We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hesperia Madrid
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Preciados(Madrid)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,638)
Filter reviews
1,638 results
Traveller rating
1,140
369
86
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,140
369
86
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch barguest relationspaseo de la castellanametro stationturn down servicepillow menubreakfast buffetfive star hoteljunior suitenespresso machinebusiness districtexcellent hotelbusiness tripthe air conditioningnice roomcity centrethe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,638 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I just spent two nights at the Hesperia Madrid; I had two rooms for my children and myself. Because I had such an attractive rate for the rooms owing to an online offer, it feels almost wrong to complain about anything, but I want to paint a clear picture of what the hotel is and isn't for those considering it.

Firstly, the service is fantastic. We arrived several hours in advance of our check in and they happily gave us one of our rooms which was ready to be occupied. Additionally, they cheerfully accommodated our flight schedule and allowed for a late check out. The staff at the reception, in the lobby and at the door was without exception attentive, informative an genuinely friendly.

The lobby is pleasant if not a little dated in it's design concepts. At the rear of the reception area there is a very inviting patio dining area which I sadly skipped as it seemed better suited to business people than the children I was traveling with.

The two rooms I had were slightly different from one another. They were both oriented toward the interior (i.e, not the street) which meant they were slightly dark yet quiet which I assumed (correctly) would make for better sleep than a sunny room facing Castellana. One room was fairly small in size and had two twin beds; this was a very cramped space and the darker and sadder of the two rooms. The second room had an expansive bedroom area with a queen bed. While it faced a wall in the courtyard, the bathroom window looked out on to an open space and subsequently had plenty of natural light. So be ready because as I learned, the rooms in the same category can vary dramatically in terms of size and light. Because I was both tired and humbled by my insane online rate, I didn't try to jockey for a better room. I just let it be, which I think is basically all you can do in Spain most of the time. It is what it is.

The rooms were comfortable, but not perfect. If you are someone who is amused by good design, the look of these rooms will not grab you. The interior is "generic hotel" with it's cranberry, dark wood and brass. Banal but comfortable. The one super negative of the interiors concerned the desk chair in my larger room had a rather unfortunate stain on the seat. Nothing takes a girl out of basking in luxury like seeing yucky stains.

The good news is that the bathrooms were very nice in both rooms with natural stone, a large bathtub and nice towels and robes. In fact, the bathroom was the only component of the room that met the standards of a 5 star hotel that is part of the Leading Hotels of the World network. The only trouble in this area is the slight suggestion of mold growing on the corners of the tub where tile meets porcelain. That made for a less than perfect bath experience.

In the final analysis, I think this is a fantastic hotel to stay in if you are able to procure a great rate. I might not set out to book this hotel as a destination because there are probably other hotels in Madrid in this category that would provide a more luxurious stay overall.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrottermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Off the central groove but great value and 100 metres from the metro, which will take you anywhere. We were upgraded on arrival, without asking. Good 5* room. Did not eat breakfast in hotel (it seemed expensive). Excellent, prompt room service. Great staff. Great shops and huge department store within walking distance (have a good value breakfast at the restaurant in the department store, El Corte Ingles). Top restaurant, one of the best in Spain, right next to the hotel. Do the hop-on-hop-off bus (which runs to late at night in summer and then buy a museum pass for the three top museums (don't fall for expensive cards or tours). Enjoyed Spain but if you are vegetarian you need to do some research first, Madrid is cured ham territory.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenBagBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I got a very good deal for this hotel through the late rooms web site - paying an average of about 75 euros each night for 3 nights. The room was comfortable and spacious, although quite dark as the windows overlooked a courtyard. The air conditioning was not working in the room that I was first allocated, so after many calls to reception they moved me to another room.
One night I decided to try the restaurant. I asked if the menu del dia still applied in the evening and was told yes. However it turned out that it didn't and I ended up having few tapas at an extortionate cost. The service in the restaurant was abysmal, but apart from that service was basically OK, although I didn't find the staff nearly as helpful as most of the other reviewers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sussexART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

the hotel is in a great location and is easy to find. the staff is very nice--- we arrived very early in the morning and we realized we were too early to check in, but they let us change our clothes in a bathroom with a shower and held our bags for no extra change. when we returned to check in they had upgraded us since we had to wait to check in. very nice. the hotel is beautiful and the staff was really nice!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank regazzamilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Title: The Leading Hotels of the World (04LHW09) Splendid Moments at the Hesperia Madrid!

We stayed at the superb Hesperia Madrid for 2 nights/3 days from the 30th of May 2009 to the 1st of June 2009 and had a fantastic experience in Madrid, the capital of Spain. First we had started in Dublin with BMI ( British Midlands ) and flew to London-Heathrow T1 and connected to our flight with Iberia from London-Heathrow T3 to Madrid Barajas T4 - T4 was designed by world-famous architect Richard Rogers! After our arrival here in Madrid we took a taxi to the Hesperia Madrid at a cost of 27 Euros for around 20 min. drive. The check-in at this masterpiece was fast, friendly and super efficient and rewarding because we received a free upgrade to a fabulous Business Suite no. 607 on the 6th floor with front views over the Paseo de la Castellana. We also had breakfast included at the La Manzana Restaurant each morning - we could have also taken our breakfast at our suite for a 6 Euro delivery charge. The check-in was just perfect in the beautiful lobby which is stunning designed in light natural wood accents which gives the hotel a edgy modern yet grounded feel in almost asian surroundings which a real spanish touch to it! We can only say you will be surprised how nice it is! The staff was also super friendly from our arrival experience to the departure! The location is just perfect as well in the northern part of the famous Paseo de la Castellana within easy reach of the Underground network and taxis are always available in this superb city. Within easy walking distance to the south of the hotel is the upscale Serrano Shopping district think El Corte Ingles, Loewe, Gucci, Prada and many many more to choose from. The Hesperia Hotel is also surrounded by other hotels incl. the Intercontinental - see our review - we had stayed there in 2008! -, the Occidental Miguel Angel is also around the corner and opposite the Paseo de la Castellana we had found the Hesperia sister hotel The Emperatriz, a member of the World Hotels First Class Collection. Our hotel the Hesperia Madrid has a 5 star rating and is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World and Virtuoso - were it had been awarded one of the best Hotel and Resort experiences in the World. The Hesperia, thanks to the world famous Santceloni Restaurant holds also the Relais and Chateaux Membership of prestigious fine Dinning and Living. All in all the Hesperia should be in our opinion one of the best hotels in the World. Coming back to our room now, Folks! No. 607 was a business suite in a three room lay-out incl. Hallway, Living-room, Bedroom and fully marbled bathroom. The large wardrobe is a built-in at the hallway which offered lots of space plus 11 hangers, 2 mirrors built into every door incl. one horizontal mirror in the middle of the wardrobe. Opposite the wardrobe in the hallway we had found the double-glassed entrance door to the superb bathroom. The Living-room was large and superb furnished incl. wine-red plush carpets with yellow dots all elegant laid out - this carpet can also be found in the hallway and in the separate bedroom. Our Living-room also incl. accented noble wood cupboard which holds a large LCD TV from Philips with the following TV channels on offer incl. CNN, Sky News, Eurosport, CNBC, Bloomberg, many spanish and french channels plus arabic, italian and german TV channels. All in all we had 36 TV channels to choose from. We had also Pay TV which incl. Hollywood Blockbusters, Adult movies, Hollywood Classic movies plus Kids friendly movies and much more choices to choose from all for 15.51 Euro per movie for Hollywood Blockbusters as an example. There was also a special offer were we could have availed of all Pay TV Services unlimited for 24 hours for 37.45 Euro incl. free internet access via TV - keyboard was provided in the cupboard. The cupboard holds also glasses, spoons, bottle openers, napkins, coasters and a good sized personal safe plus at the bottom the fully stocked mini-bar incl. Apple juice, Pineapple juice, Burn Energy drinks, tropical juices from Asturiana, 1x small toblerone, 1x M&Ms, Nussini by Milka, Pringles, Heineken Beer, Amstel Beer, Fanta, Coca-Cola plus Nordic Mist Tonic Water produced by Coca-Cola, also on offer had been 2x Bacardi, 1x Chivas Regal, 1x J&B Whisky, 1x Ballantines, 2x Beefeater gin, 1x Smirnoff vodka, 2x Fontvella Water still ( 500 ml ), 2x Perrier Water sparkling ( 500 ml ) plus one half-bottle of Piper-Heidsick Champagne for 35 Euros. Beside the commanding cupboard we also found one large natural wood luggage rack, moving further we found one large writing table incl. a superb De Longhi Nespresso machine for our pleasure for free use which incl. 2x Mikasa Hotel and Restaurant Maxima Nespresso Sets, 4x Nespresso capsules for the best flavour of this very smooth coffee, napkins, brown and white sugar which was Hesperia branded plus 2x coffee milk from Oldenburger of Germany! Also on the superb executive-style writing table we found the following items incl. Hesperia Hotel Information incl. on restaurnats, the SKYGYM SPA Treatments on offer, 24h room-service menue incl. choices from the world-famous Santceloni Restaurant in the Hotel, 1x Hesperia Momentos Guest Magazine, leather bound writing paperholder incl. envelopes, writing paper, hotel business card, and many office supplies incl. stapler, pencil and pencil sharpener. The writing table had also 2x storages spaces - one on each side, plus 1x lamp, 1x Teledex ( TM ) telephone and 2x power outlets and one internet modem connection via cable. The table was dark brown natural wood with a glass plate and a comfortable executive style chair. One large picture frame mirror was above the desk. Moving further through the superb living room in our suite we found also incl. 1 large arm chair, 1 sofa for two people all luxuriously upholstered in red! We had floor to ceiling picture frame windows which could be fully opened with splendid Paseo de la Castellana views. We had stylish curtains and really thick black-out curtains over them for night time use, all coloured in cream and red stripes like the executive writing desk chair for co-ordination. In the Living-room we had also 2 prints on the wall showing 2 majestic horses plus enough room for our sit-down room-service Dinner! - see separate reviews for eating and drinking at the splendid Hesperia - see our profile! - We had also 1 standing lamp and a nice large coffee table which was laden with complementary - free - welcome gifts for us incl. 2x oranges, 2x orange gelee pieces, 1x San Pellegrino water sparkling 500ml, 1x Voss Water from Norway still 500ml, 1x glass, 2x fork and knife set, 2x linen napkins, 2x plates and 1x pack of handmade luxury chocolates filled with tahitian vanilla plus a welcome message from the Hotel manager! The Living-room also incl. a shoe polishing set, 24h laundry services, 4x light sources, Air-conditioning and a smoke detector. Our bedroom was separated from our Living-room via wooden noble sliding doors and incl. one large real King-size bed, 5x pillows, pillow-menu, even a mattress menu was on offer! - ever heard of that? -, Godiva Chocolate Turn-down services, white linen all the way, large very comfortable mattress, large bed throw in wine-red like the carpet incl. the yellow dots, the bedroom incl. also the second LCD TV by Philips with the same offerings as the LCD TV by Philips in our Living-room! In the bedroom we found also the following items incl. 2x night tables with lamps, all finished in brown natural wood - same colour as in Living-room for wooden furniture -, 1x Leading Hotels of the World 2009 Catalogue, Telephone on the right side of the bed, a second Remote control for the second TV! We also found incl. one pillow menu, one mattress menu, 1x in-room breakfast menu, 1x guest questionaire, Digital+ TV Programme, 1x Madrid 2009 Style Guide, 1x Through-the-TV Communications guide and Hesperia Hotels Environmental notices. The Bed-Head board was in stylish brown leather with wood and golden metal decoration for a noble look! We had also found 5x romantic angel prints on the bedroom walls plus the windows could also all opened just like the windows in the Living-room with superb front of the house views over the superb Paseo de la Castellana. We also found 2x pairs of slippers, 2x Power outlets, 3x light sources and one dressing chair plus one airconditioning unit and one smoke detector in the Bedroom. All rooms had been luxurious throughout and very very comfortable, welcoming and warm furnished, perfect to relax! All featured spanish design with an international classical touch which stand in sharp contrast with the ultra-modern public spaces of the Hotel' s ground-floors. We found this to be a splendid solution with just the right balance to creates something new and exciting but be grounded and comfortable for living. All the walls incl. the ceiling had a warm cream / soothing light yellow colour scheme. The Bedroom had one again the stylish curtains as found in the Living-room! Moving on to room no. 3, Folks! The Bathroom! The Bathroom was in complete light-brown marble and black granite tiling at it' s best and was upper medium to large in size! In the Bathroom we found incl. 1 sink by Roca, Sink tap by Roca, comfortable medium-sized bathtub with shower combination, - the shower was fully move-able and easy to handle! -, 1 glass divider between tub and bathroom, heated towel rail was on offer, the bathroom entrance door was a glass double door with stylish glass combinations and golden handle. We also had incl. 2x bathrobes, 2x Hand towels, 2x Face towels, 2x large bath towels, 1x bath mat and 1x stylish grooming chair, all towels had been Hesperia branded by the way! At the bathroom we had also found incl. this items: 1 telephone by Alcatel, Hygiene bags, Waste basket - there was also one in the Living-room -, 2x rolls of toilet paper, Keenex, 1x round make-up / shaving mirror, 1x large super horizontal mirror above the sink, which encompasses the whole wall from sink to ceiling, loudspeaker and volume regulator for TV by Optimus, 1x professional hairdryer by Aliseo 1200 watt! The water pressure was good to very good at all water points. We also had in the bathroom incl. 1x power outlet, Several light-sources built into the ceiling, other amenities incl. 2x glasses for tooth-brushes, coasters, fresh flowers and welcome amenities by italian Luxury House BULGARI incl. 2x hand soaps, shampoo, shower gel, body lotion, hair conditioner, plus extensive Hesperia Hotels branded amenities incl. Comb, Brush, Dental and Sewing kits, cotton pads, cotton sticks, shower cap, and nail file which rounds up the complete picture of our magnificent Business Suit no. 607 at the splendid Hesperia Madrid Hotel. After our two night / three days, the check-out was fast and the taxi was there within 2 minutes and only 20 minutes later we had been at Madrid' s Barajas Airport T4 for our flight with Iberia to London-Heathrow T3 and on to Dublin T1 with BMI. Perfect in every sense. This all adds up to PERFECT MOMENTS AT THE HESPERIA AND MADRID FOR US! Please see at our profile here at Tripadvisor for the separate REVIEW of the Restaurants, Breakfast and Room-service reviews for the Hesperia Madrid which we had so enjoyed and can only highly recommend. By the way! See also our reviews of other Hotels in Madrid we had stayed in incl. The Hilton Madrid Airport - a stunner too!, The Intercontinental Madrid - which was international in style! Plus the food and drink reviews of the Hesperia Hotel Madrid and others! So do not forget to FLY!STAY!EXPLORE! MORE! and learn something about the world!


------original review-------

Subject: Hesperia Madrid
Location: Madrid, Spain, Europe
Title: The Leading Hotels of the World! 04LHW09 Fantastic Moments of drinking and eating at the Hesperia Madrid!

Hello, again! Here we review the superb Hesperia Madrid Hotel' s fantastic drinking and eating outlets we used during our stay here between the 30th of May 2009 to the 1st of June 2009 for 2 nights / 3 days. For a full hotel/room/suite/location/travel review please see our profile and choose our first review for that! Thank You! We stayed at a Business Suite no. 607 on the 6th floor in the famous Hesperia Madrid Hotel which is 5 star rated and a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. On our first evening we had used the superb room-service option which was available 24h a day! We had for our dinner the following incl. 2x ham and cheese sandwich - a real classic in Spain incl. a large portion of fries to go with, this came with 2x Hero Ketchup, Mayonnaise and Mustard selection and our dessert a splendid crunchy cereal and Hazel nut cake pie came from the world-famous Hesperia located Santceloni Restaurant ( Relais and Chateaux ) under the direction of 2- Michelin star Superchef Santi Santimaria. We also enjoyed juices from the mini-bar by Asturiana and complementary Nespresso coffee freshly brewed on the in-suite De Longhi Nespresso Machine. The bill came in, incl. VAT, Service 67. 00 Euros. This we found very good value, seeing the quality and prestige of the fine food in a fine hotel. The presentation was also romantic and world-class. On both our mornings we enjoyed the Original Hesperia Breakfast buffett in the also famous La Manzana Restaurant which is located in the ultra-modern ground floor section of the hotel. The Breakfast was already included in our over-night price and would normally came in at a cost per person incl. VAT and Service 23.00 Euros. Once again very good value seeing the high quality and choice we had incl. sushi, salmon, fritatta, eggs, vegetables, sweets, fresh bread selection - still hot!, superb coffee services, fresh juices incl. orange, peach, tomato, pineapple and others! Fresh milk selection incl. soya, full fat, half-fat! Large fresh cut fruit selection incl. melon, oranges, kiwi and and and. The La Manzana Restaurant at Breakfast time was always full with families, business people or couples like us! Enjoying the fabulous moments of romance in a modern, asian relaxed setting on both mornings! The Monday morning breakfast was somewhat different however from the Sunday morning breakfast incl. orange specialites were on offer on monday incl. candied orange sticks, orange pieces and herbs, orange jams, orange juices, orange mouse and orange creme brulee! Highly recommended! In the Lobby Lounge the heart of the hotel we enjoyed 2 signature cocktails named VERY WELL! In fact they had been very well indeed! A fresh connoctation of different fruits and juices - non - alcoholic! which were served with a asian nut selection and for the fun part a large portion of M&Ms! The Bill came in for the drinks incl. VAT and Service plus free Newspapers 25 Euros! There is always a free choice of papers around the whole Lobby area at the Hesperia Madrid, but mostly in Spanish! Neverless we are in Spain! On our second night we enjoyed Dinner with many others at the superb Scotch Bar and Restaurant in the middle of the Hotel' s groundfloor by the lobby and the designer gift-shop on the other side! At the Scotch Bar we enjoyed incl. 1x Cloudy Juice Water from Tasmania/Australia ( large bottle 750 ml - this water is 400x cleaner than average water from the supermarket! ) chosen from the Waters of the World Menu at the Hesperia, 1x hot chocolate served with freshly made Florentine thins before our dinner, 1x refreshing whisky sour cocktail served in a large martini glass - simply superb!, my fiancee and me enjoyed both the Hesperia Signature Hamburger incl. Provolone cheese, well done beef patty, Arugola leaves, served with nice fries and freshly made Aoili! Fantastic! This is a true elevated Signature Hamburger Experience! After our main-meal we enjoyed all both of us the thin sliced apple pie - very fine - with full flavoured cinnamon ice-cream and she enjoyed also 1 frehly brewed stylish presented cappuccino and myself I enjoyed 1 more hot chocolate also equally stylish presented after our meal incl. in both cases with very very fine coconut gelee on the side! 1A! The Service was always friendly and the atmosphere was easy going but upscale in the true sense! The Bill came in incl. VAT and Service Charge at 88.16 Euros. Very good for a Very good Evening at the Hesperia. For more fine moments at this world-famous hotel see our separate full review here at Tripadvisor and read and than experience for yourself! This hotel was flawless all the way from our suite upgrade to welcome gifts via the fine dining and drinking experiences to the Bulgari bathroom amenities! Simply Moments to delight in! See also our reviews about other hotels in Madrid we had stayed in incl. the Hilton Madrid Airport and the Intercontinental Madrid! Please do not forget to FLY!STAY!EXPLORE! MORE! and experience the world through every sense! Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews