI called Mama Framboise.
We cycled around Madrid for 3 hours, with a guide who took us to places we would not have found. It waa a great experience. We used Trixi.com located in Calle de los jardines.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inge06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

If you want a quiet hotel but not too far from the center, this hotel is perfect. It's a 10 - 15 mins walk to Gran Via and to Sol. It may be too quiet for those who prefer to be in the hustle and bustle of things though. I've also styayed in the center (near Puerto del Sol and Gran Via) so I know it's a trade-off as it can be too lively and noisy for a good night's sleep unless you're a heavy sleeper. The walls are a bit thin since I could hear voices from the neighboring room, but not loud enough to be annoying. My room was spacious and had twin beds. I loved the rain shower, the double sink and toothbrush and razor, since I had forgotten both items. There is a supermarket 5 mins away. The Colon Plaza and Hard Rock cafe are a short walk away. I wasn't crazy about the buffet breakfast selection plus the coffee was too bitter (ask for a cappuccino instead) and the next morning I went to a Starbucks a block away instead. I had booked through the hotel site but the link to cancel was confusing - I was informed at the time of booking that I could cancel up to 12 hours before, but when I clicked on the link several days before arrival (I wanted to check the policy), it gave me a confusing message that the room was a non-refundable internet rate. Could be an issue with English meaning that one couldn't cancel IF the guest had booked a special rate but next time I will book via booking.com which gives the same prices and more user-friendly. The weather was slightly warm and the air conditioning wasn't working even though the reception kept saying it would to be fixed. It wasn't too much of a problem in early April with the window open, but if you're going in warm weather, email them in advance to make sure they will have A/C! They were pretty good about answering emails when I had questions. The staff all spoke English and very helpful if you need directions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsSprouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Clean, comfortable and a good value for money. Recommended for short stays. Excellent connection to metro system. Walking distance from Malasaña. If you're looking for a quieter location than Sol and you're on somewhat of a budget, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopefullyanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
NH Alonso Martinez
NH Alonso Martinez
#71 of 437 in Madrid
909 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
#78 of 437 in Madrid
694 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
#83 of 437 in Madrid
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Chamberi
Leonardo Hotel Madrid City Center
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#153 of 437 in Madrid
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Address: Calle Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#106 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £60 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Versalles Hotel is in the centre of Madrid, near Alonso Martinez Square and the wellknown neighbordhood called Chueca. You can reach Gran Via Street or Serrano Street in a short walk, or take the metro at Alonso Martinez Station, just round the corner, with 3 lines (4,5 and 10) which will bring you shortly to any place in town, even to Barajas Airport in just 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing