We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in great location with fab pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Ranked #140 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location with fab pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked the Romance Package for a 3 night stay which included a bottle of cava and access to the club lounge. The room was ok if a bit worn and slightly musty smelling but it was clean so far so good. Check in was pretty quick, as we're the lifts and the bed was comfy with blak out curtains in the room so we got good, long sleeps with little traffic noise. The fridge in the room was handy and bathroom clean. Wifi was available in the lobby 24/7 so not a problem, but we found it strange that the lounge did not have wifi included so I'm guessing you had to pay the required €20 a day to get it. The lounge was disappointing in that the drinks were not replenished regularly and typically there would be a couple of bottle there contains a cheap whiskey and liquor, the dregs of a Larios gin and perhaps a few bottles of full sugar coke in the chiller! The beer pump was more out of action than in, and the crisps on offer were stale but there was always an abundance of saled peanuts! Dark room with Spanish TV and newspapers, no internet and poor drinks so compared to The Level at Melia hotels, thus one was a disappointment.
Nice rooftop pool however, with lots of comfy sun beds that opens at 11. Here, drinks were very expensive (no need, but I get they must have lots of business travellers willing to pay the price) |=: :€12 for a cocktail and €5 a small beer, €7 Corona?! But good atmosphere up here if you like Ibiza Sensations music - tip is to deck down early by the pool itself to avoid the loud music.
The location is great and a real advantage, and the staff are always cleaning: didn't eat here as too many places around Madrid to try out. In all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    843
    363
    120
    59
See reviews for
430
824
80
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

In principal I always subtract a star for no or expensive wifi, just for information. I was wondering wether to pull of another for general wear, but I think the roof terrace and pool is so damn cool, so I'll stick with the four stars. There aren't that many hotels in central Madrid with a decent outdoor pool, so you gotta give it to them; this gotta be one of the coolest roof terraces in Madrid. The bar up there is great too, and it is easy to spend much of the day up there. Risk is you won't be bothered going to the great museums.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent 4 wonderful nights at the Emperador Hotel in June. Got upgraded to a wonderful
junior suite on the 8th floor, with a balcony overlooking Gran Via.

Loved relaxing by the pool in the afternoon.

Great staff, friendly and helpful.

Will stay here again in a heartbeat !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkIquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel with my reservation printed and it was saying wifi and breakfast was included and they want to charge I had to argue with the receptionist when I had everything printed apart that the hotel is in a good location the decoration is a bit tired and they will charge you for everything if you want to have omelet they will charge the pool is really good but they may charge you too depending of the month you are travelling the room was big but no blackout curtains so the room was very bright

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at hotel for 3 nights in August and found it was an ideal place to explore Madrid from.Metro station is right outside of hotel entrance.Hotel room was a little dated but clean with a good shower.The highlight of our stay was the rooftop pool which was great to come back to after a day sight seeing in the heat of summer Staff very efficient and friendly and thought that it was good value for city centre location.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade which is 35 euros per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were looking for a hotel in the centre of Madrid with a decent pool as the temperature in Madrid in the summer is usually between 32 and 35 ºC. We chose this hotel because it ticked those two boxes.
Location wise, the hotel is a good base to explore Madrid whether by foot or metro. The hotel can be reached by metro from the airport, the ticket is 5 euros. The S. Domingo station is right outside the hotel. By taxi it costs 30 euros, this is a fixed rate to/from the airport.
We booked a standard room. It was a bit dated, the view was hideous to a wall and some of the fixtures such as the lamp in the room and the phone in the bathroom were coming apart from the wall but it had a minibar and a safe (free of charge unlike in other Spanish hotels), the shower was ok and it served its purpose. The only problem was that we kept on being awakened at 3 and 5 in the morning with people speaking loud when returning to their rooms.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The pool is a good size and it has a great view to the Royal Palace. However, as it has been written before, the water is very cold. It is good for a dip but you can't stay too long.
We didn't eat or drink at the hotel as there such a variety of choices in the Gran Via. We tried a pizzeria down the road, towards Plaza the España, which I recommend, the service was good and the food was nice. We also had several mojitos in TJI Friday, down the Gran Via. Their "after work" drinks (from 5 to 8) are worth it, they have sangria and cocktails for 2, 3 or 4 euros. There is also a supermarket near the hotel, on the right of the hotel's entrance.
We were travelling with our two children and If you have kids, here are 3 suggestions for Madrid:
1- Warner Bros Park - it is great fun for the all family. Buy the tickets online at least a week before and you'll get a good price. You can reach the park by metro and bus. Take the metro to Villa Verde Bajo and then for 3.60 Eur you take a bus to San Martin Vega and it will leave you right in front of the park.
2 - Bernabeu Stadium- It's 5 metro stations from the hotel.
3- Retiro Park. You can rent a rowing boat (45 minutes) for 7,50 on the weekend and 5,80 during the week.
To conclude, the best feature of this hotel is really its location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortugueseDiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in Emperador Hotel last month in order to go to 1D concert in the city. The hotel is very centrally located within easy walking distance of main shopping disctrict, Plaza Mayor, the palace and cathedral. The hotel is a little old and tired and in need of modernization - rooms very opulent but old fashioned. We had breakfast included - it was OK but on the 3 mornings we ate about 30 minutes before breakfast was due to end and each day there were no cooked eggs left and not much in the way of bacon, sausages etc - you would think these would be replenished right up to the end of breakfast for anyone who might want them. The restaurant staff were a bit grumpy. Housekeeping and maintenance staff very friendly and helpful - fixed a lamp in the room, the in-room safe and provided extra pillows when requested. There was free WIFI in the bar area or you had to pay 12€ a day for in-room WIFI which we felt was excessive. Loved Madrid - but would we stay at this hotel again? Probably not I will look for something else in that location but more modern.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#170 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Madrid

Property: Emperador Hotel Madrid
Address: Calle Gran Via 53, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#127 Business Hotel in Madrid
#151 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emperador Hotel Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel in Madrid is perfectly located in the lively Gran Vía of Madrid, only a few minutes of the main tourist attractions in the capital. It offers 232 guestrooms, meeting rooms and an amazing rooftop with terrace and swimming pool in season. Other services in the hotel: gym, souvenirs shop, hairdressing, steam bath and valet parking, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emperador Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Emperador Hotel
Emperador Madrid
Hotel Emperador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing