We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Modern, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #68 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2010

My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. This is a large hotel that seems like it may cater to the business crowd. The rooms were nicely appointed and made good use of a rather small space. My teenagers loved the “cool” factor of the modern rooms. (They had a separate room since there were only double rooms available.) Everything seemed new and very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable with the option of choosing the type pillow you wanted. The bathroom had a double vanity with vessel sinks (which I found to be somewhat awkward, but looked nice). The sink area was separate from the bath area. The bathroom had a combination shower/tub and a toilet, bidet, phone and towel warmer. There was plenty of storage for our clothes. There was free wireless internet- huge plus in our opinion. We booked this hotel through a “blind booking” service, so we received a great rate and were pleasantly surprised at the terrific location for touring Madrid. It was in a safe area and there was plenty of shopping and small eating establishments around. We avoid the added cost of minibars when we travel, so we were pleased there was a little store right around the corner for snacks and drinks. This worked fine for us. The staff seemed very accommodating and spoke English. We primarily used the hotel for sleeping while touring the city, so I cannot comment of the other amenities of the hotel, such as the pool or the restaurant. Would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atltravelm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,232)
There are newer reviews for Melia Madrid Princesa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 2,232 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2009

This is an excellent hotel, and I am genuinely mystified by the negative criticisms of some other contributors. I urge you not to be put off by them (as I nearly was).
I stayed in the Melia Madrid Princesa twice during a recent trip to Europe, and this was easily the best of several hotels in which I stayed. It offered everything I was looking for. The situation is very convenient, and literally only a minute or two's walk from the Metro. The staff were smiling, friendly and efficient. The bedroom and bathroom were extremely well appointed (though it is true that the lighting scheme is a little eccentric). The bed was excptionally comfortable, and I slept very well. The breakfast was huge and varied, and very good value as long as you book it at the time that you check in, for a reduced price. I didn't need much for lunch as a result. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
Thank BulawayoZimtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Don't stay here, this is definitely not a 5 star, more like a 2-3 star. Way overpriced for what you get. Hotel is in need of a major remodel. Rooms are straight out of 1980's Las Vegas.
Super ugly interior design and our room was tiny! but on a good note, the bed was comfy.
WARNING: Hotel photos on website look nothing like how the rooms really look.
We stayed on the 10th floor but could still hear noise of busy street below. Hated the location. No free breakfast and no wi-fi in room, only an ethernet cable. Stay at a Room Mate Oscar or Alicia instead. Much better location, free breakfast and wi-fi!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aef9892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Great staff, comfortable and clean rooms, perfect location. Only problem encountered was the very nasty smell on lobby and halls. They need to do something with their sewage system. The smell gets worse at night. If it wasn't for this problem the hotel would be perfect and I would recomend it to friends. Hope they improve on this soon.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jrfasquelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We are currently staying at this hotel for one night and found a secret hotel deal on Last minute. The rooms are very nice however we have just gone down to use the swimming pool advertised on their website as a service so assummed this was part of the package. When we got there we were informed we would have to pay 15 euros each. This hotel is already very expensive so think it is rediculous that this is not included. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tania_1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Booked hotel on line from Canada so was not sure of what to expect. Arrived early and were pleasantly met by friendly staff and booking in early was not a problem. Found the room to be exceptionally clean and modern. The design of the room was efficient as the small space was expertly used. Flat screen TV with CNN in English. The bathroom was well appointed with two shower heads and sufficient toiletries. Hallways and hotel lobby smartly decorated and pleasing to the eyes. A short walk to the subway which is very easy to use. About a 20 minute walk to Playa Mayor. Staff were friendly and helpful, except gave us the wrong information - Monday most museums and art galleries are closed. Not a lot of restaurants and bars in the area. Did not eat in the hotel - wanted to experience the local places for breakfast, etc. Would recommend this hotel for business travelers, friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flights0ffancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We booked this hotel as a hotel/flight combo and were not disappointed. The location was perfect (at least for us). We were able to take the metro (2 euro per person) to the hotel in about 30 or so minutes. We took the pink line to the blue line to the yellow line. Sounds complicated but was really easy. Ventura Rodriguez is the stop right outside the hotel which made it so easy to get around town. Plaza De Espana is a short walk from the hotel (roughly 10 minutes) and Temple Debod is about a 15 minute walk. We stayed on the 12th floor and had a lovely view with the Palacio Real in view. It only took us about 20 minutes to walk to the Palacio Real but you could tube it if you wanted (Opera is the stop you'd need). Also, if you decide to take the Madrid Vision hop on/off tour, the bus lets you off really close to the hotel. If you walk toward Plaza De Espana, you will come across several restaurants from cheap (Burger King) to more expensive. We ate at Cafe & Te' which is sort of cheap to mid range.
I really liked the hotel and location. The room is modern and nice. There are doors inside the room that you can close to keep out hallway noise. The hotel corridor lights come on when you enter it which was a nice green touch, otherwise they were really dim. The shower was lovely with a big shower head and also a hand held one that was great for washing hair. The bell hop showed us how to use the room and helped us with our luggage. The front desk was helpful and showed us where the hotel was on a map and then pointed out a couple of major sights. We wanted to use the pool but there was a £15 per day charge so were a bit disappointed by that. One last thing, there was a little convenience store just around the corner which was great for getting little things from.
Also, I thought the bed was great. I had the best night's sleep and felt really refreshed. They also supply an abundance of great pillows so there was a selection for individual tastes. An added bonus was that there was a safe in the room as well as a mini bar.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXUKGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 438 in Madrid
2,157 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#102 of 438 in Madrid
2,135 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 438 in Madrid
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silken Puerta America
#111 of 438 in Madrid
2,713 reviews
Arguelles
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
#6 of 438 in Madrid
230 reviews
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#155 of 438 in Madrid
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#51 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#59 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £130 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Melia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing