We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, comfortable, and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #67 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable, and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Melia Princesa on our first visit to Madrid. We had a standard room on the 9th floor of the hotel. The room is not large but it is very comfortable and clean. The fixtures in the whole hotel are quite modern looking. Wifi was included--made staying in touch with family back home easy! We upgraded to The Level service...although we used it to have refreshments during the day, I'm not sure it is worth the 60euros per day that it cost. The breakfast buffet was quite expansive and fresh. The gym suited our needs the 1-2 times we worked out in our 4 day stay...although the treadmill was broken. The hotel is convenient located with a Metro Stop located nearly right at the end of the street on Calle de la Princesa. It is also a 5-7 minute walk to Plaza de España and the Palacio Real. To get to Parque de Retiro, Mercado de San Miguel, and Plaza del Sol was a bit farther but certainly doable with comfortable shoes!

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Marissa N,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post this detailed review. We are sure that your comments and tips will be useful for other travelers!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our facilities and services were up to your standards, and we would only like to add some information about the features of our The Level service. It includes a private check-in and a more exclusive and personalized service, in-room extras such as kettle, DVD player and Wii console (upon availability), high floor rooms with the best views, late check-out until 16:00 (subject to availability), free ironing of one garment, and access to the private lounge with open bar, snacks and Spanish “tapas”.

Aditionally, we would like to apologize for the issue with the treadmill at our gym, which we are already working to solve.

Thank you once again for choosing us for your visit to Madrid, and we hope that you choose us in your next one!

Kind regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    687
    229
    63
    28
See reviews for
409
776
73
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

this hotel at first doesn't look impressive from outside but when you go in its real nice. Rooms were not large but for Europe they were good size. Location was excellent walk to a lot of attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank venieL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear venieL1970,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review regarding your recent stay at the Meliá Madrid Princesa.

It is a pleasure to hear that our location was convenient for you, and that you felt comfortable with us.

We hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.

Kind regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

best location. premium hotel services. proffessional fiendly staff overall luxurious rooms. and most of all desireable breakfast. from time to time check for special deals and low price. rstaurants near hotel are good and cheap especially gino's italian restaurant, mexican food and vip's chain

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benir18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear benir18,

Thank you for recommending our hotel and for the time you have taken to post this review. Your comments are very valuable for us, as they help us to measure our quality day by day.

It is a pleasure to hear that you felt comfortable in your room, enjoyed the breakfast and found our staff helpful.

As for the gastronomical offer in our area, our neighbourhood offers a large variety of restaurants, and we are glad that you found the most suitable for your needs.

We hope to welcome you at Meliá Madrid Princesa once again.

Best regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is in a decent location and our room was quiet which is a big plus for Madrid. The hotel is a little uninspiring from the outside but once inside is very nice. Our room was modern and spacious with a funky two sided wardrobe that an be accessed from the room or bathroom. All in all good value and we would return when visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear KentGlobetrotters,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you have spent in sharing these comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is appreciated, as it is very important for the measurement of our quality.

We thank you for recommending our hotel, and would be pleased to receive you again during your next visit to Madrid.

Kind regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel and it was fantastic! We arrived the day of the coronation of the new King of Spain...little did we know that we were only about a 10 minute walk to the Royal palace. Not only that, but we were in the city center where all the great museums, shopping and key sights were located. We were upgraded to "The Level" and had very nice rooms. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would gladly stay there again!

Room Tip: With Melia Hotels, "The Level" or "Red Level" is always their best room and, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mark H,

First of all we would like to thank you for your positive feedback, as it motivates us in our daily work.

We are glad to hear that our location helped you to enjoy the city and that you had a pleasant stay.

It would be our pleasure to have you back at Meliá Madrid Princesa in your next visit to Madrid, and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our Level experience in June 2014, was excellent. We received personal care, and advice from Clara - her knowledge of the city was insightful and complete. The hotel was amazing, clean, well decorated... and near an Egyptian Temple! Good location, good food, good spa, and excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Rosa B,

Thank you for sharing your last experience at the Meliá Madrid Princesa with the readers of this travelers’ community and us.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed our location and the services we offer. Our aim is that our guests leave our hotel with a satisfactory feeling.

We hope that the outcome of your stay encourages you to choose us in the future, and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
João Pessoa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

There are some problems that I consider inexcusable these days. Rude staff, bad sleep quality, smelly roons, dirty bathroom, etc. Melia Princesa doesn't have any of this issues. But when I go to a hotel I really need a good wifi.

During my four-day stay at Melia Princesa, the wifi signal was out, and that is a great disappointment to me, as I had high hopes.

Room Tip: Check before if the wifi is working. I didn't find much of effort from the front desk staff to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Jeanpereira,

Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately we suffered a punctual issue with our wi-fi provider, and we would like to offer you our apologies as we understand that this service is essential for our customers nowadays.
We would like to indicate that we had internet available by cable, as well as at the computers at our business center with a stable internet connection in order to cover this need.

Nonetheless, we are pleased to hear that the rest of our services and facilities did cover your expectations.

We look forward to meet you again soon.

Kind regards,
Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#26 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#82 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#102 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#146 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#152 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Property: Melia Madrid Princesa
Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#51 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#59 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute and TravelUp so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing