We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Ranked #145 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I love Madrid and this was my 5th visit - as I was in a group of friends rather than with my partner and only paying a "share of a room" we decided to splash out on this hotel. I think if you are planning a trip in July or August you need a pool and this is a great one. Fab views across the city loads of loungers and a bar and food area. Prices not to cheap in the bar but good quality and heavy on the booze in the drinks!! The room was a fairly standard room (we paid for the club room) decor a bit faded but clean and big enough - very powerful air-conditioning. Location ideal for shopping/eating/drinking in Central Madrid.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Stephaniedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We’ve stayed at the Emperador 6 times over the last 25 years, the main attraction being the rooftop pool. However, in the middle of May the water was far too cold for swimming and on a Saturday there were swarms of what seemed like local people–i.e., non-guests–surrounding the pool, making noise and puffing away on cigarettes. So unless my next visit is in the middle of the summer, I would not focus on the pool.
The location is excellent if you want to see Madrid and like to walk. The hotel is very nicely appointed. The rooms are pleasant. The breakfast is adequate, although replete with unripe fruit and not necessarily clean plates. We paid extra for a jr. suite with access to their club, which was a disaster. There were 3 bottles every day–the cheapest gin, whisky and some sort of liqueur one can imagine, with a cooler with Cokes, Fanta, beer and tonic. However, the place was very poorly maintained, filthy at times, and with zero service, nor even a phone with which to call for service. The staff absolutely refused to provide my wife–or other guests who asked–with a single glass of wine, and they even refused to provide an extra chair when there were more people than chairs. Similarly, although our room rate included an ‘international newspaper,’ we had to struggle to get one in English (the International NY Times of course), and were pointed toward French, German and Italian papers. It was like pulling teeth: “Do you want a newspaper tomorrow too?”
In general the staff was pleasant but hardly concerned with their guests–as indicated by the problems I’ve mentioned. One morning there was no cold water, and when it came back on it was rusty, so I’m not sure about drinking from the tap, anet there was no free bottled water at any time, which is usual when you can’t drink the tap water. We love to go for a swim after a day of sightseeing, but given everything we experienced this trip, we’ll look for another hotel next time

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveler20c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right in the centre of Gran Via and everything of interest is within a few minutes walk.

Rooms were nice but a bit outdated. They seem to be refurbishing them slowly, as some friends who stayed with us had a much nicer room. Everything worked and was clean. The view wasnt great though, being at the back of the hotel, all you could see was other buildings. With a pool on the roof though, we didn't have to spend much time in the room at all. It was quite difficult to get a sun lounger up there but if you get there early its not an issue. There's a bar on the roof, which serves relatively expensive drinks, as you'd expect. What I didn't expect was to have my bottle of water confiscated on several occassions because I didn't buy it from the bar. This was clearly displayed on a sign as you walk in but I thought a bottle of water would be OK in 35 degree heat!!!

I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat at the hotel. There are plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from and fast food galore (KFC, mcdonalds, Starbucks, burger king, tgi fridays, dunkin donuts, all on the same street) along with some healthier options like "revive" which sells smoothies and healthy stuff. If you're prepared to walk down some backstreets there's some great restaurants and cafes hidden away.

I would definitely stay here again. A few people said its the only hotel in Madrid with a decent pool and it was really nice to be able to chill out up there after a night of partying.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank 285OutOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed for 2 days at the Emperador hotel located in ideal area in Madrid, right next to the train station. The rooms are small but nice especially the ones with balconies overlooking the train station. Staff in general is very kind and helpful. Over all it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking the train station if you are not bothered with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BahaaHussein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Well run and very central, hotel Emperador is quite large with 232 rooms but retains an old world charm and traditional Spanish feel lacking from many of the chain hotels. We traveled to Madrid with a BA city break and chose the hotel for its location and roof top pool area. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful sorting us two rooms next to each other. The pool area has loungers, a compact pool, bar service and is a great place to relax after a busy morning shopping. The shops close mid afternoon for siesta and open again early evening. Things don't really get going in the bars and clubs until very late, 1am or there about, so plan your night accordingly. Taxis queue outside on the kerb and are reasonable, but with everything on your doorstep so you may not need them!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mtemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel was perfect. Great location, staff and service. And with a pool bar upstairs recovery the morning after was as simple as taking the elevator to the roof top pool for cocktails delivered to your seat by waiting staff.

Room Tip: Corner suite was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed twice in this hotel during our trip. The first room we got (409) was very small, but beds were confortable and shower was pleasant. The second room we got (920) was much bigger and spacious. Decor is quite outdated but nothing beats its location and price. Its located it the middle of Gran via, walking distance to main attractions like Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Palace, Plaza España and Mercado San Miguel.
Wi-fi is not free which I find ridiculous for 2014, and furthermore they restrict the access to one device. So its 12€ for 24 and only one device.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank mramirezisern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#167 of 440 in Madrid
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras
Iberostar Las Letras
#46 of 440 in Madrid
1,673 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#22 of 440 in Madrid
3,985 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#110 of 440 in Madrid
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Madrid

Address: Calle Gran Via 53, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#127 Business Hotel in Madrid
#151 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £91 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emperador Hotel Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel in Madrid is perfectly located in the lively Gran Vía of Madrid, only a few minutes of the main tourist attractions in the capital. It offers 232 guestrooms, meeting rooms and an amazing rooftop with terrace and swimming pool in season. Other services in the hotel: gym, souvenirs shop, hairdressing, steam bath and valet parking, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Emperador Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Emperador Hotel
Emperador Madrid
Hotel Emperador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing