We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed, comfortable and efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Versalles Hotel
Ranked #148 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Well placed, comfortable and efficient”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Stayed here two nights. This is an well-run, relaxing hotel in a good location. The street is just beyond the bustling centre of Madrid, which is actually an advantage if you like a bit of peace while you sleep. You can walk to all the main attractions (Prado, El Centro, Retiro Park) in about 20 minutes - alternatively there are 2 metro stops nearby. There are restaurants and bars in Plaza Santa Barbara (just over the Via Sagasta and round the corner), and many more if you walk southwards from there into the Chueca district.
The room was very comfortable, a decent size, and very clean. Bathroom was immaculate, with a powerful shower. We were on the first floor, but were not bothered by street noise - there is double glazing and air conditioning, and, a big plus - you can open the window fully and air the room. I don't understand the comments on this site about noise from other rooms - we didn't hear anything. There is a bar on the ground floor open until 11 at night (though weekend hours change a bit). The desk staff are helpful and polite. Breakfast is expensive - we went out for it.
My only reservation would be that the hotel has an anonymous feel, but generally this is a good place for a relaxing stay in a busy city.

One tip: if you are coming on metro from Atocha station, get out at Bilbao, rather than Alfonso Martinez - it is a slightly longer walk from the metro, but you will avoid having to change lines and drag your cases up and down stairs etc.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poussis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    448
    152
    26
    19
See reviews for
139
402
56
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We liked our room as it was big, comfortable and clean, but did not like the big hotel feel. The computer was expensive to use. Some of the staff were arogant. It was not in walking distance to the major attractions but it was close to the underground. There were very few restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and were given our rooms straight away, even after turning up early after having a very early flight. The rooms were lovely and comfortable, and the room and bathroom very clean. TV channels were only in Spanish but i suppose that didnt really matter. Also had a minibar which was handy. Only very minor complaint about the room was the very pathetic hairdryer, but it was so warm in Madrid that hair dried very quick anyway! But for the price we paid on the internet for this hotel, it was really really great, we got a very low price for a really great hotel.
The location of the hotel was brilliant, located a 5 minute walk from Alonso Martinez metro station, which is a big interchange, meaning you can get to almost anywhere in Madrid with one or no changes.
A downside was that we were not told whether or not breakfast was included at check in. So, we went down for breakfast both mornings, and were ticked off the list, so it was assumed it was included, so we had a nasty shock when we had a bill for almost 100 euros for four of us for 2 nights. It worked out to about 11 euros each for breakfast, which I think is a lot of money. The breakfast was good, and there was plenty of variety, but I think the price really is a bit high.

As for Madrid, its a beautiful city, with lots of lovely streets to walk down, and lots of nice bars to sit outside and watch the world go by. BUT, if you are considering watching a bull fight, I would seriously think about it before you go. We had absolutely no idea what was going to happen, we thought that animal cruelty in this day and age would have been banned, but aparantly not. We were so shocked and upset by the brutality and cruelty that we left after the first fight and left the Spanish to it, and interestingly, there were a lot more people who left along with us, who obviously along with us had no idea of true bull fighting. So if you like animals, don't go to the bull ring.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurameee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel (got back yesterday 23rd May). The location is very convenient being about a two minute walk from Alonso Martinez metro which is around 20 minutes on the metro from the airport. The Gran Via is walkable in about 20 minutes or so or about 5 minutes on the metro, A 5- 0 minute walk up Calle Sagasta towards Bibao metro finds a few side streets with very welcoming bars and restaurants. The hotel itself has a small feel to it with very efficient and friendly staff (the shower head was faulty in the room and was fixed within 5 minutes of reporting it). The room we had was of an adequate size and spotlessly clean with trouser press and room safe. The bathroom was again spotless with a good selection of toiletries including razor and shaving cream and toothbrush in sealed wrapping. The air conditioning was a godsend as the temperature reached 36c while we were there, and it functioned very quietly too. There was a mini bar which was very inexpensive for a hotel - half bottle of sparkling vino for 7 euros or beer for 2.68, water at 1.80. Likewise the hotel bar was inexpensive with similar costs, although the bar area was a bit minimalistic - but very friendly with locals also dropping in. We didn't sample the food (other than the tapas served with drinks) so can't comment upon that. Overall, we found it to be of a good standard and very reasonable for the amount paid. With regard to soundproofing, we visit madrid maybe 3 times a year or more and every hotel we've stayed at has thin walls - we had no neighbours this time and all was very quiet, but we've stayed at more up market places and the soundproofing is no different.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

This hotel is conveniently located near the metro but we also enjoyed walking on the Gran Via down to the Prado and Sol areas. I agree that the hotel needs to soundproof their rooms more because I could hear clearly when guests close and open their doors. The air unit only gave out warm air, which was a bit annoying but not a major hassle. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels. The staff members were very cordial and helpful. We had to check out very early and the concierge made sure that we had a taxi (which costs about 30 Euros to the airport). Overall, we were satisfied with the hotel and will definitely come back for a second stay.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Expensive for a 3 star hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Not quite happy, not quite "gran", not quite 4 star.
Hotel Versalles, 3*** - it would be more appropriate for me.
But this is not the real issue, the place is basic but OK, it is not an old and dirty place - the hotel itself is fine. The real problems were: 1) "Soundproofing"- I don't know how they built this place, but, I swear, I have never been in a place where you hear a breath on the room beside. I was washing my teeth and I jumped: "oh my god, someone entered into my room!!" - of course, this was not the case, but I have travelled a bit and I have never seen such a place. 2) "Heating": last week of December and I slept 4 nights with the window open!!! and there was nothing else I could do!! - again, i don't come from the north pole,I mean, it was not normal..
Good points: - very good location close to the metro in a nice area and staff kind - I am afraid not enough to make me go back

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Although the majority of the staff we encountered was helpful, some were not as willing to go beyond their call of duty. The use of the business centre is not free (which in my opinion it should be if you're staying at a 4* hotel), and the computer itself was ancient and slow. The room was small and cozy but we found hairs on our bed sheets which made us question the cleanliness of the place. The hallways had a funny smell too. The bathroom although small was clean so no major complaints there. The walls are paper thin so be sure to bring ear muffs. The hotel's location is not the best, but convenient enough for the metro stop Alonso Martinez which connects about 3 lines of the metro including #10 which takes you to Barajas Airport. The hotel is also close enough to La Chueca which was cool.

  • Liked — Nothing in particular
  • Disliked — Questionable cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chico_malo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
NH Alonso Martinez
NH Alonso Martinez
#70 of 435 in Madrid
860 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
#67 of 435 in Madrid
667 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
#83 of 435 in Madrid
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#153 of 435 in Madrid
454 reviews
Chamberi
Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Chamberi
Agora Juan de Austria
Agora Juan de Austria
#265 of 435 in Madrid
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Property: Gran Versalles Hotel
Address: Calle Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#103 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Versalles Hotel is in the centre of Madrid, near Alonso Martinez Square and the wellknown neighbordhood called Chueca. You can reach Gran Via Street or Serrano Street in a short walk, or take the metro at Alonso Martinez Station, just round the corner, with 3 lines (4,5 and 10) which will bring you shortly to any place in town, even to Barajas Airport in just 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing