We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location with great roof top pool and terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Ranked #141 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed for 5 nights at the end of August, room only. Great location on Gran Via near to Plaza De España and Palacio Real. Everything you could want is on your doorstep, from modern to traditional restaurants, cafés and bars. The hotel itself is good, no complaints at all. It was great to spend the morning exploring the city followed by tapas late lunch and then pass a couple of hours relaxing by the large roof top pool - plenty of sun beds and a bar. It is free for residents or 32€ for anyone else. The hotel is at the west end of Gran Via so if you want to go to the east end museums and Retiro Park it is a 20 minute walk, or there is a metro station opposite the hotel (Santo Domingo) that is on the line to Retiro (1.50€). Also plenty of buses along Gran Via. Everywhere in the city centre is within easy walking distance. Would definitely stay here again, mainly due to the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJK1965RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Superb location on the Gran Via hence exceptionally close to main sights like the Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, El Rastro flea market and most of the best areas to eat and drink. There's also a very handy Metro stop quite literally 20 seconds from the front door, giving you access to the whole city.

Our room on the 7th floor was very clean and in top notch order, nothing out of place. We were concerned about noise from the street below but with the window closed, it was like the street wasn't there. The air con was just at the right level, meaning no uncomfortable sweaty nights (bearing in mind we were there mid-August).

We only had breakfast at the hotel once but it was an excellent buffet-style affair. Pricey at €19 a head mind however a great selection and freshly made.

Sadly the only thing we didn't check out was the rooftop pool, one of the reasons we booked the Emperador in the first place, but that's due to Madrid being a great city with plenty to do.

We'll be staying here again!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Al_Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Good choice if you want a central location; staff are very helpful and professional. The pool on the roof is a real asset. Our room was small with no view, but we knew that. Breakfast had a wide selection and we thought it was a fair price for what we received; best coffee in the whole trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grahame T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Good price for central location, with excellent pool on roof with great view of city. Room clean and comfortable, not huge, no view. Breakfast very expensive, we knew it would be and only had it once.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a great hotel, with all the public areas in good condition and with an amazing roof terrace and pool. Inside the rooms, the wallpaper is coming away, the furniture is old and it generally needs a refit. It doesn't feel like a luxury hotel in the rooms, so we spent as much time outside of them as possible!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for four days and loved the Location .
Got the metro from the airport which stops just 5mins from the Hotel
take line 8 to “ Nuevos ministerios station” and there, change to line 10 until Plaza de España station , this is just across the street from the Hotel .
The hotel is lovely old style and spotless clean.
yes it has some flaws but so has any Hotel that has so many guests coming and going most is just general wear and tear , but overall a really lovely Hotel.
The Roof Garden and pool are gorgeous , yes the pool is cold but it was 34c when we were there so this wasn't a problem.
Its lovely to sit here even just to have a drink.
We didnt have breakfast here as we thought it was too expensive ,
we ate in one of the small restaurants near by which was lovely.
We walked to most places , but if your not up to walking the metro is great and will get you to anywhere you want to go.
We loved Madrid and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked the Romance Package for a 3 night stay which included a bottle of cava and access to the club lounge. The room was ok if a bit worn and slightly musty smelling but it was clean so far so good. Check in was pretty quick, as we're the lifts and the bed was comfy with blak out curtains in the room so we got good, long sleeps with little traffic noise. The fridge in the room was handy and bathroom clean. Wifi was available in the lobby 24/7 so not a problem, but we found it strange that the lounge did not have wifi included so I'm guessing you had to pay the required €20 a day to get it. The lounge was disappointing in that the drinks were not replenished regularly and typically there would be a couple of bottle there contains a cheap whiskey and liquor, the dregs of a Larios gin and perhaps a few bottles of full sugar coke in the chiller! The beer pump was more out of action than in, and the crisps on offer were stale but there was always an abundance of saled peanuts! Dark room with Spanish TV and newspapers, no internet and poor drinks so compared to The Level at Melia hotels, thus one was a disappointment.
Nice rooftop pool however, with lots of comfy sun beds that opens at 11. Here, drinks were very expensive (no need, but I get they must have lots of business travellers willing to pay the price) |=: :€12 for a cocktail and €5 a small beer, €7 Corona?! But good atmosphere up here if you like Ibiza Sensations music - tip is to deck down early by the pool itself to avoid the loud music.
The location is great and a real advantage, and the staff are always cleaning: didn't eat here as too many places around Madrid to try out. In all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#87 of 437 in Madrid
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#199 of 437 in Madrid
1,409 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 437 in Madrid
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Madrid

Address: Calle Gran Via 53, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#127 Business Hotel in Madrid
#151 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £73 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emperador Hotel Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel in Madrid is perfectly located in the lively Gran Vía of Madrid, only a few minutes of the main tourist attractions in the capital. It offers 232 guestrooms, meeting rooms and an amazing rooftop with terrace and swimming pool in season. Other services in the hotel: gym, souvenirs shop, hairdressing, steam bath and valet parking, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelClick, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emperador Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Emperador Hotel
Emperador Madrid
Hotel Emperador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing