We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid - a luxurious base for sightseeing”
Review of Hesperia Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hesperia Madrid
Ranked #14 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Clean, practical, stylish, luxurious, with friendly and helpful staff, a great breakfast, great bar and restaurant, La Manzana (delicious amuse-bouche a nice surprise). Lovely relaxed overall ambience and vibe. Stayed here for a short sightseeing break in Madrid, hoping this would be the best value, even allowing for getting taxis in and out of the centre (approx 8 Euros to Prado, in under 10 mins, always a taxi ready at hotel, and no problem finding one in central Madrid either). Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed in a spacious Premium room (more like a suite than a room), which had a huge and v. comfortable bed, with several pillows (so didn’t need to use the pillow menu service which offers another 9 options). Facing the main road, so a light rumble of traffic (easily blocked by ear plugs), didn’t hear any other noise – bedroom is set back from the corridor, and doors close quietly. The room was warm (perfect), the air con was quiet, though if you wanted an icy blast, didn’t seem to get v cold (didn’t matter to me, but might to some people). Wi-fi was good.

Very much a five star hotel (hotel website lists all the amenities etc available – too many to list here).

Trendy and very good restaurant, La Gabinoteca, two streets behind the hotel (arrive before 9 to avoid queuing for a table) in a residential area with corner shops, bar, etc.

A five minute walk and you are just entering Salamanca area, about 25 mins walk to Chueca (walking lesiureley).

A splendid and luxurious base for sightseeing in Madrid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebble082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabl0-Gonzalez, Guest Relations Manager at Hesperia Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Pebble082,

Even though we frequently receive positive comments about our Hotel, yours are specially exceptional.

Be assured that they will encourage our team to continue with our efforts to achieve continuous improvement and excellent service. I have read your comments literally during our last operational meeting and also put a copy on our staff information board.

Again, many thanks for your inspiring remarks and we hope to welcome you back in the Hotel Hesperia Madrid in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pablo González
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for Hesperia Madrid
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Location was okay, but not particularly close to any meetings.

Fitness rooms were in two empty hotel rooms, not a very impressive range of equipment but it was useable.

Wifi was weak in my room, but okay in the bar and breakfast restaurant...

The complimentary sweets were a nice touch. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Maywald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabl0-Gonzalez, Guest Relations Manager at Hesperia Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear David,

Thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Hotel Hesperia Madrid it is our aim to cover the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team to accomplish with success. I can assure you that we are hardly working in order to improve our fitness rooms and it would be a pleasure to show you on your next visit to Madrid.

Yours sincerely,

Pablo González
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a standard room. Comfortable and elegant room, friendly and helpful staff. Right next to metro with centre three stops away. Would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Madrid

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabl0-Gonzalez, Guest Relations Manager at Hesperia Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

I hope to have the opportunity to meet you personally on your next visit to Madrid.

Yours sincerely,

Pablo González
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had the pleasure of booking the Hesperia Madrid thru LuxuryLink.. we bought a junior suite package.. This room is anything but Junior. Large, with windows on 2 sides and a luxury bathroom complete with 5 star products and every essential one could need. Anytime we made a request it was immediately attended to. The only negative is the distance to major sites... but 10Euros will take you by taxi and it is a quiet, safe neighborhood!!! Breakfast is wonderful... I would definitely stay here again!!!!!! Thank you for making us feel like home while in Madrid!!!

Room Tip: try to request a junior suite on high floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katz9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabl0-Gonzalez, Guest Relations Manager at Hesperia Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Katz9988,

It is a real pleasure to receive positive comments about our Hotel like yours.

Be assured that they will encourage our team to continue with our efforts to achieve continuous improvement and excellent service.

Many thanks for your inspiring remarks and we hope to welcome you back in the Hotel Hesperia Madrid in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pablo González
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Hesperia Madrid is far beyond what we expected. The room was extremely comfortable and luxurious and quiet. Breakfast was worth the €30.

What blew us away, though, was the extremely high level of service. All staff were professional, competent, helpful and always went beyond what we expected. Most notably, Valeria in Guest Services made our stay especially wonderful. After asking about our visit, she provided a personalized map, recommended places to visit, made reservations and was incredibly gracious. She made our stay memorable. Many thanks to Valeria and all the excellent staff at Hesperia Madrid!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seattle_Wine_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabl0-Gonzalez, Guest Relations Manager at Hesperia Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Even though we frequently receive positive comments about our Hotel, yours are specially exceptional.

Be assured that they will encourage our team to continue with our efforts to achieve continuous improvement and excellent service. I have read your comments literally during our last operational meeting and also put a copy on our staff information board.

Again, many thanks for your inspiring remarks and we hope to welcome you back in the Hotel Hesperia Madrid in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pablo González
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here 3/5-3/8 with our 20 year old daughter who is studying abroad in Florence. We met up with her in Barcelona, and took the Ave train to Madrid.

The Hesperia is a fine, beautiful hotel. It is apparently a hub for business travelers, of whom we saw many. Our check-in was fast and easy and our room was ready when we arrived around 2 PM. The person at the front desk said that she upgraded us, since there were three of us and felt the original room would be too small. That was good news...but then we got to the room and were surprised how small the "upgraded" room was. We had paid for a triple, so I don't understand why the room was so small or the sudden need to "upgrade" us. There were two twin beds placed together, and a small bed next to it that was low to the ground. Suffice to say that my daughter was not pleased.

In the middle of the first night, we all woke up incredibly sweaty. The room was like a sauna. I turned off the heat, which helped a little but not much. When I spoke to the front desk the next day, I was told that the A/C doesn't work, and there are no other rooms to switch us to so we were basically out of luck. She said she'd send up someone to look into it but set our expectations that likely there was nothing that could be done. This was not the answer I'd hoped for. The next two nights were uncomfortable even with the heat shut off completely.

Other than that, we found the front desk to be accommodating and helpful. When I inquired about the cost of taking a train to Toledo, we later found a train schedule printed out and placed in our room, even though we hadn't asked for that. Later, someone at the front desk followed up by asking if we had any more questions about getting the train, which is an example of going "above and beyond".

And probably the highlight of the hotel is the breakfast buffet which was included in our room price. A description of it probably wouldn't do it justice, but they had about the widest variety of breakfast foods I've ever seen. It was a great way to start the day.

From a tourism perspective, the Hesperia is not in a great location. Getting to the main attractions (e.g., the Prado and other museums) is typically a 10 euro cab ride or more. It is just not walkable. That being said, finding a hotel more in the hub of the action probably would've been out of our price range. Overall, the hotel is terrific but as mentioned above there were a couple of things we found suboptimal.

Room Tip: As mentioned in the body of my review, you might want to check on room size (e.g., number and size o...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling Wilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabl0-Gonzalez, Guest Relations Manager at Hesperia Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking time to comment on our Hotel and the services rendered. We highly value your opinion for process of continuous improvement and as a base for making our guests stay more enjoyable every time.

At the Hotel Hesperia Madrid our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this. We are very sorry to know that some aspects were not to your total satisfaction. Regarding to your comments about the temperature and the size of the room, I can assure you that I follow up personally on your comment in order to content all requests of our customers.

Thanking you again for your time, I remain at your entire disposal. Sending you my best regards, we look forward to welcome you back to Madrid at the Hesperia Madrid Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Pablo González
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A nice hotel, very well equipped but a bit too chic. The breakfast buffet was amazing (fresh, well equipped, excellent quality)!
The Nespresso machin in the room is great, but 14 € for a soft drink and a chocolate bar from the minibar is far too expensive!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbarella2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabl0-Gonzalez, Guest Relations Manager at Hesperia Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Pablo González
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#12 of 438 in Madrid
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
1,057 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#23 of 438 in Madrid
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Madrid

Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 57 | Chamberi, Centro, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madrid
#8 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#13 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £129 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the sophisticated and chic Hotel Hesperia Madrid is one of the city's leading contemporary luxury showcases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), NHHotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hesperia Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hesperia Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing