We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor, shame about the a/c”
Review of Hesperia Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hesperia Madrid
Ranked #14 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, shame about the a/c”
Reviewed 14 March 2006

Lovely hotel, attentive staff, excellent breakfast (I can´t imagine what a previous reviewer was talking about). Room was not huge and faced the back so as a previous reviewer said request front facing if that bothers you. However, the main and major fault it had was that the air-conditioning wasn´t working and when we mentioned it we were told that the hotel doesn´t switch it on till later in the year. It made our night very uncomfortable and with the room facing a rear courtyard couldn´t get a breeze either. Would I stay there again? Not if the a/c wasn´t working, otherwise yes.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    326
    80
    22
    17
See reviews for
256
463
75
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
166 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2006

unbeatable location, friendly and proffessional staff, impressive room with great minibar display, views over the Castellana avenue, excellent haute cuisine restaurant

  • Stayed July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2005

My girlfriend and me stayed at the Hesperia in September 2005.

Pluses:
-The hotel staff was very friendly and helpfull, eventhough they didnt speak english perfectly (which i expect when staying at a 5*-Leading Hotel of the World)
-Junior Suites were very big and nicely decorated
-House Keeping did a good job keeping the rooms clean

Minuses:
-The breakfest which was included in our room price (EUR 300 p. night) was just terrible. The warm stuff was mainly cold. The sausages were burned and the eggs looked greenish. The breakfest buffet did have good freshly squeezed juices.
But the worst thing on sunday. Merely every 5* I ever stayed in had a nice Sunday brunch. Not the Hesperia. They have the same crappy breakfest as the rest of the week.

Overall if you stay at this hotel and book a rate with no breakfest incl. you will have a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bodo1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2005

My husband and I went to Madrid to celebrate my birthday and we chose this hotel because we wanted a nicer hotel than what we could get for the same price in the center, and it turned out to be a very nice stay. It is located in a more residential/business area of madrid, but there are still very nice restaurants not far from the hotel where we could go for breakfast (EUR 25 pp at the buffet was a bit steep) or out at night since its located in one of the nicest residential neighborhoods.
The fact that is was a bit far from the center was not a problem at all, there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which takes you directly to the center (15 min direct ride to the Puerta del Sol), and a metro stop half a block away where you can easily get to the airport (changing once). And although the room we got was a bit small (and had an inside view) there were very nice amenities that made up for it: fruit basket when you arrive (only the first day), great bathroom and toiletries, the most luscious bathrobe, and even a pillow menu!
The restaurants at the hotel (2) are good but a bit expensive, and there is one that has 1 michelin star. went to the other one and had the best paella-type thing ever!!
all in all, very nice hotel a bit far from tourist attractions but very easy to get from here to any place and well worth it for the price we got!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ansalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2005

When I arrived they had the garage full. They gave me the location of a garage nearby but after several attempts I returned to the reception and they didnt care much...
The room was located near a stair used by people strange to the hotel and the problem with wekends in Madrid is that the famous "movida" stop your from sleeping. I can understand that in a 2 or 3 star hotel but not in a 5 star. The room was overheated, and I couldnt find the button to swich off...
In the morning the breakfast was OK but there was a traffic jam at the lobby to pay the bill and go away.

  • Stayed February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ordep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2005

Nothing fancy, but perfectly nice. The room was adequate size, the bath was spacious and clean. The shutters and windows provided a very quiet nights sleep. Excellent location, minutes from Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor and Palacio Real, just off the Grand Via. When we had a problem with the TV, they replaced it within minutes, when asked for extra pillows, they brought them up that night, no complains about the service. Front desk staff spoke sufficient english as our spanish was nonexistent and we could not ask for more at this price (averaged about 75eur/ night).

Helpful?
3 Thank goreliky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2005

I booked this trip as an anniversary present for my husband (it incorporated watching Real Madrid play football). The hotel was very modern, very upper class without being snotty, very clean and the service was beyond our expectations. Everybody was so helpful and polite. We got a complementry bottle of champagne and stawberrys with melted chocolate on arrival for our anniversary which was also a nice touch. We have stayed in a lot of nice hotels (Waldorf Astoria in New York) and the Hesperia was as good if not better because of the great service. Every night the bed would be turned down with a Godvia chocolate on the pillar and a forecast of the next day's weather. We had fresh fruit and flowers in our room every day and the luxury Bvlgari toileteries were replaced every night. We had breakfast in the La Manzana restaurant which was also very nice and a member of the hotel staff booked us a table at Santceloni (which is hard to get into) which was outstanding. The area is a little far out (but quite close to Madrid's answer to Bond Street, London) but it is worth the extra walk to stay at such a perfect hotel. There is a metro train station located just outside which is also very good and quick. The room was not overly big but very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was on the larger side and the shower was great. I am a very fussy person and this exceeded my expectations in more ways that one. I would also recommend booking to see Real Madrid play football and go on a tour of the stadium as this completed our wonderful weekend in Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#10 of 436 in Madrid
439 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Madrid

Property: Hesperia Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 57 | Chamberi, Centro, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madrid
#8 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#13 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the sophisticated and chic Hotel Hesperia Madrid is one of the city's leading contemporary luxury showcases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, NHHotels, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hesperia Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hesperia Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing