We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #65 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I liked it.”
Reviewed 19 July 2009

The bedroom was lush. I particularly like the fancy lights under the tops of the tables. You could set it to what colour you like. The bed was massive and really comfy, and the bathroom was lovely too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbyjibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,051
    715
    237
    64
    28
See reviews for
428
811
77
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We (Mrs and I) went to Madrid for a weekend break.

We have stayed in a number of 5* hotels over the last few years and were not disappointed with the Melia. The Melia is located just off the Gran Via in Madrid with very easy access to the Metro. The Metro stop Ventura Rodriguez is literally on your doorstep although we tended to walk pretty much everywhere.

The Melia building is not exactly the height of architectural splendor, however the decor and rooms were stunning. Very trendy. The hotel rooms are, however slightly small. The bathroom contains his and her sinks with a sliding door separating the wash area and bath/toilet area.

Very nice bed.

One issue that we did have is that the Melia is described as being right on a Plaza when it is not. The nearest Plaza is Plaza Espana, which is a couple of minutes walk away. There are also shops and restaurants a couple of minutes walk away.

Nearby attractions include the Temple Debod, Teleferico, Gran Via, Plaza Espana and the Palace.

Overall a very good place to stay in order to explore the delights of Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheraz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Smallish standard rooms at 25 sqm. (Not as small as some hotels I've stayed in in New York City, though.) I could move around but not much. I like the motion sensor that turns on the light in closet as well as those that turn on the lights in the hallways. The bathroom was fine. The two double sinks, the glass door between the sink and the rainshower are nice touches. (The operation of the faucets can be a bit confusing. You have to pull up. Turning them left to right does not work.) I could do without the kaleidoscope of changing colors in the bed side desks. (At least you can turn them off.) I could likewise do with more illumination from the desk lamp and the bedside reading lamps. While the aforesaid lights may be modern and trendy, they're not exactly practical. Have I mentioned that the entire hotel was renovated in 2008?

One small nitpick about house keeping. I arrived back in my room one night to find a cleaning rag left on the bathroom countertop. Mistakes do happen but still....

Average breakfast. Definitely not great, as the variety is limited and the offerings do not change from day to day. That having been said, I especially liked the donuts (pretty close to Krispy Kreme in taste) and the fruits in the shot glasses. They have churros on offer but you have to order the chocolate separately.

Location was good. Right beside the Ventura Rodriguez Metro Station and a short walk to Plaza Espana and the Temple of Debod. There are also a variety of eating places (form McDonalds to more elaborate restaurants) around the hotel, not to mention the El Corte Ingles up the street.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhTravelling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Possibly due to the swine flu scare we got a fantastic rate from Sol Melia. We stayed 4 nights incl breakfast-served until 11 am-very civilised. All they claim on their site is true.
We even got a room with nice views. Staff 1st class -the maid does not intrude
Breakfast not worth the price as only eggs cooked to order and one queues for these so rest gets cold. Why not cooked to order sausages and bacon? OK I am being churlish at the price we paid but we had to wait until after breakfast to get a decent cup of coffee in a nearby bar. No doubt the hotel places a lot of emphesis on getting most things right and I applaud them for that. Some reviewers state not a 5 star but if not then pretty close.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donaldgregoryBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I have nothing but good remarks for this hotel - the bad reviews I can only put down to being prior to the revamp or written by really finicky people!

We got the metro from the airport to the hotel - alighting the train at sol (though we found out on the walk to the hotel that Rodriguez station was practically outside the hotel!) & could see the hotel from here as its quite tall. Word of warning to anyone that decides to take the metro & walk to the hotel; the hotel is along the road, but the entrance down a side turning.... not an issue for safety or anything but we actually walk passed it because we were expecting the entrance along the roadside!

The building itself, from the outside, is quite dated - but then it's pretty hard to change that once its built. Reception is lovely & very trendy - all red and black with large glass chandeliers, leather couches, thick pile rugs and single lily's. Check in was a breeze and the reception was staff were really friendly & helpful. We were given top floor (12) and room 1224!! I loved being this high up - the city views at night with all the lights were great.

Bar area really sumptuous & toilets very clean, breakfast area is also very nice - though we didn’t actually eat at the hotel.

Hallways to the rooms were pretty trendy too - carried on the red, black & white theme with marble art deco statues and the lighting was censored. Walkways were lit at ground level and when you walked into the hallway overhead lights came on- slightly dimmed to avoid that awful brightness you can get. Really nice ambience.

I adored the room!!! Some people I notice have complained that the lighting was ait gadgety and it was - but I thought it was fun. I liked the lighting either side of the bed that changed colour and could be set at whichever you preferred, I like the massive flat screen telly on the wall and the glass tables and the large screen prints instead of stuffy mass produced paintings, & that all the lights could be controlled from the bed. The bed was large & massively comfortable with a menu of different pillows should you not like the 6 that were already supplied.

Bathroom was great too - the usual complimentary toiletries were supplied (shampoo, shower gel, soap, toothpaste & brush, shoe shine) and plenty of towels. Dual sinks were a nice bonus and I loved the shower which had one of those heads that are as large as a plate and makes it feel like rain. Also had a separate shower head for washing hair over the bath which was handy too. Bath and toilet are separated from the sink area by a frosted glass door & there is a switch on the wall which pipes the tv into speakers there so you can catch the news or listen to music in the bath/shower.

Enough storage space - the main hanging area splits the small corridor to the room and the bathroom, with doors on both sides so that clothes can be reached from either in the bathroom or the corridor (the whole wall of the corridor is a mirror). The rail is a light also which illuminates on a sensor also.

Wi-fi connection available and free safety deposit box in the room. (which is big enough to put a netbook in - I had this query myself before I went) plenty of plug sockets, in areas I actually need them.... like near a mirror!

There is a club about 2mins walk but I never heard any noise from it or outside at all. (maybe because we were on 12th floor?) but the club was definitely sound proof as you couldn’t hear music passing by it at 1/2am either. Only noise we heard was the cleaners in the morning but it wasn’t an ungodly hour so it wasn’t an issue. Couldn’t really hear much from the neighbours either.

All the sites were really close by - within walking distance so we didn’t use the metro as much as we thought we might, really only for the airport run and when we went to the theme park.

At €115 Per room per night this hotel was excellent value.

Hope this is of help to anyone reading this but feel free to contact me if you need any details I haven’t covered!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank star001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
362 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Renewed in 2008, the hotel tries to pretend boutique, despite its huge size and its architecture from the 80s. It didn't manage too well, though everyting looks a bit fake.

Beds are ultra-comfortable, and despite the amazing of light switches, they are quite intuitive and you can easily manage to turn lights off.

I was on the last floor (the 12th), but despite this, some street noise could be heard in the room -it was not really annoying, but yet not sound-proof enough.

Service is OK, not more.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — the uneven service and the noise from the street
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERAN ITALIEN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2009

I selected the Hotel because it was recently renovated.
I did not know that apparently they employed for the renovation
an Architect which had no sense of practical use.
I could almost not read in the room because of silly desinger
lamps which gave not enough light. On the other side
the nighttable had a colourchangig light which you could change from red to blue to green and so on. Who needs it ?
The windows unfortunately where the old ones, so even on the
10th floor day and night you heard the heavy traffic noise.
The bathroom was equipped with silly little sinks where you could
hardly wash the hands also because the waterpipe was located on
the left side a few centimeters from the porcelain sinkwall.
In the WC they had installed a bidet but had forgotten to apply a
soapholder nearby ! So beware of designer hotels !

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TEMAMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#89 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#97 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#143 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Property: Melia Madrid Princesa
Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#50 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#59 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Melia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing