We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Versalles Hotel
Ranked #160 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good position close to a Metro. We were at the back of the Hotel so didnt experience any road noise although we didnt have the best view either. That said we were not in the room often.
If you are walkers then Gran Via is 10 - 15 mins away with nice bars and cafes on the way.
Parking is limited to about 5 - 6 spaces for small cars. We were charged 26 euros per day as our car was larger than average.
They offered to show us to a public car park but after a 5 hour drive, we didnt feel like moving the car again.
Buffet breakfast was 9.90 with a good choice and very friendly staff on duty.
Rooms were clean and the bathroom was very nice, good quality hair dryer!
Would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Madrid for 3 nights in Hotel Gran Versalles.

The location was excellent; slightly out of the way from the busier roads but the walk into the centre was pleasant and didn't take too long at all (10 mins max).

The lobby area of the hotel was modern yet traditional and had a sense of character and style. Very clean and spacious. However when we got to the room it was very clear that more attention has been payed to the lobby and hallways rather than the rooms. The rooms were very clean and spacious but definitely in need of some modernisation. The air conditioning didn't work properly, it came on for short periods in the night. The bathroom had a very strong smell which effected the bedroom too. We are unsure whether it was the drains or the toilet however it was unpleasant especially when we had been out all day. This was after keeping the bathroom door shut and the toilet seat down.

The breakfast provided was fantastic. There were a range of pastries, diet breakfast options, bacon, lots of different types of bread, fruit, cereals, fruit juices and water. The service in the breakfast area was good also.

In our room there was quite a large safe to accommodate laptops/tablets and other items which was free. We were also provided with free wifi however the connection was terrible. Whether that was because we were on the fifth (top) floor we are unsure but this was quite annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyjatherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good location near metro station. Easy walk to most areas. Nice rooms with great bathrooms. Friendly staff. Good hotel to use for a stay in Madrid. I Booked direct for an excellent price. Did not use restaurant or bar as lots of fun places nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlebics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely hotel, good staff, good location and good breakfast buffet.
I would recommend this hotel, rooms were clean and tidy, sleep quality was good and staff very helpful. Wi-Fi & TV very good quality.

If you need a good quality hotel with no fuss.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel brings no surprises; it does exactly what it says on the tin. It's a city centre hotel - full stop. It's benign, safe, none descript, close to the metro station. Breakfast selection average - no fresh fruit, nothing special at all.

Room Tip: Avoid room 802 right outside the lift - you hear all sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I took a double room with my girlfriend for the last week of April. The room was very clear (and the bath inside too), nice and comfortable. The climatic was off and I could not set it but i didn't need. Excellent the wifi service in the room. By the way I could use 2 free PCs in the hall. THe price was good

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis
1  Thank m a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We've visited Madrid for Easter, last weekend. We took our 2 year old daughter to Madrid zoo, to see pandas. As for the hotel, no issues at all. Really clean hotel, with very nice and helpful staff. We had a room on a 6th floor, but we had no problem getting to the room, as there are two elevators working. Hotel is located near city center, and you can walk there. Metro station is near by, and taxi service works nice (never waited more than 2 minutes for a taxi). I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling either with family, or on business. We only didn't like the pillows, as they were a bit too stiff, but we didn't complain for that as it wasn't really an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberí
NH Alonso Martinez
NH Alonso Martinez
#73 of 442 in Madrid
996 reviews
Chamberí
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
#107 of 442 in Madrid
712 reviews
Chamberí
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
#82 of 442 in Madrid
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasaña
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ibis Madrid Centro
#86 of 442 in Madrid
1,333 reviews
Chueca
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#178 of 442 in Madrid
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Address: Calle Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#114 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £60 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Versalles Hotel is in the centre of Madrid, near Alonso Martinez Square and the wellknown neighbordhood called Chueca. You can reach Gran Via Street or Serrano Street in a short walk, or take the metro at Alonso Martinez Station, just round the corner, with 3 lines (4,5 and 10) which will bring you shortly to any place in town, even to Barajas Airport in just 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing