We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family rooms”
Review of Holiday Inn Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Madrid
Ranked #293 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Cascais
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family rooms”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Comfortable, quiet, near a huge shopping area with good transport throughout the city and airport. The hotel has family rooms with two double beds and Kids eat free till 12.

The hotel is just 5 mins walk from the Bernabeu but very hard to find. If you're going to watch real madrid this is the place to stay although you may be have a queue in front of reception and elevator (after the game)

Disavantages:
High cost of breakfast (€ 13.2) and parking (27 €).
Entrance to parking lot a bit confusing.

The walls are thin and late showers may wake you up.

Only one device at a time on WiFi unless you pay extra

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma M, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about the Holiday Inn Madrid. We take note of all your comments.
Hoping to welcome you back soon to Holiday Inn Madrid,

Yours sincerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    324
    214
    66
    41
See reviews for
282
113
51
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We ended up at the Holiday Inn after a horrendous experience at the apartment we had prebooked, We were so pleased to arrive and find the hotel and it's staff very welcoming. The receptionist who checked us in was very helpful as I had only made the booking 30 minutes before. We got an excellent rate even though we booked at the last minute. The hotel was very comfortable and had lots of services. It was a shame that the swimming pool wasn't open, even though it was 25 degrees. The Bernabeu is a 5 minute stroll and there are plenty of restaurants and supermarkets close by. I believe there is a metro station close by, even though we didn't use it. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma M, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay in Holiday Inn Madrid Bernabéu

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service.
We are also proud to be certainly for you your choice in Madrid for your next stay in our city.

Yours sincerely,

Paloma Munoz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed the night here for business. I got a non smoking room and the smell off smoke got worse throughout the night. The walls are thin and every bump and thud wakes you up. The bathroom was not cleaned properly and empty shampoo bottles were left from the previous occupant. The toilet did not flush. I would call this cheap and cheerful but I paid 167 euros for the night. To top it all I got bites on my ankles in the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahulb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma M, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really sorry to hear about your comments and that your experience at Holiday Inn was not as good as you expected, we would like to thanks your comments as this always help us to improve.

We will be always happy to welcome you at Holiday Inn and to prepare your visit in advance, please do not hesitate to contact me direct in case you want to come again

Yours sincerely,

Paloma Munoz,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have read a number of negative reviews of this hotel so was a bit apprehensive when I booked it for a family holiday. I have to say that the hotel was very nice, extremely friendly staff, rooms are perfect we had a very big room with a sofa which turned into a bed. Location if very good, you can take the metro into the old town in about 10 mins, the real advantage I found to this hotel's location was that you can get away from the hustle of the old town as the location is much quieter. There are lots of bars, restaurants etc beside the hotel so no shortage of places for breakfast, we had coffee and croissants for 3 people for 7 euro in a coffee shop.

Room Tip: If you want to tour Real Madrid football stadium go around 12 o'clock when the queues for ticket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma M, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate your comments and thank them for giving us the opportunity to meet us and give us positive feedback.

We will be always happy to welcome you at Holiday Inn Madrid Bernabéu,

Yours sincerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lovely hotel, stayed here only for one night purpose of visit was to go to a Real Madrid game.
The staff were helpful and friendly, hotel in a central location for the stadium and shops but very hard to find.
Breakfast ok. Room was nice and clean, but had terribly noisy neighbours. As in they kept us awake for over two hours. Not great with a young child in our room... To be fair, I think if we had contacted reception I am sure they would have asked them to quieten down but the soundproofing needs to be better. Pool closed as only opens in summer months

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktv1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma M, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about the Holiday Inn Madrid Bernabéu. We take note of all your comments.

I beg you in future stays not hesitate to contact the reception, if you experience any problem, in order to resolve it and be sure that you have a complete pleasant stay

Hoping to welcome you back soon,

Yours sincerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel is a short walk from the Metro station that serves the Bernabeu stadium (home to Real Madrid for non football fans). This makes it ideal to travel on the Metro to/from the airport or the city centre (as well as the football). It is very close to a designer shopping centre (beware not open on Bank holidays).
Our family of four (2 adults and 2 children) enjoyed the quiet comfortable room after staying in an apartment in Madrid city centre for 6 nights.(Very noisy - especially late at night).
The staff at reception were very helpful, knowledgeable and spoke excellent English (my Spanish is not the best). The hotel and room was very clean and fresh with free wifi and tea/coffee.
We took our evening meal in the restaurant and the food was of a very high standard, hot and tasty. Service was good too. We ate from the buffet as the choice was immense and well presented. We stayed at Halloween and the headless pianist was excellent in reception. Didn't take breakfast as we were on an early flight. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wotnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma M, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments of our hotel,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our location. We are always happy to read that you feel you received great service.

We are also proud to be certainly for you your choice in Madrid for your next stay in our city.

Yours sincerely

Paloma Munoz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed in Madrid between 22 to 26 February 2014 for a short break.

This hotel is not in the main drag but is walking distance to the Real Madrid football stadium. However, it has a bus stop nearby that has frequent buses and the no 27 (€1.50 one way) takes you along the route for the main sites and attractions. Approximately 20 minutes gets you to the Musee del Prado, Museo Thyssen and the Reina Sofia Museum (this is slightly further but walkable from the other two). Also the Jardin Botanico is right next to the Musee del Prado. Also the bus terminates at the popular sunday flea market El Rastro, which is worth a visit but please watch your belongings as everybody walks elbow to elbow and thieves are on the prowl.

The hotel itself is a bit dated and has a small footprint. The breakfast area is congested and the Sunday I had had breakfast there it was very disappointing. The staff weren't interested in helping and we had to order out teas and coffee three times over half hour before we got them! I didn't get a chance to use the pool as they have one but it's open air. However, the room was clean and we had free wifi. The front desk staff were helpful and the tip of using the local bus to get to the museums came from them. There is a very nice Thai spa with a wide menu of treatments, though not cheap.

There is a taxi rank outside but they frequently go by on the main roads so relatively easy to hail one of you need. There is a Starbucks opposite the
hotel and also a TGI Friday, if you like. There are also two Italian restaurants nearby.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to one of the main department chains in Madrid - Cortes des Ingles - and also the train system (underground). For the shoppers amongst you there are several international 'designer' stores dotted around that area, as well as chains such as Mango.

In summary, don't expect the wow factor but it is clean and tidy. The location is great and probably it's best asset.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pocketrocketshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma M, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our location . Concerning the items you have mentioned regarding the breakfast staff will be addressed with our Food & Beverage Manager.

Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you more pleasant stay in the future

Sicerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Office Mnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
#300 of 435 in Madrid
158 reviews
AC Hotel Aitana
#180 of 435 in Madrid
376 reviews
H10 Tribeca
#133 of 435 in Madrid
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Senator Castellana Hotel
#250 of 435 in Madrid
454 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madrid

Property: Holiday Inn Madrid
Address: Plaza Carlos Trias Bertran 4, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Access by Orense Street, 22 /24 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madrid Hotel Madrid
Madrid Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing