We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #61 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel and it was fantastic! We arrived the day of the coronation of the new King of Spain...little did we know that we were only about a 10 minute walk to the Royal palace. Not only that, but we were in the city center where all the great museums, shopping and key sights were located. We were upgraded to "The Level" and had very nice rooms. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would gladly stay there again!

Room Tip: With Melia Hotels, "The Level" or "Red Level" is always their best room and, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mark H,

First of all we would like to thank you for your positive feedback, as it motivates us in our daily work.

We are glad to hear that our location helped you to enjoy the city and that you had a pleasant stay.

It would be our pleasure to have you back at Meliá Madrid Princesa in your next visit to Madrid, and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our Level experience in June 2014, was excellent. We received personal care, and advice from Clara - her knowledge of the city was insightful and complete. The hotel was amazing, clean, well decorated... and near an Egyptian Temple! Good location, good food, good spa, and excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Rosa B,

Thank you for sharing your last experience at the Meliá Madrid Princesa with the readers of this travelers’ community and us.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed our location and the services we offer. Our aim is that our guests leave our hotel with a satisfactory feeling.

We hope that the outcome of your stay encourages you to choose us in the future, and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

There are some problems that I consider inexcusable these days. Rude staff, bad sleep quality, smelly roons, dirty bathroom, etc. Melia Princesa doesn't have any of this issues. But when I go to a hotel I really need a good wifi.

During my four-day stay at Melia Princesa, the wifi signal was out, and that is a great disappointment to me, as I had high hopes.

Room Tip: Check before if the wifi is working. I didn't find much of effort from the front desk staff to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Jeanpereira,

Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately we suffered a punctual issue with our wi-fi provider, and we would like to offer you our apologies as we understand that this service is essential for our customers nowadays.
We would like to indicate that we had internet available by cable, as well as at the computers at our business center with a stable internet connection in order to cover this need.

Nonetheless, we are pleased to hear that the rest of our services and facilities did cover your expectations.

We look forward to meet you again soon.

Kind regards,
Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

chose this hotel as it was close to our friend's house in madrid. might not have chosen this area from the map. stayed at "the level" which offers lounge access, which was similar to sofitel/hilton/marriott lounge access... our room (family, 522) was excellent with huge jacuzzi, seperate walk in wardrobe, etc etc, but noticed on the fire escape map that most of the rooms on the floor were much smaller than ours. not sure i would want to be in such a small room. great (amazing) breakfast with acres of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed OJ, breads/pastries etc etc. wifi didnt work when we were there which was disappointing. spa is closed on a sunday, which was a real disappointment... overall, great hotel, but there are better locations to stay in madrid

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Nick H,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write this review regarding your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to detect some improvement aspects or those areas where we are succeeding to satisfy our customers.

After reading your comments, we would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have had during your stay, specially regarding the incident with our wifi service.

We are sorry to hear that our location was not suitable for your needs to visit the city. However, we would like to indicate that we are situated only 5 to 10 minutes walking from several main attractions such as the Royal Palace, and only 3 metro stations away from Puerta del Sol, the center of downtown.

Regarding the SPA, we would like to inform you that it is managed by an external provider, and its closing days are Sundays and Bank Holidays.

We are glad that you enjoyed our large varied breakfast with over 100 different products offered and our exclusive The Level service.

We look forward to welcome you again in another occasion, and hopefully we will be able to make your stay completely satisfactory.

Kind regards,
Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Upon arrival the staff were friendly and helpful.the location was great as we set out to explore. The room was spacious, bathroom good, and the breakfast has a great range of choices. Would highly recommend to other travellers.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lynnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Lynnola,

We appreciate your kind comments, and would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share them with the Tripadvisor users and us.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that your stay was satisfactory. Your feedback is very important for us, as it is an indicator of how we are doing our job, and it motivates us to keep doing our best to have satisfied customers, which is our final purpose.

Thank you as well for recommending us, and hopefully we will be able to welcome you again at the Meliá Madrid Princesa.

Kind regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is definitely not a 5 star hotel (although I believe that the price paid was a little bit lower then in other 5 star notes). If you are traveling to Madrid to sightseeing, this is not location to bee - it would be better to choose something else nearer to mayor sights.

As I was on a conference there, a little bit of time we had for sightseeing, it was hard to see most of the sights (besides egyptian temple nearby) in little time.

If you don't speak spanish, be prepare not to have many TV channels in the evening to see....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaksimirDuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear MaksimirDuda,

Thank you for the time you have taken to post this review regarding your recent stay with us.

After reading your comments, we would like to indicate that our hotel is located at a short walking distance from several sights in Madrid. For instance the Royal palace, the Gran Vía street, Plaza de España or the Debod Temple which you have mentioned, are all at a short walking distance of 5 to 10 minutes. In addition, we are located next to a Metro station, which can take you in 10 minutes to other main destinations in our city.

As for the TV channels, we would like to inform that our TV menu offers several channels in Spanish, and a total of 20 channels in other 9 different languages.

Nonetheless, we would like to apologize if we were not able to exceed your expectations during your last visit, and hope to welcome you again at Meliá Madrid Princesa to have another opportunity to gain your confidence in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed at quite a few Melia Hotels and have always been impressed by their Service. However, Melia Princesa, Madrid stood out on my four day stay! The excellent service started when I entered the Hotel, the Door Staff were efficient. I had booked a `LEVEL` room so was welcomed at the `LeveL` check-in desk. The Staff could not have done more, very friendly, helpful and above all professional throughout. The high service level continued from the friendly Bar Staff to the room cleaners who really did do a splendid job and were the friendliest cleaners I have met!

Now the negative bit! I was extremely disappointed by the Spa. I used the Pool, Steam and Sauna Rooms. The cleanliness wasn’t the best and in comparison to the rest of the Hotel it was in need of refurbishment. In fairness to Melia, I understand it`s managed by a third party. However, if I based the Hotel on this Spa alone it would get a 2 star rating! I am going to give this Hotel a 4 Star rating overall. It would have been 5 stars if the Spa was clean and standards had been better.

I intend to stay at this Hotel again in September and look forward to meeting the Staff again and hope the Spa has markedly improved. Thanks to all. Kind regards, Andrew S.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a `LeveL` room. (`level` rooms closed Mid July to beginning Sept).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andytheadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear andytheadventurer,

We are pleased to receive your feedback and impressions regarding your recent stay at the Meliá Madrid Princesa, and we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review.

We receive with joy such positive comments about our staff. Our aim is to reach excellence in our service, and to hear that you received an outstanding service certainly stimulates us to do our best day by day.

Regarding the spa, as you noticed, it is not managed by the hotel. We are sorry to hear that it didn´t meet your expectatations. However, we will inform the spa manager about your comments and impressions.

Finally, we would like to indicate that our exclusive The Level service will be open on summer; We won´t close at any time.
So all our guests will be able to enjoy it all the year.

We will be happy to receive you on September once again.

Best regards,
Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Arguelles
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
#5 of 443 in Madrid
466 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#37 of 443 in Madrid
2,283 reviews
Chamberí
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#39 of 443 in Madrid
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 443 in Madrid
650 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Madrid
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#48 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#59 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £112 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing