We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooftop pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Ranked #141 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great rooftop pool!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The roof top pool was great- lounged out there for hours ordering drinks from the bar staff! They were average sized rooms- but always clean and tidy.The lack of free wifi in the rooms was a bit disappointing for such a 'grand' hotel. Walking distance to Plaza Mayor and the San Miguel markets which were the highlight of my time in Madrid.

Room Tip: If the budget allows, go for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    916
    383
    128
    65
See reviews for
479
894
83
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Emperador with two friends and the overall experience was very good.

The overall decor is on the 'Grand' side and the rooms we had were large but a bit old fashioned furnishing wise but this is in keeping with the overall ambience of the hotel. A great big bonus is the roof top pool and sunbathing area, which is brilliant to relax in after being out and about seeing the many local sights and visiting the excellent shops, cafes, and bars - you also get a great view of the surrounding area as the hotel is on one of the highest points in the area.

The hotel itself is well placed as is a short walking distance to the Sol area, which has some lovely squares, and also to the Prado Museum. For those less mobile the Santo Domingo metro station is literally right opposite the front door.

We didn't have a breakfast in the hotel as there are so many brilliant places to eat within a very short distance and the night life is really top notch - we visited a Flamenco show in a small theatre just off of the Calle Del Carmen, which was excellent, as you can sit within feet of the stage.

Madrid is a superb location for a city break and the Emperador Hotel is in an ideal location to enjoy it's many attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in June with my husband and another couple for 3 nights, lovely hotel, not very impressed with check in, took too long and we seemed to be ignored while 2 people dealt with 1 guest. If I stayed there again I would pay extra for a room with a balcony although I believe they are a lot more money, our room was ok, clean and the bed was comfortable, but the real downside was the view of the brick wall out of our window, couldn't even see the sky!!! Never knew what the weather was like until u went outside. Breakfast was ok, had better at the Ada Palace which is down the road from this hotel, but appears to be closed at the moment. Best bit of this hotel was the roof top pool which was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 529Jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just back from a fabulous 5 night stay at the Emperador, perfect location on Grand Via short walk to Plaza Mayor and Royal Palace. Hotel's main attraction is the rooftop pool which is most welcome after a day sightseeing! Pool is very cold though! Free wifi in the lobby, we didn't have breakfast in the hotel there's lots of places on the doorstep including the VIP Cafe which was very reasonable. The Metro is great for getting around we also travelled from the airport to Plaza Espana a 5 minute walk from hotel. We visited Madrid Zoo and went on the cable car which was fantastic. We also got the bus to Retiro Park and took a boat out on the lake (6 euro) take some bread to feed the ducks and turtles and visit the Crystal Palace 5 min walk from the lake it's beautiful. Special thanks to Aurora on reception for all the directions and assistance much appreciated. We loved Madrid and if we were to go back would chose this hotel without a doubt, recommended 100%!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked 2 rooms at the Emperador and both rooms were lovely & roomy. Great location and the pool area was a welcome relief. The reception staff and porters were very helpful and friendly. One negative would be the 2 male staff members (no name badges unfortunately but they both wore glasses) in the breakfast service who were very rude and would rather chat with each other than assist customers. Would still highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suite and standard rooms were both great. We were on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thescotts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 as a group of 4, upon going to check in at 1pm (check in was from 12) we were told only one of our club rooms was available and the other would be an hour. That was fine, so after an hour we went back to be huffily told that it was not ready and that there were lots of people waiting with a wave of his hand over the many check in cards waiting behind him "we are busy and fully booked, what can i do?" were his words. After another hour we went back to be given our room card but to wait 10 minutes as was still not ready!

We both had upgraded to club rooms for the "view over Gran Via" one was at the end of the 2nd floor and you could see the gran via a little and was not that spacious, the second room was on the 1st floor on the corner so again not a great view of the Gran Via

The roof pool is nice, they provide you with free pool towels, drinks and food are a tad over priced but to be expected. There are no parasols and very little shade, but lots of loungers.

All was fine until the 2nd night when going to bed all of a sudden music so loud is was like the DJ was in our room blasted out, at 1am we called down to be told "its a wedding for a hundred people, what can i do?" again at 2am i went downstairs to be told it was on until 3am and they would do nothing. We were not warned of a wedding, they should have put the wedding guests on the floor directly above the venue room

We paid extra for the club rooms which come with the use of the "club lounge" this consists of 8 chair and 2 small tables in a room that lacks atmosphere. The free drinks are peach schnapps, apple schnapps, gin and whisky, there is also a small fridge of soft drinks and tonic water, with a bowl of crisps and peanuts. It serves the purpose of a quick drink before getting ready but one wonders if they do it on purpose so that you would not want to stay there for any length of time enjoying a relaxing drink

The location of this hotel is perfect, minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor where we had a fantastic lunch at Hegar watching the world go by - go out the hotel and turn right down Gran Via, again if you go right theres a small road just by Benetton with lovely restaurants down.

We also did the Madrid city bus tour, we got a two day pass but one is probably enough.

The hotel itself it ideal but let down by staff who give the impression that they are not there for your convenience and that actually you are an inconvenience to them. The only member of staff I came across who was fantastic was Aurora who was helpful and with a smile, a credit to the hotel, they should all be like her.

Had it not been for the majority of the staff this hotel would get a 4.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dollyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I love Madrid and this was my 5th visit - as I was in a group of friends rather than with my partner and only paying a "share of a room" we decided to splash out on this hotel. I think if you are planning a trip in July or August you need a pool and this is a great one. Fab views across the city loads of loungers and a bar and food area. Prices not to cheap in the bar but good quality and heavy on the booze in the drinks!! The room was a fairly standard room (we paid for the club room) decor a bit faded but clean and big enough - very powerful air-conditioning. Location ideal for shopping/eating/drinking in Central Madrid.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephaniedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#178 of 436 in Madrid
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#102 of 436 in Madrid
1,383 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 436 in Madrid
1,948 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Madrid

Property: Emperador Hotel Madrid
Address: Calle Gran Via 53, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#127 Business Hotel in Madrid
#151 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Emperador Hotel Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel in Madrid is perfectly located in the lively Gran Vía of Madrid, only a few minutes of the main tourist attractions in the capital. It offers 232 guestrooms, meeting rooms and an amazing rooftop with terrace and swimming pool in season. Other services in the hotel: gym, souvenirs shop, hairdressing, steam bath and valet parking, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Emperador Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Emperador Hotel
Emperador Madrid
Hotel Emperador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing